Travelling to Myanmar? Read all updated requirements before you book.
Chan Myae Thar Guest House
Chan Myae Thar Guest House
Chan Myae Thar Guest House
Chan Myae Thar Guest House
Chan Myae Thar Guest House
Chan Myae Thar Guest House
Chan Myae Thar Guest House

Removed from saved list

6.6

Good

79 reviews

79 reviews

See map

8.3

Excellent

Location rating score

Excellent location - Inside city center
Popular neighborhood
Exceptional for walking
Parking
Available
Walkable places
Your mart

120 m

Mogul Shiah Jamay Mosque

170 m

Sule Pagoda

190 m

Sule Square Mall

210 m

Lucky mart

220 m

Popular landmarks
Yangon Central Railway Station

800 m

Yangon Chinatown

840 m

Immaculate Conception Cathedral

900 m

Botahtaung Pagoda

1.8 km

National Museum

2.2 km

Closest landmarks
Aye yeik tha

200 m

Sule Square

210 m

AA

220 m

Aye Myittar Clinic

230 m

Aye Yeik Thar

240 m

Chan Myae Thar Guest House

No, 223/225 2nd floor,BoSunpat Street (Mawthawlay Street)(betw anawyathar road & maharbandoola road), Middle Block,Pabedan Township,yangon,myanmar, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar, 11101 - See map

Get your trip off to a great start with a stay at this property, which offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms. It's centrally located in Downtown Yangon only 790 m from public transport, so that you'll have easy access to local areas. Don't leave before paying a visit to the famous Shwedagon Pagoda. As an added bonus, restaurant is provided on-site to conveniently serve your needs.

Show more

Highlights

Located in heart of Yangon

Front desk [24-hour]

Airport transfer

730 meters to public transportation

Inside city center

Facilities

Front desk [24-hour]

Airport transfer

Car park

Shuttle service

Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

Room service [24-hour]

Laundry service

Restaurants

Cheaper than 99% of all properties in Yangon in the last 24 hoursCompared to 381 Yangon properties at Agoda for various dates
Value for money6.2
Distance to city center0.4 km
Location rating8.3
Nearest airportYangon International Airport (RGN)
Distance to airport14.3 km

Rooms available at Chan Myae Thar Guest House

Superior
...
  • Room size: 16 m²/172 ft²
  • Balcony/terrace
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard With Air Condition
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard With Fan
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Double Bed Room with No Window (Air conditioner)
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Double Bed Room with No Window (Fan)
...
  • Room size: 10 m²/108 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Room standard
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Room Assigned on Arrival
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices

      Frequently asked questions

      What time is check-in and check-out at Chan Myae Thar Guest House?

      Check-in is from 02:00 PM, and check-out is until 02:00 PM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The front desk is always open, day or night.

      How do I get to Chan Myae Thar Guest House?

      Chan Myae Thar Guest House is easy to access from the airport. In fact, you can even book your airport transfer in advance for greater peace of mind with the additional charge of 15 MMK. Just use the "Let us know what you need" section of the booking page to let the hotel know you want a ride, and they will contact you via the Agoda messaging service. A stay at Chan Myae Thar Guest House also comes with easy access to the neighborhoods around the hotel through the convenient shuttle service offered at the hotel. For those who wish to drive their own cars, Chan Myae Thar Guest House has a car park right on site for maximum convenience. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Yangon with private transportation, the hotel can arrange both taxis or car rental.

      Is breakfast offered at Chan Myae Thar Guest House?

      Wake up to a great continental breakfast at Chan Myae Thar Guest House.

      What is the smoking policy at Chan Myae Thar Guest House?

      Chan Myae Thar Guest House does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

      What is the closest train, metro, or bus station to Chan Myae Thar Guest House?

      The closest train, metro, or bus station to Chan Myae Thar Guest House is Pagoda road, 730 m away.

      What restaurants are nearby Chan Myae Thar Guest House?

      Restaurants including Cafe' KSS, Masala Mantra Modern Indian Kitchen and The Brunch Society are popular in Chan Myae Thar Guest House’s neighborhood which is known as Downtown Yangon.

      What popular shopping places are close to Chan Myae Thar Guest House?

      Shopping options in Chan Myae Thar Guest House’s Downtown Yangon neighborhood include Junction City, Taw Win Centre and Sule Square Mall.

      What are popular attractions near Chan Myae Thar Guest House?

      Guests at Chan Myae Thar Guest House can easily visit Sule Pagoda, National Museum and Botahtaung Pagoda located in the Downtown Yangon area.

