Travelling to Australia? Read all updated requirements before you book.
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Blue Parrot Backpackers

Removed from saved list

7.8

Very good

21 reviews

21 reviews

See map

7.6

Very good

Location rating score

Very good location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
Exceptional for walking
Parking
Available
Walkable places
The Family Jewels

20 m

Macleay on Manning

20 m

Adora Healthy Living

40 m

Wayside Chapel

80 m

Elizabeth Bay House

170 m

Popular landmarks
Royal Botanic Garden Sydney

1.1 km

The Opera House to the Botanic Gardens Walk

1.6 km

Queen Victoria Building (QVB)

1.7 km

Sydney Opera House

1.8 km

The Rocks

2.0 km

Closest landmarks
Zinc Bar

130 m

Blakes Pharmacy

230 m

El Alamein Memorial Fountain

260 m

Kings Cross

260 m

Lawrence Hargreave Reserve

280 m

Blue Parrot Backpackers

87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia, 2011 - See map

Get your trip off to a great start with a stay at this property, which offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms. Strategically situated in Potts Point, allowing you access and proximity to local attractions and sights. Don't leave before paying a visit to the famous Sydney Opera House. This 4.5-star property features restaurant to make your stay more indulgent and memorable.

Show more

Highlights

Located in heart of Sydney

Airport transfer

480 meters to public transportation

Inside city center

790 meters to Art Gallery of New South Wales

Facilities

Airport transfer

Car park

Shuttle service

Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

BBQ facilities

Luggage storage

Kitchen

Shops

Your dates are popular among travelersUsers are booking a place in Sydney every 14 minutes on Agoda.com
Value for money7.4
Location rating7.6
Nearest airportSydney Airport (SYD)
Distance to airport8.9 km

Rooms available at Blue Parrot Backpackers

1 Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Shared Facilities (Mixed)
...
  • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory En-Suite (Female)
...
  • Room size: 33 m²/355 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Shared Facilities (Mixed)
...
  • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Shared Facilities (Mixed)
...
  • Room size: 33 m²/355 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory En-Suite (Mixed)
...
  • Room size: 33 m²/355 ft²
  • Non-smoking
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dorm Room (Shared bathroom)
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dorm Room (Shared bathroom)
...
  • Room size: 14 m²/151 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dorm Room (Shared bathroom)
...
  • Room size: 30 m²/323 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
4 BEDS SHARED BATHROOM
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    SHARED ROOM MORE THAN 9 BEDS FEMALE DORMITORY
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices

      Frequently asked questions

      What time is check-in and check-out at Blue Parrot Backpackers?

      Check-in is from 10:00 AM, and check-out is until 10:00 AM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hostel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out.

      How do I get to Blue Parrot Backpackers?

      Blue Parrot Backpackers is easy to access from the airport. In fact, you can even book your airport transfer in advance for greater peace of mind with the additional charge of 17 AUD. Just use the "Let us know what you need" section of the booking page to let the hostel know you want a ride, and they will contact you via the Agoda messaging service. A stay at Blue Parrot Backpackers also comes with easy access to the neighborhoods around the hotel through the convenient shuttle service offered at the hostel. For those who wish to drive their own cars, Blue Parrot Backpackers has a car park on site, as well as additional parking nearby if the first car park is full.

      What is the smoking policy at Blue Parrot Backpackers?

      Blue Parrot Backpackers does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

      What is the closest train, metro, or bus station to Blue Parrot Backpackers?

      The closest train, metro, or bus station to Blue Parrot Backpackers is Kings Cross Railway Station, 480 m away.

      What restaurants are nearby Blue Parrot Backpackers?

      Restaurants including Ms G's, Apollo and Cho Cho San are popular in Blue Parrot Backpackers’s neighborhood which is known as Potts Point.

      What popular shopping places are close to Blue Parrot Backpackers?

      Shopping options in Blue Parrot Backpackers’s Potts Point neighborhood include The Family Jewels, Macleay on Manning and Hordern House.

      What are popular attractions near Blue Parrot Backpackers?

      Guests at Blue Parrot Backpackers can easily visit Wayside Chapel, Elizabeth Bay House and Yellow House located in the Potts Point area.

