Book Now: Marine House

Review score
From 331 reviewsSee what guests said
5.9
/
10

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (331)Booking.com Reviews (268)
5.9
/
10
Review score
From 331 reviews
Cleanliness5.4
Facilities5.6
Location8.1
Room comfort and quality5.5
Service5.9
Value for money5.8
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (331)
All room types
Showing 293 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Joseph from United States
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
Exceptional”
The staff was fantastic. I was separated from my traveling partner multiple times and was able to get into my room without him upon providing my information. The AC and shower are nice and clean. Location was great while still being quiet. My only gripe would be that the bed was a bit hard, but not too bad. Would stay here again
Reviewed December 03, 2018
2.0
Luisa from Germany
Solo traveler
6 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
Worsted hostel ever ”
The beds are like you sleep on the floor. The woman wasn’t friendly and you can’t charge your phone. The water stinks a lot and you can’t shower warm because it’s broken. Wouldn’t recommend that thing.
Reviewed October 30, 2018
2.8
Paulo from Brazil
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2019
Horrible”
Worst expirience in 30 days of Thailand. Desgusting. Dirty. Most quantity of cockroaches I ever seen. No storage room or shower after check out. Worst staff in Thailand. They don’t care if your experience is horrible. Never stay here, is better sleep at the street. Seriously.
Reviewed January 04, 2019
8.8
Excellent
ALESSANDRA
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018
Receptionist is the best ❤️”
Quarto espaçoso, cama confortável, banheiro não muito limpo e precisando de reformas. Ótima localização
Reviewed December 05, 2018
9.0
Exceptional
Jack from Australia
Couple
Superior Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
Central easy place”
Location, quiet simple
Phi Phi is packed with all kinds of hotels and its hard to find a decent one without there being some kind of issue..... mainly noise. This place is basic, small bed room ( the bathroom was almost bigger) but on Phi Phi you don't tend to spend too much time in your hotel, its basically for sleeping and showering, so this place is perfect for that. Its just a few minutes walk from the pier (2) easy to find...... First right second left then 30 meters. Its in probably one of the quietest streets so no late night or early morning noise. Don't expect too much but feel comfortable and its the right place to be..... Easy to get to everywhere. Not luxury but fine for the location and value.
Reviewed April 11, 2015
8.8
Excellent
Amelia from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
good”
good location
Reviewed June 24, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Amelia from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Good”
In the town, can walk easily to everything, close to the pier, close to party but away enough it is not loud at night. Perfect location for a night or two.
Reviewed June 24, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Chloe from United Kingdom
Group
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in December 2016
Lovely place!”
Really great small hotel in a good location. Superbly clean and the staff are very welcoming and will try to help with whatever you need. The pool is also fab if you want to escape the beach for a day or two. Would highly recommend to anyone.
Reviewed December 17, 2016
5.6
Earl from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Balcony
Stayed 1 night in September 2016
Perfect location but no facilities, basic accomodation”
This hotel (of sorts, more of a guest house, definitely not a hotel) is a two minute walk from the harbour and close to all the local bars and restaurants. No food or drink available at all but places just outside the door for this. 2 sheets that did not cover me and my husband lol, broken window pain. Balcony outside connects with all the others so not private. No hook for shower so had to get one fixed, then realised we had no shower door!!! Old wooden style 2 story building. Bit annoyed when one of the staff obviously stole my NICE flip flops (have to remove shoes when you enter), complained and when I came back down from my room they had miraculously reappeared and no-one would look me in the eye!!!! Cheap and basic!!! Apart from the flip flop nicker the hotel staff were nice.
Reviewed September 08, 2016
3.6
Aggie from China
Solo traveler
6 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in August 2016
I felt really sick once i step in the room”
The dorm room is really wet , i mean , there is no sunlight at all , i felt really sick even i only stayed one night , and smell is horrible . I think i m a person who can take a lot , but this hostel ... I do not come again , also , there r bed bugs , i moved to another hostel the next day right away
Reviewed August 25, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Katrina from United States
Group
6 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in January 2015
Better than expected!”
Cleanliness, noise level, location
After an awful night at another hostel, coming here was such a relief. It smelled so good and it was so clean and the girl behind the counter was so nice! Our room was cozy enough for the price and our bathroom was private and clean. It was a close walk to everything but I couldn't hear any bars or music at night! Hooray!