      Show more questions
      See map

      Explore the neighborhood

      What people love about Chan Myae Thar Guest House

      • 7.2

        Very good
        Staff 

        "It's cheap,staff very helpful"

        Alessandro

        |

        December 26, 2019

      • 10

        Exceptional
        Staff 

        "Staff very cooperative."

        vasundhara

        |

        June 12, 2019

      • 10

        Exceptional
        Staff 

        "Staff very cooperative, centrally located."

        vasundhara

        |

        June 11, 2019

      Overall rating:

      6.6

      Good
      79 reviews
      Cleanliness
      5.6
      Facilities
      5.4
      Location
      8.3
      Read all reviews >
      More about Chan Myae Thar Guest House

      More about Chan Myae Thar Guest House

      Chan Myae Thar Guest House

      For travelers who want to take in the sights and sounds of Yangon, Chan Myae Thar Guest House is the perfect choice. Its convenient location right in the city center allows you more time to see all that Yangon has to offer. Find yourself incredibly close to Yangon Central Railway Station. Just 790 m away, you can pack more into every day with simple transportation access with a stay at Chan Myae Thar Guest House.
      At Chan Myae Thar Guest House, guests are bound to have a stress-free stay. Keep up with all your communications easily with the hotel's free Wi-Fi. Getting from and back to the airport can be easily arranged with the hotel's airport transfer services. Taxi, car hire and shuttle services provided by the hotel make exploring Yangon even more convenient.
      Guests can enjoy convenient available parking right at the hotel. Front desk service is provided at the hotel including safety deposit boxes. Getting tickets for the city's best entertainment is easy through the hotel's ticket service and tours. Packing light is possible at Chan Myae Thar Guest House thanks to the hotel's laundry service keeping your clothes clean.
      Feeling lazy? In-room conveniences like 24-hour room service, room service and daily housekeeping let you get the most out of your room time. For the comfort and health of all guests, smoking is not permitted anywhere within the hotel. Smoking is allowed only in the designated smoking areas provided by hotel.
      All rooms at Chan Myae Thar Guest House are designed for comfort. For your comfort, some rooms at the hotel are equipped with linen service and air conditioning. Some rooms at Chan Myae Thar Guest House even come with extra design features such as a balcony or terrace. In-room entertainment amenities including the daily newspaper is provided in some rooms.
      In some select rooms, you can find bottled water and mini bar at your disposal.


      Dining and things to do

      Every day at Chan Myae Thar Guest House begins with a delicious in-house breakfast. A variety of convenient and tasty dining options are waiting for you at the hotel, for whenever you get hungry. For the ultimate convenience, you can even have groceries delivered to your room at Chan Myae Thar Guest House, with their exclusive service.


      Around the property

      Experience all the sights and local attractions of Yangon with Chan Myae Thar Guest House as your base. Acquire some cultural knowledge with a day at National Museum located 2.1 km away, where you can see famous works by local artists. Don't limit yourself to one neighborhood. While here, take advantage of easy access to Chan Myae Thar Guest House located close to Yangon Central Railway Station only 790 m away.


      Reasons to stay here

      Find some of the city's best deals here with rooms 99% cheaper than other options.

      Show more
      Amenities and facilities
      Review score
      Facilities

      5.4

      Most talked about facilities

      Breakfast

      11 mentions

      Housekeeping

      3 mentions

      Internet

      1 mention

      Languages spoken

      • English
      • Burmese

      Internet access

      • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
      • Wi-Fi in public areas

      Things to do, ways to relax

      • Ticket services
      • Tours

      Cleanliness and safety

      • Physical distancing of at least 1 meter

      Dining, drinking, and snacking

      • Grocery delivery
      • Kitchen
      • Restaurants
      • Room service [24-hour]

      Services and conveniences

      • Currency exchange
      • Daily housekeeping
      • Elevator
      • Laundry service
      • Safety deposit boxes
      • Smoke-free property
      • Smoking area

      Access

      • Front desk [24-hour]
      • Pets allowed
      • Security [24-hour]

      Getting around

      • Airport transfer
      • Car park [on-site]
      • Rental car
      • Shuttle service
      • Taxi service

      Available in all rooms

      • Daily newspaper
      • Free bottled water
      • Linens
      • Mirror
      • Wake-up service
      Food and dining
      Breakfast options
      • Continental
      Location
      No, 223/225 2nd floor,BoSunpat Street (Mawthawlay Street)(betw anawyathar road & maharbandoola road), Middle Block,Pabedan Township,yangon,myanmar, Downtown Yangon, Yangon, Myanmar, 11101
      Excellent
      Location