      What popular natural sightseeing spots are close to Blue Parrot Backpackers?

      Blue Parrot Backpackers’s nearby natural sights include Macleay Point located in the same Potts Point area.

      Show more questions
      See map

      Explore the neighborhood

      What people love about Blue Parrot Backpackers

      • 8.4

        Excellent
        Location

        "nice living room with Netflix etc Internet working perfectly and fast ! Location is good shop are closed , train station too"

        Moriane

        |

        November 15, 2019

      • 8.4

        Excellent
        Staff 

        "Super nice staff friendly check in from Pascal ."

        Moriane

        |

        November 15, 2019

      • 8.4

        Excellent
        Cleanliness

        "Good cleaning in common area Good atmosphere feel like home with a terrace where you can chill or chat with everyone ."

        Moriane

        |

        November 15, 2019

      Property ranking|Compared to 1,233 Sydney properties
      See all rankings
      Service score
      8.6/10
      Cleanliness score
      7.8/10
      Value for money score
      7.4/10
      Room size
      27 sqm.
      Better than
      91
      %
      of Sydney properties
      Better than
      83
      %
      of Sydney properties
      Better than
      80
      %
      of Sydney properties
      Bigger than
      80
      %
      of Sydney properties
      Overall rating:

      7.8

      Very good
      21 reviews
      Cleanliness
      7.8
      Facilities
      7.6
      Location
      7.6
      Read all reviews >
      More about Blue Parrot Backpackers

      More about Blue Parrot Backpackers

      Blue Parrot Backpackers

      See the best of Sydney with a stay at Blue Parrot Backpackers, which puts you right in the city center amidst the many sights and landmarks. With its convenient location, you can easily access to the city's must-see destinations. Looking for lots of choices? Blue Parrot Backpackers spoils you for choices in activities, with its convenient location just 1.8 km from the Sydney Opera House.
      The range of services provided by Blue Parrot Backpackers ensures all travelers get the most out of their stay. Post your pictures and answer your emails whenever you want, with the hostel's free Wi-Fi internet access. Pre-plan your rides to and from the airport with the hostel's easy to book transportation services. The hostel provides shuttle services to help you find what you want in Sydney.
      Parking is always available, provided by the hostel for their driving guests. The helpful staff at the front desk can assist you with services including luggage storage. If you want seats to city's best entertainment, you can get help through the hostel's ticket service and tours. The hostel even offers a fireplace for a warm atmosphere on chilly nights.
      The hostel's on-site laundromat and laundry service help you keep your favorite travel outfits clean so you can pack less. In-room conveniences include daily housekeeping, so you can relax and enjoy your stay. The hostel is entirely non-smoking, ensuring a clean air environment. Smoking is restricted to the designated smoking areas.
      Guestrooms at Blue Parrot Backpackers are fitted with all the amenities travelers need. The hostel provides linen service in some rooms for the benefit of guests.


      Dining and things to do

      Never let hunger affect your travel plans! Restaurants on-site provide convenient and tasty dining options. If you're truly selective about eating, you'll be grateful for the in-house BBQ facilities and shared kitchen available here.
      Blue Parrot Backpackers promises you a fun-packed holiday with a variety of activities and facilities. Have some relaxing fun with family and friends at the library and shared lounge and TV area. Souvenir shopping for yourself or those back home takes no time at all at the shops.


      Dining and things to do

      Never let hunger affect your travel plans! Restaurants on-site provide convenient and tasty dining options. If you're truly selective about eating, you'll be grateful for the in-house BBQ facilities and shared kitchen available here.
      Blue Parrot Backpackers promises you a fun-packed holiday with a variety of activities and facilities. Have some relaxing fun with family and friends at the library and shared lounge and TV area. Souvenir shopping for yourself or those back home takes no time at all at the shops.


      Around the property

      This is your chance to explore all that Sydney has to offer. Engage in the city's best art at The Rocks located 2.0 km away, where you can learn about the local art scene and buy original works.


      Reasons to stay here

      Rooms here are cheaper than 92% of accommodations in the city.
      Past guests rate facilities here higher than 87% of the city's accommodation.
      This hostel stands out for its staff and service, scoring higher than 91% of the city's accommodation.