Reviewed January 15, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Soon from Singapore
Solo traveler
6 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in November 2014
Be Realistic and This Place Is Great”
Good location, quiet at night and decent sleeping condition
The stay was great given that I spend about SGD13 for 1 night in a mix dorm. Location was easy to find. Near to the pier and not far off from the buzzing nightlife however its still quiet at night, that's what I love most about Marine House. Room was pretty clean and toilet was clean too. Basically don't have too high of an expectation and I believe you will enjoy your stay there
Reviewed November 30, 2014
2.0
Paul from Australia
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Terrible place”
Location
The room is small and had no outside window.the lighting was bad and you could not see. The showere was not hot. The room was on the ground floor next to reception and the staff were up all night. No breakfast or cooking facilities. I was bitten by insects. This place is uninhabitable for humans
Reviewed January 06, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Patrick from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Good location, pretty decent considering ....”
Location, cleanliness
This is a guest house, where you pay for a room essentially and that is it. The room is clean and well kept, though small. It is good value for money on this island, unless you are willing to take a boat to one of the resorts on the other side (probably a good idea considering the thousands of people congregating in thetiny village every day). This is right in the village, though on a more quietback street, so you dont hear the noise of the beach bars or the pub area. Good amenities nearby. But be sure to pre-book because this has less than 10 rooms and they will be full if you just show up. You can walk from the peir literally 5 minutes -- just ask for directions (turn right off the pier then you second or third left).
Reviewed August 29, 2012
7.3
Very good
Vinh from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 1 night in April 2012
Nice people”
Good location
The hotel is close to everything. Based on the price and location, I thought this was a good value. the hotel is nothing fantasy but the people are very nice. the hotel include free wifi. The beds and mattress are old but not too uncomfortable.
Reviewed April 21, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Hataikarn from Thailand
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
hotel atmostphere”
things i liked
The Marine house is located at the central of PhiPhi Island. it is convinent for go to any beachse arround this island. but the thing that be surprised is the marine house also provied some private atmostphere, it not busy and overcrownd like other hotel that located at the middle of PhiPhi Island. they also provide the cleaness of everything if compare to the another budget hotel.
Reviewed March 05, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Elizabeth from Ireland
Group
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
Great location, great staff”
Location, staff
very good location can walk from pier. close to bars and restaurants. free breakfast is very standard but you can get eggs with bacon or ham for . you go across the road for breakfast. horrible smell from bathroom as there seemed to be a problem with the drains but they seemed to be working on the drains along the streets when we were there. very heavy thunder storm when we stayed and water was leaking through roof. no where to sit and relax as this is small geust house. would recommend a stay here. free wifi too whihc worked pretty well!!
Reviewed February 21, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Brent from United States
Couple
Superior Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Good locaton”
Balcony overlooking the walkway. Relatively quite at night since it's far enough away from the "boom thump boom" techno scene
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. This was one of the funkier places we stayed while in Thailand but, we really liked it. It was a good value for the price. Most importantly for us, it was far enough away from Phi Phi's thumping techno bar scene so that we could get some sleep at night.
Reviewed February 09, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Laura from Australia
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
Lovely room, nice service”
Room, location, service, helpful
Room was really nice. Marine house is in prime location on phi phi, just a couple a meters from the pier and a few minutes walk to the other side of phi phi where the beach party is (if you're into that). The hotel was really peaceful and quiet. Complimentary breakfast was nice (not overly filling).
Reviewed February 09, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Jessica from United States
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2011
Very nice little hotel”
Nice rooms, a pool, balconies, cleanliness, and a fridge.
We loved our stay at JJ Residence and would stay here again. The rooms are clean and tidy, and the floor to ceiling wood design helps drown out the noise from Slinky's Bar. Right smack in the middle of the village, it is in walking distance to everything. The only downside is that they don't offer free wi-fi like most of the other hotels, but you can easily get it at one of the restaurants down the street (Try Matt's Joint).
Reviewed December 06, 2011
4.0
Mariana from Uruguay
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Horrible”
Dirty: it had cockroaches, geckos, amd possibly bedbugs Bathroom:disgusting Staff: no idea about my booking and a little rude Don't recommend and I'd love to have my money back since I couldn't even sleep.