      8.3

      Airports

      • Yangon International Airport (RGN)
        14.3 km
      • Pathein Airport (BSX)
        146.7 km

      Public transportation

      • Pagoda road
        730 m
      • Phaya Lan Railway Station
        770 m

      Hospital or clinic

      • Aye yeik tha
        200 m

      Shopping

      • Junction City
        570 m

      Convenience store

      • City Express
        950 m

      Cash withdrawal

      • ATM
        160 m
      What's nearby

      Popular landmarks

      • Sule Pagoda
        190 m
      • Yangon Central Railway Station
        800 m
      • Yangon Chinatown
        840 m
      • Immaculate Conception Cathedral
        900 m
      • Botahtaung Pagoda
        1.8 km
      • National Museum
        2.2 km
      • Kandawgyi Park
        2.5 km
      • Shwedagon Pagoda
        2.7 km
      • Chaukhtatgyi Buddha
        4.1 km
      • Aung San Suu Kyi House
        5.6 km

      Nearby landmarks

      • Your mart
        120 m
      • Mogul Shiah Jamay Mosque
        170 m
      • Sule Pagoda
        190 m
      • Aye yeik tha
        200 m
      • Sule Square Mall
        210 m
      • Sule Square
        210 m
      • AA
        220 m
      • Lucky mart
        220 m
      • Aye Myittar Clinic
        230 m
      • Bengali Sunni Jameh Mosque
        230 m
      Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
      Property policies
      Children and extra beds

      Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.

      All children are welcome.

      Infant 0-1 year(s)
      Stay for free if using existing bedding.
      Baby cot/crib may be requested directly from the property.
      Children 2-4 year(s)
      Stay for free if using existing bedding.
      If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
      Guests 5 years and older are considered as adults
      Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
      Others
      • When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies and additional supplements may apply.
      Some helpful facts

      Check-in/Check-out

      • Check-in from14:00
      • Check-out until14:00
      • Reception open until00:00

      Getting around

      • Airport transfer fee15 MMK
      • Distance from city center0.4 km
      • Travel time to airport (minutes)39

      The property

      • Number of bars/lounges0
      • Number of floors2
      • Number of restaurants0
      • Number of rooms 8
      • Year property opened2009

      Reviews of Chan Myae Thar Guest House from real guests

      Provided by verified guests of Agoda
      6.6
      /
      10
      Cleanliness5.6
      Facilities5.4
      Location8.3
      Room comfort and quality4.2
      Service7.7
      Value for money6.2
      High score for Yangon
      Rating
      9+ Exceptional (13)
      8-9 Excellent (5)
      7-8 Very Good (15)
      6-7 Good (7)
      <6 Below Expectation (32)
      Time of the year
      Mar - May (12)
      Jun - Aug (7)
      Sep - Nov (18)
      Dec - Feb (35)
      All guests (79)
      All room types
      All languages

      Show reviews that mention 

      Showing 72 verified guest comments
      1234
      10.0
      Exceptional
      vasundhara from India
      Solo traveler
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 1 night in June 2019

      Sight seeing”

      Staff very cooperative, centrally located. Strff helped me arranging my sight seeing. While departing they helped to go to bus station. I feel next time I will stay in the same hotel. Everything excellent

      Reviewed June 11, 2019

      See room deals

      10.0
      Exceptional
      Thomas from United States
      Solo traveler
      Standard Double Room with Shared Bathroom
      Stayed 1 night in December 2018

      Great hotel, clean and friendly staff”

      Great hotel, clean and friendly staff

      Reviewed May 26, 2019

      See room deals

      10.0
      Exceptional
      vasundhara from India
      Solo traveler
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 1 night in June 2019

      Nice place centrally located. Good also for marketing. Plenty of eateries. ”

      Staff very cooperative. They helped in finding the placrs

      Reviewed June 12, 2019

      See room deals

      7.2
      Very good
      Turgay
      Couple
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 3 nights in December 2018

      Very Cheap but Windowless Hot Rooms”

      This is a very Cheap but our room was windowless and very hot. Besides the bathrooms are in a very bad condition. However the staff is very kindness and helpful. The breakfast is good and balcony has a nice busy street way. I did not recommend for people who needs comfortable and clean environment. But if you want a real local experience then the hotel and its neighborhood is good for you.

      Reviewed January 15, 2019

      See room deals

      7.2
      Very good
      Alessandro from Italy
      Solo traveler
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 2 nights in December 2019

      It's an ok hotel”

      It's cheap,staff very helpful

      Reviewed December 26, 2019

      See room deals

      6.8
      Good
      James from United Kingdom
      Solo traveler
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

      Good”

      Pros .great manager very helpful breakfast included simple but you get what you pay for . Cons .no window in room but ok for short stay .

