Book Now: Citylights Hotel

Excellent
From 175 reviewsSee what guests said
8.2
/
10
Recommended by 85% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (175)Booking.com Reviews (198)
8.2
/
10
Excellent
From 175 reviews
Cleanliness8.3
Facilities7.2
Location8.8
Service8.6
Value for money8.3
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (175)
All room types
Showing 76 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Kimia from Singapore
Business traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019
Fantastic room even though it is cheap”
The rooms are very clean and big, with housekeeping daily. Free bottles of water refilled daily as well. Very good location, central to many things in Perth City and everything is in walking distance. Many food options just downstairs around the area. One gripe is that the hairdryer will stop working after 15 seconds of use, you have to wait awhile before it will start up again. Also, the front counter is only open after 8am, so if your plane lands early, you will have to loiter around the area instead and cannot wait in the hotel lobby.
Reviewed January 23, 2019
8.0
Excellent
Brenton from Indonesia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2018
Well designed rooms”
City lights is very good value and the rooms are large and well designed. It is about 10 minutes walk from downtown. Suggest when you exit the hotel turn left and take the next main road into town. William St I think. If you turn right and go through Barrack Street it is a bit seedy. I would not suggest single women walk that route. In fact single women best to take a cab to the hotel. Northbridge has some issues. It is close to the Cat Bus. 3 minutes walk to the stop. My safe did not work. I asked the staff to fix it but alas they did nothing! So I had to carry my passport everywhere which was annoying. For a hotel too the staff were very casually dressed. Looked like they were going to the beach! I mean real casual. Room was clean and well appointed. Would stay again.
Reviewed November 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Christine from Australia
Couple
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2019
Cheap and handy”
Very handy to Northbridge and food, dumpling place next door had queues all the time we were there. Not so handy if you're transferring to bus to airport but not far. Good cheap accommodation one street off the city free CAT bus.
Reviewed January 07, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ven from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Good location & services”
Stay 2 night in this hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice hotel with big room and sofa in the room. Good design. Great location, close to new chinatown (Northbridge area), old chinatown, Murray & Hay Mall, James road. Close to shopping and culinary area. Close to CAT station (blue line). Will stay here again when I visit Perth next time for sure.
Reviewed August 28, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Lim from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2019
Good location ”
Near to Perth Station and there is plenty of Asian food restaurants nearby. The room is clean and spacious. And we had a warm welcome by the front desk staff, Alex.
Reviewed January 10, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Daniel from Australia
Solo traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
Very friendly and helpful staff”
My friend and I came here due to personal situation and we needed to stay for longer a week. The staff has been very helpful and supportive during this situation and very impressed with price and location. 5 stars to service and management 👍
Reviewed November 09, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Kwok from Hong Kong
Group
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
worth what I paid”
clean, staff are nice, convenient location with BLUE CAT stop nearby, and within the free transit zone so you can take any bus to get to downtown. convenience store, supermarket and mcdonald nearby. however, no toothbrush and toothpaste provided, and no USB plug, the room only have Australasian (Type I) socket
Reviewed May 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
jaray from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2019
nice and private better then expected . ”
thanks for the stay . enjoyed the peacefulness
Reviewed January 15, 2019
9.2
Exceptional
Pranee from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
Great value and excellent location but very scabby with manchester...”
I had booked for 2 adults and 2 children and the room had a fold out sofa bed. However, we were told we would have to pay for extra sheets for the sofa beds for the kids which was strange. Eventually they relented and gave us sheets but it was not a good start. After that initial issue, the stay went really well, the room is super clean, and the location was great to enjoy Northbridge and all the yummy Asian restaurants close by.
Reviewed October 16, 2018
8.4
Excellent
E from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
Good location”
Located in the city with walking distance to restaurant and store
Reviewed November 10, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Erna from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in November 2016
Overall it was a very pleasant stay. We would definitely suggest this hotel to our friends”
It is a new hotel and therefore the facilities are all still brand new. The location is superb! Just 15 minutes walk from the city center, 10 minutes walk to the train stations, 2 CAT bus stops right behind the hotel, a medical center right at the corner, a hypermarket exactly opposite the road, and eateries (mostly asian cuisine) are abundance along the street. It was quiet and peaceful at night so you can have a good rest. Mr Alex was very very polite and helpful to us during our stay. We will always remember his hospitality. Only one minor improvement needs to be done from my point of view and that is the tv reception as it was not so smooth. Other than that everything was fine.