Reviewed May 21, 2018
7.6
Very good
Lyf from China
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
location is very close to the tonsai bay”
the bed maybe little annoying.....too tight ..... the best is The WI-FI.... VERY fast.
Reviewed November 19, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
jessie from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Exceptional”
great staff.funny and friendly. def would stay here again.close to Pierre and close to market
Reviewed February 09, 2018
5.2
Andrii from Ukraine
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in February 2017
Don't stay there. Not worth the money you are paying.”
When I booked the room through Agoda it looked all nice, spacious and clean. However, when we arrived we were given a room that looked absolutely nothing like on a photos from the website. Tiny, dirty, it smelled very bad, no windows, two single bed although we booked a double bed with a window. After 10 minutes of an investigation with the stuff how could have this happened we were finally told that we were just very unlucky to get this room and tomorrow she would try to put us in the better room. The next day we were moved to the second floor of this guest house and the room was just a little bit better. Very hot, no window, AC was broken. Overall I would not recommend anybody to stay in this place, find something different.
Reviewed February 19, 2017
6.4
Good
Sylvia from Canada
Solo traveler
6 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Location was key”
good backpacking hostel for people who don't really care about cleanliness but like a younger crowd and to be centrally located. Staff was nice and supervised 24 hrs a day. We had cool people in our room with a bathroom that we only had to share with only like 3 others which was good but the bathroom was not really functional and sort of dirty with cold water.
Reviewed March 05, 2016
2.0
Fahrad from Thailand
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory 4-Bed
Stayed 2 nights in February 2016
Awful , Trouble ”
Every thing in this hostel is awful , aircon not working , the owner not friendly at all the way how she deal with guests was very bad , very old building , KOKROS in bathroom , bugs in the room , no windows in the room , i prefer to sleep on the street and not in that hostel any more .. i booked a dorm bed for two nights but i couldnt sleep even one hour ...
Reviewed February 22, 2016
4.0
dave from Thailand
Couple
Superior Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Definitely worth the money”
Price, location, quietness
We had a good stay here. We didn't pay much so didn't expect much but the bed was comfy, we had good air con and a good TV. Only slight issue was that we couldn't get any hot water out of the shower but as it was so hot there we didn't mind
Reviewed January 28, 2016
5.0
kerri from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Mixed Dormitory 4-Bed
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Good location”
Location
The hostel is filthy, my pillow was absolutely stinking of damp. The bathroom was covered in rot from condensation. This place just has a really dirty feel about it and is definitely overpriced. However the location is good. Although that isn't hard in phi phi when everything is generally in the one area.
Reviewed January 06, 2016
4.7
veronica from Canada
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in November 2015
Mediocre”
Location was great, beach towels available
The location is central. Very good for that. Rooms are small, dark, and mold everywhere. Walls cardboard thin so u can hear everything! Staff was loud in lobby early in morning. Shower, bathroom, sink mold!! Ceiling was held together with tape. Not above average hotel at all...
Reviewed November 15, 2015
3.7
bharat from Spain
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in June 2015
Mesmerizing visit. ”
1- close to the entry point. 2- bakeries near by. 3- Doors are nice.
Our stay was ok. Staff we didnt found very courteous like other people on Island. We are thankful that they give early check Inn at 11 am approx. This hotel dont have any restaurant facility. They cant even provide Tea or coffee. Ac was not working well and was very noicy also. Bathroom was ok but shower cabin was not having door. They are very strict for check out. And charge 200Bh. Per hour for extra stay. So dont even think for late check out. Ambiance is ok. I like wooden interiors so like this hotel. Out of 5 i will like to give 1.5 stars to this hotel that also coz of location. Its very close to Ton Sai Pier. But In same price one can stay in better hotels if go bit further.
Reviewed June 25, 2015
4.3
Dominique from Chile
Group
Mixed Dormitory 4-Bed
Stayed 5 nights in January 2015
You can Get soooo much better!!”
Location was good specially when you arrive with all your bags to the pier. Next to nice restaurants and no noise from the Beach parties
We didnt like it at all. The room small and dirty.. Lots of small holes in the walls. Awful smell to humidity and you can ran into bugs in the room. We had to move after we found two cockroach and a worm. You can get so much better for the same amount of money!!!!!!!