      Amenities and facilities
      Very good
      Facilities

      7.6

      Most talked about facilities

      Beach

      1 mention

      Internet

      1 mention

      Languages spoken

      • English
      • Dutch
      • French
      • German
      • Italian
      • Spanish

      Internet access

      • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
      • Wi-Fi in public areas

      Things to do, ways to relax

      • Garden
      • Ticket services
      • Tours

      Dining, drinking, and snacking

      • BBQ facilities
      • Kitchen
      • Restaurants
      • Shared kitchen

      Services and conveniences

      • Daily housekeeping
      • Elevator
      • Fireplace
      • Laundromat
      • Laundry service
      • Library
      • Luggage storage
      • Shops
      • Smoke-free property
      • Smoking area

      Access

      • Fire extinguisher
      • Pets allowed

      Getting around

      • Airport transfer
      • Bicycle parking
      • Car park [nearby]
      • Car park [on-site]
      • Shuttle service

      Available in all rooms

      • Free bottled water
      • Linens
      • Locker
      • Non-smoking
      • Wi-Fi [free]
      Location
      87 Macleay Street, Potts Point, Potts Point, Sydney, Australia, 2011
      Very good
      Location

      7.6

      Airports

      • Sydney Airport (SYD)
        8.9 km 21 min drive
      • Bankstown Airport (BWU)
        22.1 km

      Public transportation

      • Kings Cross Railway Station
        480 m 6 min walk
      • St James Railway Station
        1.2 km

      Hospital or clinic

      • Blakes Pharmacy
        230 m

      Shopping

      • Queen Victoria Building (QVB)
        1.7 km

      Convenience store

      • EzyMart
        540 m

      Cash withdrawal

      • ATM
        70 m 1 min walk
      What's nearby

      Popular landmarks

      • Royal Botanic Garden Sydney
        1.1 km
      • The Opera House to the Botanic Gardens Walk
        1.6 km
      • Queen Victoria Building (QVB)
        1.7 km
      • Sydney Opera House
        1.8 km
      • The Rocks
        2.0 km
      • Sea Life Sydney Aquarium
        2.1 km
      • Darling Harbour
        2.3 km
      • Sydney Harbour Bridge
        2.5 km
      • Bondi Beach
        5.1 km
      • Manly Beach
        10.0 km

      Nearby landmarks

      • The Family Jewels
        20 m
      • Macleay on Manning
        20 m
      • Adora Healthy Living
        40 m
      • Wayside Chapel
        80 m
      • Zinc Bar
        130 m
      • Elizabeth Bay House
        170 m
      • Gazebo Wine Garden
        180 m
      • Hordern House
        220 m
      • Fish Pond
        220 m
      • Blakes Pharmacy
        230 m
      Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
      Property policies
      Children and extra beds

      Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.

      All children are welcome.

      Children 0-18 year(s)
      Stay for free if using existing bedding.
      If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
      Guests 19 years and older are considered as adults
      Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
      Others
      • The minimum age required to check in is 18 years.
      • The maximum age of guests to stay is 35 years.
      • When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies and additional supplements may apply.
      Some helpful facts

      Check-in/Check-out

      • Check-in from10:00
      • Check-in until20:30
      • Check-out from09:00
      • Check-out until10:00

      Getting around

      • Airport transfer fee17 AUD

      The property

      • Number of rooms 8

      Reviews of Blue Parrot Backpackers from real guests

      Provided by verified guests of Agoda
      7.8
      /
      10
      Very good
      Cleanliness7.8
      Facilities7.6
      Location7.6
      Service8.6
      Value for money7.4
      High score for Sydney
      Rating
      9+ Exceptional (1)
      8-9 Excellent (3)
      7-8 Very Good (2)
      6-7 Good (1)
      <6 Below Expectation (3)
      Time of the year
      Mar - May (3)
      Jun - Aug (2)
      Sep - Nov (3)
      Dec - Feb (2)
      All guests (21)
      All room types
      All languages

      Show reviews that mention 

      Showing 10 verified guest comments
      8.4
      Excellent
      Moriane from France
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Shared Facilities (Mixed)
      Stayed 5 nights in November 2019

      Excellent”