Reviewed November 12, 2016
2.0
Erin from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018
I booked saying it was 2 adults and 2 children”
We booked online for a special price. I specifically said 2 adults and 2 children. Was asked for the bed configuration and picked 2 twin beds over 1 large bed. We get to reception and they gentlemen first didn't say Hello or welcome. Then when he went to tell me about my room being a queen size bed only that I should read the fine print. I said the fine print asked me which beds I would like. He argued with me and was quiet rude. I would never recommend this place ever.
Reviewed November 03, 2018
2.4
Sara from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
What a waste of money I have never stayed in such filth!!!! ”
The couch was stained so badly I couldn’t even sit on it and under it was so dirty I think there was even spew on the floor that was not cleaned up. The roof had mould and there was huge wet patch on the carpet under the fridge. The walls looked like they had never been cleaned with dirty hands marks through out. When I emailed them with photo proof their response was we will get the carpets professionally cleaned and we hope you come and stay again. As if never have I ever stayed in such filth and I would never return or recommend this hotel to anyone!!!!!
Reviewed October 28, 2018
6.4
Good
Wendy from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Location First Rate Cleanliness Second Rate”
I chose to stay at CityLights as I wanted a cheap hotel close to Northbridge. Great for those two criteria. Got a great price on Agoda, and easy to walk to Northbridge. Even easy to walk to Leederville which I did next morning. However, disappointed with the cleanliness. The TV was located in front of a filthy sofa, dirt and blood stains. TV is not located so you can watch from the bed. I also walked on a prickle in the room. I take my shoes off at the door, so obviously it was left behind from another patron. Ouch! On the plus side, a big room and bathroom, kettle for a cuppa, bed reading lamp. Happy but not ecstatic! Think I could have done better elsewhere.
Reviewed February 11, 2018
7.2
Very good
Chi from Singapore
Family with teens
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 9 nights in November 2018
Bath room”
Should be improved to have more bath room accessories
Reviewed December 23, 2018
7.6
Very good
Jonathan from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
Very good”
Good for the price, clean relatively new and easy 15 min walk to the city.
Reviewed December 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
NURUL from Malaysia
Group
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018
Perfect location & easy to access transport ”
Near to perth station. Just walk 7-10mins. Worth money to spend. Also they clean your room everyday. Staff very helpful. Recommended
Reviewed October 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Daniel from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
Amazing staff”
Alex Lee, the hotel manager, is the most empathetic and caring person! The location is amazing and the rooms comfy
Reviewed October 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ping from Malaysia
Family with young children
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018
New hotel ”
New hotel , room is big enough , but for me location quite far from town around 1.3km as bring young children difficult work to town. Cats bus located behind the hotel.
Reviewed September 16, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Michelle from Malaysia
Family with teens
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 5 nights in July 2018
nice hotel to stay”
Good location, clean and helpful staff
Reviewed August 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Elaine from Australia
Family with teens
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Great location”
Nice new accommodation
Reviewed August 13, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Eve from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Great location ”
Staff is kindness
Reviewed August 02, 2018
6.4
Good
Chin from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in August 2018
Big room with clean washroom”
The location near to one of the free bus routes into city center, convenience store just located right in front of the hotel too. The room is big with 2 seater sofa and clean washroom really felt comfortable.
Reviewed August 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Marcella from South Korea
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018
Great stay”
The location is near the center of city. Lot of restaurants nearby. Also accessible with free Perth bus. Sofa in my room is slightly broken, but still usable.
Reviewed December 09, 2018
6.0
Lachlan from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
OK for sleep”
It is just ok for sleep
Reviewed October 14, 2018
6.0
CHONG from United States
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Big room and good location”
room with everything, 2 bottle water, bed are good and room are big. nearby a lot eatery, Mcdonald just next of the road. many shop and bar nearby.
Reviewed September 11, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Salmah from Malaysia
Couple
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Good Location”
Easy access to train station and shopping mall. We walked all the time when staying here.
Reviewed March 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jeaseung from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018
Perfect”
Everything was good. Price, Location, Staff Service, Room, House keeping. Great! I wanted door sign for cleaning. Restaurants, IGA, Maccas are around there.