Reviewed January 28, 2015
4.0
Bianca from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
6 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
damp damp damp!”
staff
look. the staff are lovely and do what they can for you. but the room and ensuite was terrible! the stench of damp hits you the second you open the door. it's black and green and is covering the walls, picture, ceilings, floor and air con unit. alas, everything i own smells of damp. it is not only a major health risk, it is also immensely off putting. definately not worth the money! i got 100% ripped off! but again, the staff are actually lovely and they have the most adorable baby. unfortunately that's the only pro. sorry guys.
Reviewed December 21, 2014
5.7
Sally from United States
Solo traveler
6 Bed Mixed Dormitory
Stayed 1 night in October 2014
Forgettable ”
Good location, not too loud
This is a meh hostel. Generally speaking, it was clean, though the sheets were stained and had holes. Also, when you ran the sink, it leaked out the back onto the floor! It's close to the bars and the beach, but relatively quiet at night. Just know that the dorm room is on the ground floor and kept unlocked, so anyone could wander in, though I didn't have any problems with this. All in all, an acceptable place to crash for a night, but nothing to really recommend it.
Reviewed October 06, 2014
7.7
Very good
Tanya from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2014
Comfortable and good value for your money!”
Staff, location, comfort
Immediately I was greeted by a friendly staff and although I booked 2 single beds for myself because I thought it was the cheaper option, they gave me a room with one double bed which I preferred. It was a great sized room with a large bathroom. It was comfortable to stay here, especially with the AC and the staff was always friendly which I appreciated. Marine House is not far from the pier so it was good for me since I was alone carrying quite heavy bags! The only thing I wasn't too fond of was that my room was on the ground floor, right next to the main desk so it would be quite noisy at times especially early morning, as well as from the street level through my window. Overall, I recommend this place as it was affordable in a great location on the Island and quite comfortable:)
Reviewed September 06, 2014
2.7
Ruth from United Kingdom
Group
Standard
Stayed 1 night in February 2014
Awful, avoid at all costs!”
Close to pier, shops and restaurants.
Phiphi is an expensive part of thailand, with this in mind this resort was still very overpriced for a very poor hotel. We stayed one night before transferring to a more remote resort (which was amazing). The hotel has old sagging beds, a whole array of critters to share your room with and the ability to hear every noise and murmur from your neighbours. It was a disappointing and unpleasant place to stay, you can find many nice places for the same price on the island.
Reviewed February 14, 2014
5.3
Egle from Lithuania
Couple
Superior Balcony
Stayed 3 nights in February 2014
Average”
Not far from the pier; quite cozy hotel (from the first look); big balcony; hot water
It is really not far from the pier; close enough to the beach, dining, shops etc. room was small but ok and it had a big balcony over a small street. Quite nice. However, the mattress was still wrapped in plastic and it was really hot to sleep on it (and uncomfortable); moreover, the first to days when we turned on ac, our room smelled like public toilet (no kidding)! But if we turned off A/C, and opened our balcony, it was too noisy, too smelly fro the street food and too many mosquitos... Room might need some repairs (shower doors were broken) and they really should take off a plastic of a mattress and fix the AC. And improve wi-fi coz it's barely working! Over all, if you can't find anything else in Koh Phi Phi, you can consider staying there.
Reviewed February 11, 2014
7.7
Very good
Jonathan from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
Great location, nice room”
easy to find, just right around the corner from the ferries. fast and easy checkin and out, fairly quiet all things considered
I read a lots of bad reviews for this place but decided to try it anyway. The room was great. Very easy to find, had a tv, a/c and a nice little balcony for people watching. Bathroom was pretty large for Thailand. All in all the room was clean and nice. Staff were friendly and you Cant beat the location. I was with friends who were staying in a bungalow for the same price, but it was tiny and out of the way. They were much more impressed with my room
Reviewed January 19, 2014
7.0
Very good
Noor from Malaysia
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Value for money and great location”
Value for money, clean and strategic location
Apart from the bathroom having no locks, the room and hotel is extremely comfortable for only 700 baht. The bed is big, the room is clean and the bathroom is spacious compared to the other budget hotels nearby. Equipped with a newly installed air cond and a shower heater that works well. The room comes with 3 plug point. The worst part about the hotel is the terrible wifi but hey, you can't complain much for the cheap price you pay! Highly recommended.