      Super nice staff friendly check in from Pascal . Connie always friendly and helping with all your request and try to make you feel comfortable and Sahar always asking you if everything good . Good cleaning in common area Good atmosphere feel like home with a terrace where you can chill or chat with everyone . Also nice living room with Netflix etc Internet working perfectly and fast ! Location is good shop are closed , train station too

      Reviewed November 15, 2019

      See room deals

      4.4
      Jonathan from Singapore
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Shared Facilities (Mixed)
      Stayed 3 nights in March 2019

      Acceptable”

      Pros: - No smoking inside / outside property - Lockers are available Cons: - This place smells - Was sleeping at bottom bed when a huge cockroach fell on my bed - You have to pull your own sheets - Only 2-3 fans are in my room, no air-conditioning. I have stayed at The Pod days prior. I don’t see why you shouldn’t pay that measly extra dollar for a 100% difference in experience & quality.

      Reviewed March 24, 2019

      See room deals

      6.0
      LIN from China
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory En-Suite (Female)
      Stayed 2 nights in October 2018

      cleanliness and location aren't good”

      the staff only clean the bathroom and shower room each days and for the other part of room, basically no cleaning. There are quite a lot of rubbish on the floor. I see some rubbish under my bed from previous lodger, and the locker are fulled with dust and rubbish and bad smelling. I guess they only care about the public area, which isn't good. it is far away from City by walking, taking around half hour. City are where most of sightings are. It is close if you take trains. If you want to go to bar or party, you can choose to stay here, there are quite lots of bar nearby, and very noisy at night time.

      Reviewed October 16, 2018

      See room deals

      5.2
      Anna from United Kingdom
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Shared Facilities (Mixed)
      Stayed 2 nights in June 2018

      Was a bit dissapointed with the place. Probably one of my least favourite hostels I’ve stayed in.”

      Locked when I came late at night, had to phone the property which isn’t ideal if you don’t have a local sim. Had to pay a late fee which I was not aware of. Toilets not very clean. Did not get much help in how to get to the airport early in the morning. If it was cheaper there would be less complaints.

      Reviewed June 12, 2018

      See room deals

      Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are sorry to hear we didn't fully meet your expectations, but we appreciate you staying with us during your hard earned vacation. Reception normally closes at 20:30pm but we are more than happy to keep reception open for late arrivals if we are alerted in advance, unfortunately we were not informed that you would be arriving at midnight. Although the stay wasn't everything you had wished for, we hope that you were able to take home many fond memories of your time in Sydney. All the best, Effie + Sasha, Blue Parrot Owners

      Responded September 07, 2018
      Blue Parrot Backpackers
      6.8
      Good
      Gagira from New Zealand
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory En-Suite (Mixed)
      Stayed 4 nights in May 2018

      Not worth the price, don't be fooled by good reviews”

      Very dated interior, bathrooms have tiny sinks and water splatters everywhere. Communal areas are not clean. Very bad WiFi service. For short stays I would avoid, there are better places. Good location, relatively short walking distance to CBD, good choice of cafes near by. Many long term dwellers, so maybe there is a set community?

      Reviewed June 03, 2018

      See room deals

      8.8
      Excellent
      Sean from Canada
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Shared Facilities (Mixed)
      Stayed 1 night in October 2017

      Good location. HOT”

      A nice hostel with a kitchen, chill backyard, hammock included. I found the dorm room VERY HOT though and it resulted in a poor sleep. Surprised they didn't have A.C...

      Reviewed March 22, 2018

      See room deals

      10.0
      Exceptional
      Hollie from Canada
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory En-Suite (Female)
      Stayed 2 nights in March 2018

      Great hostel ”

      I had a great three night stay at Blue Parrot Backpackers. The hotel is conveniently located near Kings Cross station which makes it easy to get to and from the airport, into town and to Bondi Beach. The staff were super friendly and accommodating and had great recommendations for things to do in the city. The rooms were really clean and comfortable and all guest were really respectful of each other. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

      Reviewed March 18, 2018

      See room deals

      8.4
      Excellent
      Christopher from New Zealand
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory Shared Facilities (Mixed)
      Stayed 4 nights in December 2016

      It's ok, lots of French speakers ”