Reviewed March 09, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Anthony from Australia
Solo traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
$”
as usual with other perth hotel it was over priced but otherwise ok NO hotel restaurant. but many other restaurants just outside the door mostly Asian
Reviewed February 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Emily from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Great value”
We have absolutely nothing negative to say about this hotel. Check in was very quick and the gentleman that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. Location is very close to the city centre. The room was spotlessly clean and it was quiet so we slept very well. Would definitely recommend this hotel!
Reviewed January 18, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Misherlyn from Indonesia
Couple
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 4 nights in October 2017
You won’t regret choosing this hotel! ”
The location is very strategic, many restaurants nearby and the free blue cat bus is just behind the hotel (3-5 minutes walk). The room is spacious and very clean. And won’t forget to mention Alex who is super friendly and helpful. Very recommended!
Reviewed November 05, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Sin from Hong Kong
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in November 2016
Very friendly staff and clean room”
Alex and Christian are extremely helpful. Alex has made very good suggestions for restaurants around and helped us with our booking of tour and follow up with the vendor. Room is clean and spacious. We enjoyed our stay there!
Reviewed November 21, 2016
4.4
Kaye from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
bad service”
Have stayed at 500 hotels in Perth in last 10 years, this is the FIRST that when I presented at the printed check in time was told " your room is not ready, go awayfor an houror so" and it is 2k from the city.
Reviewed July 09, 2018
7.2
Very good
KHOR from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018
Good location, value for money”
The hotel is near by China town and many Asian restaurant along the hotel street. Convenient super market IGA just opposite and open daily 7am-9pm, chocolates are cheaper price compare to mall at town. Good to have some shopping there for foods and chocolates as souvenir to bring back home. Superb!
Reviewed March 28, 2018
7.6
Very good
Georges from Canada
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 7 nights in March 2018
Good if you are looking for something basic”
The location is great, less than 15 minutes on foot from CBD. It is surrounded by tens of restaurants and stores, mostly selling Asian specialties. The hotel can improve services, but that will probably push the price up. The rooms are big and sparsely furnished. If you just want a comfortable bed in a central location, you won't be disappointed.
Reviewed March 17, 2018
6.0
Yu from Taiwan
Group
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 8 nights in November 2018
Good location and price”
Location is good. But the couch is dirty, and the TV and safe are broken. The room is spacious and quiet. Overall, it is a nice budget hotel.
Reviewed December 02, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Mel from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Excellent”
If you're looking for somewhere to crash after a night out in Northbridge then this place is perfect. It's clean and tidy, good price and in a great location. Would definitely book again.
Reviewed October 17, 2018
7.6
Very good
Lachlan from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Cheap hotel Value for money”
Cheap Budget hotel. Small windows. Free 2 bottle Coles Water every day
Reviewed July 18, 2018
5.6
Rada from Thailand
Business traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Clean room”
Have to pay for parking
Reviewed July 17, 2018
7.6
Very good
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Good location.”
Not 5 star hotel but worth what I paid, walking distance to eat, bars and public transport. Perth City 15mins walking 👍.
Reviewed May 07, 2018
7.6
Very good
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Very good location, walking distance to city (15mins) .”
Has secure parking, close to eating, bars and public transport.
Reviewed May 07, 2018
7.2
Very good
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Very good”
Good location, many restaurants and bars.
Reviewed February 27, 2018
6.8
Good
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Good location, cheap but rooms little bit tacky and not well maintained.”
Showers need more water pressure, and cold!!
Reviewed February 24, 2018
8.8
Excellent
chow from Malaysia
Business traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 4 nights in January 2018
big room”
clean room near perth train station
Reviewed January 18, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Jennifer from Australia
Group
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Awesome ”
Best budget hotel I’ve ever stayed in. Super clean and modern. Very helpful staff and the location can’t be beaten!
Reviewed January 10, 2018
8.8
Excellent
John from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Clean and modern hotel in Perth”
All in all a good place to stay. Modern, clean and comfortable. Located close to supermarket, cafes and restaurants.
Reviewed March 17, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Shih-Chang from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Fantastic”
Friendly and helpful staff, cleanliness, good value for money
Reviewed February 06, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Shih-Chang from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in January 2017
Good value for money”
Cleanliness, comfort and friendly and helpful staff.
Reviewed February 06, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Suan from Malaysia
Business traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 1 night in October 2016
Nice hotel with Great value of money”
Welcome by very friendly staff, this hotel location was great and convenient with plenty of eateries around. Room are new and clean, overall is good for this hotel.
Reviewed October 03, 2016
8.0
Excellent
Wayne from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Good location. ”
Good location and recently renovated.