Reviewed September 03, 2013
4.3
Sunniva from Norway
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in February 2013
Very basic room, but good location”
Quiet area even though very central, close to pier
The rooms are very basic. The first one we got was very dark and mouldy (downstairs behind reception). Got a new room upstairs after requesting it, it was very small but looked cleaner. The location of the hotel is nice, out of the party area/music but close to everything!
Reviewed May 09, 2013
7.0
Very good
Michael from United States
Group
Stayed 5 nights in April 2013
Nothing fancy but good value for price”
Price, Location, Private Rooms
Stayed here for 5 nights. Located conveniently off the ferry pier. Good central location. Rooms were clean although the walls were smudged with dirt/stains. Friendly staff. Superior rooms have balconies but this also means you are located above the street which can be a bit loud at times. Overall I would recommend Marine House as it is a good value although nothing fancy.
Reviewed April 17, 2013
5.7
Leigh from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 3 nights in February 2013
Used to be great now NOT will not recommend”
great location and cheap but shower, hot water and aircon dont work
used to be a great guest house stayed many times but on this trip, rooms have become old and unkept, no hot water, shower did not work, AC was not cool and in poor repair. This is in main town and a good location not expensive but the owner needs to upgrade basic service
Reviewed February 19, 2013
7.3
Very good
CHINAWUTH from Thailand
Couple
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Good Small Hotel”
friendly staff
We stay here 2 nights, Staff here very helpful and friendly welcome. This hotel located in small street but there are many food and drink shops just opposite side. The lobby decor as tropical cottage, you can feel it. It's a distance walk to supermarket in center of island. Overall is good to stay here.
Reviewed February 15, 2013
6.7
Good
Hasan from United States
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in January 2013
good location”
The location of the hotel was good since it was close to the pier and beaches. However it was more like a hostel rather than a hotel since it did not have any facilities at all. However the working staff was nice.
Reviewed January 24, 2013
3.0
Tina from Croatia
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in November 2012
Dirty hotel with big cockroaches”
bad bad bad
The big disappointment on arrival!I paid for superior room and got a room that smells and no windows. The first night we did not have a pillowcase and towels.When I asked (the towels and pillowcase) the girl who works at the front desk at night, was not at all interested, she continued to surf the Internet.one guy tried to help but they unfortunately do not have a pillowcase!!!!!!The rooms are very dirty especially the bathrooms!But the worst is that there are a lot of cockroaches!Girl who works the day shift is nice and tried to help us sometimes.Really have no good words for this hotel and certainly I would not recommend it to anyone!!!
Reviewed November 21, 2012
3.0
Charles from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in October 2012
Not much good to say”
The air conditioner was quiet
I have to dig deep to find anything good to say about this hotel. It was dirty. There was no maid service. There was no drinking water provided, no refrigerator, no TV, and no windows. And this they called a "superior" room. Only one of the two sliding doors to close off the shower worked. There were lights that did not work. There has got to be other places on this island of better value.
Reviewed October 16, 2012
4.7
Richard from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 1 night in September 2012
Dirty rooms and very unfriendly owner”
None
After arriving on Phi Phi island i walked arround and looked at some hotels with price category until 1000 baht per night. I walked in the Marine House and they showed me the room and it was not very nice but looked OK for 1 night. I didn't take the room right away and sit down somewhere to take a look on Agoda first, then i found the Marine House on Agoda which was slight cheaper then at the reception, so i booked 1 night through Agoda. After i arrived again at the Marine House the woman working there (i think she is the owner) was totally not amused that i booked with Agoda instead at reception, i think because she get less money from Agoda instead of people booking directly at the reception. She then give me another room instead of the room she showed me before and she was also very arrogant after i checked in. The room she gave me was very smelly from moisture and very dirty!! I complained about that and then she offer me a better room for 200 baht extra, for me this sounded like a scam!! But i payed the 200 baht anyway because the smelly room is not good for your health. The new room was also quite dirty with many mushroom in the bathroom. I think Marine House don't know what cleaning means as i could tell from the interior. So my conclusion is that Marine House has very dirty and smelly overpriced rooms and the woman at reception is very arrogant and don't knows what the word "service" means, i felt not welkom there. Also they get pissed off if you book with Agoda instead of at reception! I would advise nobody to go there because it's totally NO value for your money. Be warned!