      Reviewed January 24, 2019

      See room deals

      6.0
      richard from United Kingdom
      Couple
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 1 night in February 2020

      Small guest house with a no frills stay”

      The best thing about this place is the great location. The staff are also very sweet and offered us a cold drink on arrival and ok breakfast. Unfortunately, the rooms are tiny, dark, not at all sound proof and full of mosquitoes due to all the gaps around the door and walls. Our room had a window to the next room with a curtain drawn but we could hear everything they were saying.. The shared toilet and bathroom are not particularly clean or pleasant to use. There are much better options nearby for the same budget price. Keep looking!

      Reviewed February 24, 2020

      See room deals

      4.8
      Chloe from France
      Couple
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 1 night in February 2019

      Small but convenient place”

      We stayed 2 nights because of the cheap price and good location. The room is not the one on the pictures. It was very small (the bed touch 3 walls on 4), you can't completely open the door and if your backpack is on the floor, you can't fit in the room. No air, no window, it smells bad (humidity). No wifi in the room (only the reception). The shared bathroom is small too (1 toilet, 1 cold shower), not the cleanest but ok. Too bad, no water in the building the 2nd day. The staff is nice, few English is spoken (except the manager who has good English). So : stay there for good location for 1 night. But you can find much better place 10min walking from Sule Pagoda if you stay more days. It is easy to go to Sule Pagoda from the bus station with bus 36 (200 kyats each person).

      Reviewed February 09, 2019

      See room deals

      4.4
      Benoît
      Couple
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 2 nights in October 2019

      A ruin guesthouse ”

      The guesthouse is well situated and the staff is friendly but that's it. It was the worst stay of my life and I travel a lot. It was so dirty that we hesitated to leave for another hotel. We had to remove the towels and the blanket because of a really bad smell. The both nights, the power went off, I let you imagine the heat in a room without window and a functional fan. The sanitories look like a trash deposit. Unfortunately I can't post pictures but I surely do not recommend it.

      Reviewed October 16, 2019

      See room deals

      sorry for your Commitment.

      Responded December 26, 2019
      Chan Myae Thar Guest House
      3.6
      Sascha from Germany
      Couple
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 7 nights in February 2020

      Bed bugs”

      We don’t have a high standard due to we are travelling since 7 month as backpackers. Unfortunately this been our first experience with bed bugs. We get over 200 bites each! When we confronted the staff he say we can’t get a refund so we changed the room. Finally we slept in 4 different rooms because of the bed bugs. We told the staff that we want talk with the hotel owner but they told us weird reasons why we can’t. The breakfast was okay for us. Everyday the same deepfried springrolls and a half filled pot with coffee but we don’t need luxury. One time the shower doesn’t work because the water was empty. There is no free bottled water like they offered on theirs page. The is also no daylight in the room because there are no windows. The location is good. We would never go back in this hostel. It was terrible and kind of traumatising. We didn’t get apologies for the bed bugs. Be aware!

      Reviewed March 09, 2020

      See room deals

      3.2
      Thomas from Myanmar
      Solo traveler
      Standard With Air Condition
      Stayed 1 night in June 2019

      This place is disgusting! (and I am not fussy) I wish I could post pictures for this review!”

      This is the dirtiest, filthiest, most disappointing place I have ever stayed at. The staff get paid a pittance and live in fear of the boss. This is obvious in everything they do. The electric gets turned off the minute you step out of your room, so it is scorching hot when you come back. You can't keep any food in the room that you may buy in the street because it spoils the same day, so if you buy fruit, such as watermelon, etc., eat it while you can. There are no refrigerators anywhere you can use. The only refrigerator in the whole place is in the lobby which only gets turned on (by order of the boss) when he comes to collect. The reason is that the boss likes to have a cold beer when visits, so as soon as he leaves, his staff is told to turn off the refrigerator. No thought is given to the comfort of the guests. The two toilets are disgusting: There is no toilet paper, and you have to pay for it if you want toilet paper. The state of disrepair is appalling.

      Reviewed October 05, 2019

      See room deals

      3.2
      Stav from Israel
      Couple
      Superior
      Stayed 3 nights in February 2020

      Don’t come to this hotel ever!!”

      We took the “best” room in this hotel and except the fact that is the dirtiest place in the world, the water to the shower was from a big bucket that I really don’t know how much time it was there. There were also a lot of bugs, and the room was stinky with mold all over the walls. We order the room one day before but they still didn’t give us a refund or a little money. The boss always dodge from us and send just his employees that didn’t know English at all.