      Blue Parrot isn't offensive as a hostel, nothin really wrong with my stay and the staff are really friendly and helpful

      Reviewed January 03, 2017

      See room deals

      Hi Christopher, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We’re happy all went well with your stay and you found the staff friendly and helpful! We have a great mix of nationalities at our hostel, when you were staying it sounds like there were a few French speakers though this obviously always changes. All the best, Effie + Sasha, Blue Parrot Owners/Managers

      Responded August 31, 2017
      Blue Parrot Backpackers
      7.6
      Very good
      Lara from Germany
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 10-Bed Dormitory En-Suite (Female)
      Stayed 1 night in February 2019

      Sehr gutes Hostel ”

      Unglaublich bequeme Matratzen und Kissen !! Vermisse die Matratze sehr , war wirklich die beste die ich bisher in Hostels hatte . Man schläft wie ein Baby darin . Es ist sehr sauber im Zimmer , die Duschen könnten etwas sauberer sein. Das Zimmer ist sehr groß . In der Küche und im Garten sind leider sehr viele Kakerlaken. --Es gibt einen super coolen TV Raum der leider viel zu früh abgeschlossen wird leider ! -- Die Managerin nimmt meiner Meinung nach ihren Job etwas zu ernst . Was ich wirklich top und zuvorkommend fand , sie hat mir geholfen den Koffer die Treppen hochzutragen (da kein Aufzug ) . ----Allerdings dieses dauernd schlecht machen von Hostelwebsiten " bucht bei uns direkt , günstiger , besser bla bla " fand ich etwas unangebracht, denn letztendlich interessiert den Kunden es nicht was das hostel an Kommission zahlt, sondern was man letztendlich SELBST zahlt !! Das ist meiner Meinung nach nicht kundenfreundlich , sondern eher zu Wirtschaftlich denkend (Zahlen liefern müssen , da Managerin etc .) Ich buche immer gerne über Agoda , da oft discounts bekommt und es dann etwas günstiger ist , als das man es direkt Bucht. Ich erklärte ihr das 3 mal , da sie endlos dauernd Kommentare abgegeben hat, dass es nicht günstiger sei etc . Ich konnte auch keine weiteren Buchungen mehr über Agoda tätigen , da ich sonst hätte aus dem Zimmer gehen müssen und neu Einchecken müssen .. Sinn ?! Richtig gibt keinen , außer das sie einfach die Zahlen vor Augen hat . Wenn ich direkt buchen würde dürfte ich darin bleiben , fand ich schon leicht frech und widersprüchlich. Ich fragte sie ob ich wenigstens den selben Preis wie in Agoda bekomme ,wenn ich direkt für weitere Nächte buche und sie sich die Komission sparen , sie lehnte dies ab :D Schade und unangebracht . Auch immer dieses ins Zimmer stürmen und laute reden ( sie hat eine starke ,laute Stimme ) empfand ich und auch die anderen nach einer Weile etwas störend . Manchmal kam ich mir selbst schon vor wie eine Mitarbeiterin,

      Reviewed March 04, 2019

      See room deals

      7.6
      Very good
      TaeHyung from South Korea
      Solo traveler
      1 Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Shared Facilities (Mixed)
      Stayed 1 night in August 2016

      찾기 힘들어요”

      위치가 찾기 힘들게 되어있네요

      Reviewed March 09, 2017

      See room deals

      안녕하세요. 먼저 귀하께서 우리 호스텔을 찾기가 어려웠다는 소식을 듣고 유감스럽게 생각합니다. 그러나 이러한 피드백은 우리가 처음으로 받은 위치문제에 대한 피드백입니다. 참고하여 더 나은 정보를 고객들께 알려 드리겠습니다. 감사합니다. 우리 호스텔은 시드니 의 가장 중심에 있으며 City & Bondi 해변과 식물원 및 오페라 하우스에서 도보로 가까운 거리에 있으며 기차역과 가깝습니다. 머물어 주셔서 감사합니다, 다음에 또 뵙길 기대 하겠습니다. 감사합니다. Effie + Sasha, Blue Parrot Owners

      Responded October 13, 2017
      Blue Parrot Backpackers
      This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

      Back to search results

      Back to room choices

      |

      Dismiss