Reviewed October 01, 2012
3.3
Grainne from Ireland
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in September 2012
Lovely on first appearance but we had BED BUGS!!”
Cheap, good Location
We were so impressed on first impressions with this little guest house. the room was small but nicely presented and appeared to be clean. We were happy to go explore for an hour and come back and settle into bed. so we did we went for a short walk to find our bearings and returned to get into bed.. this is were the problems began. We lay on top of the bed as it was hot so didn't lift the covers. I felt a pinch and my partner asked what that thing was beside me. and there it was a bed bug full of my blood!! I jumped from the bed and pulled back the bed covers to reveal sheets that were absolutely crawling with bugs. Not only that but the sheets still had blood spots on them indicating to me that they had not even been washed before we occupied the room. We had been booked in for 4 nights but didn't even stay one night. we went to the reception to complain but no-one could help until the following morning. found another hotel and returned the next morning to request a refund to be told that the lady in charge had to call the owner to see if it was OK to give us our money back. I must mention, the lady working was very apologetic and was very helpful in getting our refund - she actually gave us the money from her own purse - it was not the full amount that we paid - probably about 80% but we were just happy to be out with some kind of money back as we had read reviews since were people dealt with the owner to no avail - he apparently is very rude and unapologetic!
Reviewed September 17, 2012
7.3
Very good
stuart from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Great Location and Lovely stay -”
Brilliant Location
Marine house is a very relaxed, comfortable and a great place to stay. The staff who work there were very helpful with sorting out any problems and were very polite. The best thing about Marine House is its location. It is set right in the middle of everything. Its less than 10 minute walk, if not 5, to everything you need, whether its the beach, bars, the pier, scuba diving shops or restaurants, everything is within close proximity. It's also tucked away quite nicely so you are able to sleep if you need an early night before your Scuba trip. The only negative is that it is quite expensive and you can find much cheaper accommodation on the island and being a back packer this is a pretty important factor.
Reviewed September 17, 2012
7.3
Very good
Kellie from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in August 2012
Nice basic place in fantastic central location”
Great location, central to the activity but on a street that isn't too noisy at night
Marine House was a convenient place to stay in lovely Ko Phi Phi. The location couldn't have been better, just a couple of minutes from the pier and both beaches and close to all the activity, shops restaurants etc. the street itself had a very nice restaurant, Anna's, but after about 10-11pm it quitened down and we could get a good nights sleep (not always easy on Phi Phi). The rooms were pretty basic, we paid a little extra for a 'superior' but still not great. Fairly clean although again not fantastic and the shower in particular was a bit smelly. More expensive than a lot of nicer places elsewhere but for Phi Phi pretty reasonable.
Reviewed August 25, 2012
5.0
Gary from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Very small room with thin walls”
close to the pier
We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. The room only got cleaned once after requesting it. The room was tiny and not well equipped. The only benefit of paying extra for a balcony was extra space to dry wet stuff - big ac unit made it hotter and the smells from the grills/restaurants downstairs were not a bonus. Thin walls meant loud noises at night (a lot of cats fighting). At least this place is away from the loud beachfront bars. Room of convenience.
Reviewed July 29, 2012
6.0
Marc from Ireland
Couple
Standard
Stayed 4 nights in June 2012
Good location, nice rooms”
good location, clean rooms,
we stayed here for 5 nights and found it a very good location. was far enough away from all the noise at nightime but still within walkin distance to the centre and the beach. room was nice and clean although was a funny smell from bathroom drain at times. also staff not very friendly but overall was a nice guesthouse and would recommend
Reviewed June 29, 2012
6.0
Ali from Pakistan
Couple
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012
Great location, but needs upgrade”
Location, Price
needs an upgrade, as the place have some wear and tear, and the dreaded roach which i was told was a Island problem???? I sprayed the room and never saw any more. B'fast was basic, and if you wanted more than basic than you had to pay for it :/
Reviewed May 23, 2012
6.7
Good
Babacar from Sweden
Couple
Superior Balcony
Stayed 1 night in February 2012
Nice hotel in perfekt area”
Near to the beach and activities.
We stayed here for 2nights and the hotel was good for Phi Phi standard. We met a lot of people who complained about the noices from the party beach, but we didn't here any of it and slept as babies...