Reviewed September 16, 2016
5.6
Linda from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Above average”
Clean and spacious but not good location for woman travelling alone after dark. Only Asian food options nearby. 10 minutes walk to train station but cbd hotels are the same distance away
Reviewed September 21, 2018
5.6
James from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in August 2018
Establishment acceptable if only requirement is to sleep over for the night. ”
Room was old and smelly as there was wet rot all over.. toilet was clean however. The " sofa " was so stained that I was hesitant to touch it. Would not have passed black light test.
Reviewed August 27, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Thamaraiselvan from India
Business traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 12 nights in June 2018
Excellent”
Good
Reviewed June 23, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Robert from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 9 nights in May 2018
Excellant location ”
Good holiday again . Easy access to train station and good beaches with good weather in May ,
Reviewed May 12, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Harold from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Exceptional”
Easy check in and checkout. Efficient operation.
Reviewed March 10, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Jeffrey from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
No frills convenience”
Functional and spacious rooms, just don't expect a palace. A good cheapy
Reviewed March 04, 2018
8.0
Excellent
stanley from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Accessible Queen
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Citylights in the city”
Good value hotel, well located. Great friendly helpful staff.
Reviewed February 22, 2018
5.2
Astrid from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Not worth the stay”
My fault for the last.minute booking. Called the first number listed for the after hours check in, the man didn't understand me, said he hadn't made a booking. This whole thing took about 4 minutes until I hung uo and called the next number. After finally getting checked in, he took me to a room. The housekeeping hadnt finished cleaning. Had to wait there while he ran downstairs to change the key for another room. When I finally got settled into bed, there was a very consistent and loud noise in the courtyard. Had no sleep and lots of meetings the next day. Not worth the money.
Reviewed May 26, 2017
6.8
Good
ANNA from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in October 2016
pleasant experience”
hotel near central area transit. accessible to trains and town area. suitable if looking for no frills hotel. also near to supermarket. courteous and helpful staff made our stay pleasant, special mention to staff like Alex and Christian. also, this hotel is near to several must try eating places which we enjoyed, it includes the likes of Australian and Asian cuisines.
Reviewed October 30, 2016
6.4
Good
Gordon from Australia
Family with young children
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
For a cheap nights sleep. Very good”
Close to where we needed to be. Mould on ceiling and in and around bathroom door
Reviewed June 18, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Pay from Malaysia
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 5 nights in October 2017
Good location”
Good location, nice staff and clean environment....
Reviewed November 06, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Martin from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2017
Great value for money ”
Good location, spacious and clean room and helpful staff
Reviewed April 02, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Michael from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Best value Hotel in Perth”
Excellent.. far far better than anything in it's price range! Too many good things to list, location excellent good Chinese restaurants next door, easy access to free CAT bus .. Wonderful 😄
Reviewed October 31, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
William from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
Comfortable a few minion issues but address within minutes”
As above
Reviewed October 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Ed from Australia
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 12 nights in September 2016
Excellent hotel”
I would be happy to recommend this hotel. The staff are more than helpful, and the apartment was very clean and fresh.
Reviewed October 04, 2016
7.2
Very good
ben from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Suite City View
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Very good”
handy location, good sized rooms. only fault really is the cleanliness of the rooms but we would stay again
Reviewed January 14, 2018
7.6
Very good
Howard from Australia
Solo traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 12 nights in November 2017
Very good”
Well situated hotel, clean, well managed, close to shops & restaurants
Reviewed December 02, 2017
7.6
Very good
francesca from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 7 nights in May 2017
Very good”
Very good location, easily walkable to CVD and quay. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. A laundry facility would be a great addition.
Reviewed June 06, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
wai from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Twin Room - 2 Single Beds
Stayed 5 nights in January 2018
酒店員工很友善,地理位置非常好。”
酒店員工很友善,李先生態度很好笑容很親切。酒店地理位置非常好。附近有藍貓到達,就算步行到市中心亦只是7分鐘左右路程。非常推薦此酒店。唯一要改善的是風筒,吹幾十秒會過熱自動關機,要等幾分鐘才可再使用。除此之外,所有都好好,非常滿意。
Reviewed February 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Hyeryeong from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019
Exceptional”
직원들이 매우 친절하고 숙소는 깨끗하고 편안했습니다. 대중교통도 편리한 위치였습니다.
Reviewed January 08, 2019