      Reviewed February 17, 2020

      See room deals

      3.2
      Thomas from Myanmar
      Couple
      Standard With Air Condition
      Stayed 3 nights in April 2019

      You couldn't book a worse place to stay!”

      We have staid in far better places for less money in Yangon, No toilet paper in the toilets, You were welcome to buy toilet paper but none was provided. I guess the owner didn't make enough money!!!

      Reviewed December 02, 2019

      See room deals

      sorry for your Commitment. you can get toilet paper from staff.

      Responded December 26, 2019
      Chan Myae Thar Guest House
      2.4
      Jiří from Czech Republic
      Solo traveler
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 4 nights in February 2020

      DON ´T GO THERE!!!”

      SIMPLY AWFUL! Dark small rooms without window, bed bugs, non-english speaking personal. NOT THE WORD! Entrance - dirty thin stairs, reception on the second floor. I have seen it and cancelled immediately. Go to Serene Stays, it is more far from center, but EXCELLENT just for double price. And hundred times better.

      Reviewed February 26, 2020

      See room deals

      2.4
      Mark from United Kingdom
      Solo traveler
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 1 night in March 2019

      Squalid”

      The guest house is between lots of shops on 2 nd floor not easy to see as no sign at road level. Room is window less and fan is inadequate. Staff are constantly looking to earn extra money for charges. Tries to charge extra for coach etc. Much better accommodation available with less money grabbing owners

      Reviewed March 13, 2019

      See room deals

      2.0
      Anthony from Australia
      Group
      Standard With Air Condition
      Stayed 3 nights in November 2019

      BED BUGS!”

      Stay away from this place! Rooms are super small, only one toilet and one shower (if we can call it like that..) for the whole guesthouse. They do have bed bugs in all rooms obviously and when you want to leave this place after been bitten and get bed bugs in your bags, the reception guy start to don’t understand English at all... Of course they suggest you to move to an other room but there clearly all the same! If you want to avoid paying 50$ to get ride of the bugs and avoid any troubles, do not stay here.

      Reviewed November 17, 2019

      See room deals

      sorry for your Commitment.

      Responded December 26, 2019
      Chan Myae Thar Guest House
      9.2
      Exceptional
      Jessica
      Couple
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 7 nights in January 2017

      Amazing location”

      Our stay was for one week and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with everything! Breakfast was delicious and they were accommodating to our vegan life style. They answered all the questions we had and helped us out in our next leg of the trip. This place is great for people looking to explore Yangon. The room is in the center of the city amazing location for backpackers, people looking to live like the locals, and street food. If you're really uptight and looking for more of a resort/hotel look elsewhere. Room is clean and hot water in the shower. I would for sure stay here again. Thanks for everything!

      Reviewed January 12, 2017

      See room deals

      9.2
      Exceptional
      Carola from Chile
      Couple
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 1 night in October 2017

      Lovely owner”

      In the middle of a Yangon-style street (thus; very crowded! But interesting), this Guesthouse was enough. You need to go up some stairs to get to it. Just look for the sign from the street, hanging from a second or third floor. It is very basic, but Ok for its price. Lovely owner, nice breakfast with fruits, tea and coffee. Toilets are not a good standard though, and wifi does not really work. If I were not a backpacker, I may prefer another place ;)

      Reviewed November 21, 2017

      See room deals

      9.2
      Exceptional
      Barbara from Poland
      Group
      Standard With Air Condition
      Stayed 2 nights in November 2017

      Really helpful staff and good localization”

      It's the place in the city center, good point to start walking trip in Yangon. There work really helpfully people. Breakfast is good with regional ingredients. Good quality price relation. We felt asian climat. Beathroom is not cery well.

      Reviewed November 21, 2017

      See room deals

      8.8
      Excellent
      Eric from Canada
      Couple
      Standard With Fan
      Stayed 2 nights in February 2017

      Everything is ideal - but just too hot!”

      The location is fantastic, the staff could not be better, they're also really helpful, polite, warm and welcoming. But the two different rooms we had were both hotter inside than out of the rooms. If you want to pay for air conditioning, then this place is for you. Keep in mind this is a guest house and not a hostel! It's a pity that only one detail prevents this place from being absolutely perfect -- but it's such an important detail; even with the fan in full, it was just blowing hot air around and we had difficulty sleeping our entire time there. I don't know why the air in the room was so much hotter -- it was much cooler even directly in the hallway right outside our room. And the room unfortunately didn't have a window to open up...

      Reviewed February 11, 2017

      See room deals

      1234
      This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

      Back to search results

      Back to room choices

      |

      Dismiss