Reviewed May 03, 2012
4.0
poey from Malaysia
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in April 2012
bad experience”
location
small room no window, aircon dripped till the towel totally wet, toilet flushed not function well,cleanliness low, staffs not friendly. could hear upstairs ppl's footsteps and toilet flushed all night. the only good thing is good location near the beach and pier. definitely overpriced with this kind of facilities and services. would not stay again.
Reviewed April 08, 2012
5.7
Carol from Canada
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
nice room but very thin walls!”
Great room and location
While I was staying here, I never had a real chance to get the free breakfast because I was diving alot. There was an entire day where that restaurant was out of service. The walls of this place are paper thin! I'm sure you know what you hear at 3AM for hours. The room itself was lovely, and I really like the bathroom. They were doing renovations though at the same time I was there and so nearly had my foot stuck in part of the floor! (holes in the floor barely covered up with plywood)
Reviewed April 06, 2012
5.3
AJMAL from Mauritius
Solo traveler
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
okay ”
Close to everything..but far enough to have a quiet night's sleep from the noisy bars
at first quite surprised by the architecture. the rooms are clean, with a/c and shower careful: not always hot water available, which can be a plea. also the staff could have done better especially the lady attendant who was so unfriendly and never really seemed to care.it took us 3 days to see that she could smile at times.. i had to ask to change rooms after a very unpleasant night (my room was on the ground floor, the people on the first floor were sooo noisy.. if you can ask for a room on there first floor its better the shower has that very unhealthy smell every time you take a wash.when the toilet is flushed, some water gets drained on the floor i guess the fittings could have been better looked after. the internet connection was almost always working so it was good the breakfast that is served is good, the restaurant guy is friendly and attentive overall it was a fair value for money stay.
Reviewed March 26, 2012
6.3
Good
Yu from China
Couple
Standard
Stayed 1 night in March 2012
better than expectation”
good location
maybe affected by the comments of previous visitors, we had thought that the room might be small, unclean, but actually it was better than our expectation, although no window in the room but it is still ok and clean, and it provides breakfast and wifi. the only thing is the price is a little bit high compared to the room condition, maybe caused by the busy season.
Reviewed March 19, 2012
2.7
Minh from United States
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Very happy to leave this hotel!”
No pros at all!
I was very happy to leave this hotel after 2 nights. My room had bedbugs, and was dirty, dated, small and there was no windows. The rooom was smelly: toilets don't flush properly, water fills the bowl as though it's clogged and takes awhile for it to go down. No hot water to shower, tried resetting the water tank but found out it was broken. The staff was indifferent and rude. Location is close to ferry dock however pretty much all the hotels are close to the dock. Worst hotel I have ever stayed at. It's cheap but so not worth what you will experience. There are plenty of other hotels around this area.
Reviewed March 16, 2012
4.7
John from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
great location”
location
the marine house is a small hotel in a great central location in phi phi. the rooms are very small with few amenities, but everything you need is just outside, including a decent breakfast in the small cafe just across the path. one thing worth noting is that the walls and doors are quite thin and therefore noise can be an issue if you are a light sleeper.
Reviewed March 13, 2012
4.7
Ilya from Netherlands
Group
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Noisy,”
Central
the hotel was noisy and dark, no window in the room and shower and toillet didn't drain properly. price wise to much for to little. supposibly the best in this price range! 2 nights was more than enough
Reviewed March 09, 2012
5.0
Ilya from Netherlands
Group
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Budget for non budget price”
None
Really loud, if the neigbours turn in their bed you wake up! Drainage of the toillet and shower was very poor. Got an other room becauze the 1st one smellt horrible. Wouldn't stay here even if they pay me!
Reviewed March 09, 2012
6.0
Stuart from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Nice hotel room 11 had bed bugs”
Location
Nice hotel. Rooms had been facaded and no windows. Air conditioning is the way to get fresh air. Issue we had was bed bugs - girlfriend got lots of bites. Didn't know what it was until after we left so didn't get chance to tell management. Hope they read this - room 11. Free wifi
Reviewed February 28, 2012
5.7
Sean from United Kingdom
Couple
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Tiny rooms!”
Location but island is so small everything is close!
the rooms are really small. we hardly had enough room for our luggage but to be honest you'll probably not be in the room that often so it was ok. the staff wasn't really accommodating and the breakfast was ok. toilet gurgled every now and then but all in all is a very basic guesthouse.
Reviewed February 25, 2012
5.7
Grace from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Small room but with nice details”
Lots of character and lovely wooden decor
I didnt think it was worth the money I paid as it was very small and the staff were not particularly friendly but it was clean and comfortable enough with air conditioning and a very nice bathroom. The balcony is tiny though, and with absolutely no view. The "included" breakfast was limited and the servings were very small as well.
Reviewed February 19, 2012
6.3
Good
Parool from Canada
Couple
Superior Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Nice clean hotel.”
Air con. Staff friendly. Location is great close to pier.
We didn't care to stay right on either of the bays so this guest house was perfect. 5 min walk to both bays and close to the pier so not dragging bags all over the place. We had a balcony which added light to our room.
Reviewed February 13, 2012
4.7
Cara from United Kingdom
Group
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012
Good location, service without a smile.”
Location.
Staff were not helpful, didn't even say hello, never smiled. Each time we came in we felt uncomfortable passing the reception. Room had no window so was dark all of the time, only light came from through the glass door used to get in however the glass was red making the room feel more cheap. We stayed for 3 nights and the room was not cleaned once, towels were not replaced either. Could hear people above us and the toilet made a sound like the water was being splashed back and forth whenever anybody in the hotel flushed a toilet. One good thing about the hotel is the location, it is close to the beach and everything else but far enough away so that it is quiet at night. However, as phi phi is so small it would be hard to find a hotel with a bad location. I would not stay again.
Reviewed February 12, 2012
3.3
Alexander from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior Balcony
Stayed 2 nights in December 2011
Good location but totally overpriced!”
Location, air con
The only good things about this hotel were the aircon and the location really (Koh Phi Phi has no taxies). It's only a couple of minutes walk from the harbour, the main shopping streets and beach. The staff are totally disinterested, were very unhelpful (when we asked about the laundry service, the guy at reception stared at us blankly, begrudgingly called someone to ask, and then told us no, they couldn't do laundry today with no explanation as to why)and not even present most of the time. The room was dingy (few lights), the bed was uncomfortable, rickety, and lacking in bedding. There was no tv, mini bar etc (which is fine if you are staying somewhere that costs half the price). There were loads of mosquitoes everywhere and even after the maids had been the room didn't feel "clean". The bathroom was ok, but oddly the shower only had a tiny stone square for you stand on and was surrounded by large pebbles! I'm sure they though it looked stylish/pretty but it was just dangerous/very uncomfortable if you stepped on them by accident with wet feet! We stayed on Phi Phi for 4 days in the end, but packed up and went to another (cheaper, better quality) hotel around the corner when our two days were up.
Reviewed February 10, 2012
6.3
Good
Charlotte from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Good location near the beach”
Only a 2 minute walk to the beach
The hotel has a great location right near the beach. The standard of room was fine but there were no windows. Also, nobody came to clean our room at all during our 3 day stay. Despite this we still enjoyed staying here and it was good value for money.
Reviewed February 09, 2012
4.0
hui from China
Family with young children
Standard
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Good locations but tiny rooms”
Location is good, near pier, right in the heart of downtown.
We stayed in a room on first floor, no window, the toilet was not working well, and it bubbled whenever they flashed upstairs, it was disgusting! And the floor in the room was awful, I guess the wood floor soaked too much moisture or something, it was not level, it makes lots of noise when walking on it. The free breakfast is a joke! We travel with two kids age 7and 8, paid for extra bed, but at breakfast the kids only got half glass of orange juice and we got half cup of tea! Everything else is fine. But would definitely not stay there again! With the price or add a little will definitely get you a decent place to stay.
Reviewed February 04, 2012
7.3
Very good
JUN from China
Family with teens
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
Economic hotel with basic supplies”
good location
It's among the cheapest hostels in Phi Phi. To enjoy a cheaper price, it is expected that you need sacrifice certain comfortableness, such as small rooms, no windows (so rather dark in the room) We stayed there for only 1 night, so everything is OK with us. However, if staying for a couple of days and planning to stay in the room in daytime, you should find a better place.
Reviewed January 25, 2012