Book Now: Patong Hemingway's Hotel

Excellent
From 1136 reviewsSee what guests said
8.0
/
10
Recommended by 81% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1136)Booking.com Reviews (53)
8.0
/
10
Excellent
From 1136 reviews
Cleanliness8.0
Facilities7.0
Location8.9
Room comfort and quality8.1
Service8.0
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (1136)
All room types
Showing 1012 verified guest comments
2.8
Gaurav from India
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in January 2019
Bad bad bad”
Sorry to say, but these people r crooks, they r there to loot people, my 5 year young daughter was not well n she did vomit on bed sheet, my wife called room staff saying that she will wash the bed sheet, n please give another one for bed, instead of understanding the medical condition of my ward they started clicking pictures of the bed sheet, n demanded 3000 baht for the bed sheet, we told we r travelers न don't have that much extra money, they called police, all are one there, forcefully we have to pay them, when we ask fr bed sheet as we were paying such high amount for that they denied saying that we have sended that to laundry. There main motive was to take money from us at any cost, Don't forget ur room keys anywhere, even in the room, We have paid 500 baht fr room card, which we forget in the room it self n may be there hotel staff while cleaning got that, they force us to pay 500 baht fr that. What a service and guest help they r providing. Really disappointed. Never recommend
Reviewed January 23, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Nitesh from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018
Good budget hotel ”
Excellent location : close to all clubs and millions of food options. Staff was very kind and great hospitality There was a water problem and was not sorted for at least 3 days. They should take straight actions atleast towards basic stuffs. Swimming pool was great with small little bar. The bar tender was amazing gave us free shots and allowed us to play our own music. Recommeded.
Reviewed December 08, 2018
3.2
Maxim from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
The tiny room was humid and dark, with no workin AC and broken safe box. Staff was rude.”
The tiny room was humid and dark, with no workin AC and broken safe box. Staff was rude and refused to change the room. Also they refused to give 2nd access card, despite the fact that the booking was made for 2 person. The only window was facing the wall of the other building, one cant say if it was a day or night
Reviewed December 29, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
adam from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in September 2018
great location a few minutes from everything”
Good staff ad great location just a few minutes walk from everything, relatively quiet. There is some building works going on in buildings around the hotel (Oct 2018) but this was never particularly bothersome. The pool on the roof is minuscule and there is very little shade but its a welcome break from the beach. If I was to go to Patong again, I would stay here.
Reviewed October 12, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Adam from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in August 2018
friendly and professional”
Only stayed for a week with another mate. We checked in @10:30pm and wasn't any problem and check was quick. I booked 2 rooms and they were next to each other which was awesome, didn't have to ask. Staff were very friendly and professional. Rooms are spotless and beds are comfortable. Cleaners were friendly and did a great job cleaning the room and fresh towels daily. Roof top pool is a little small but every time we used it was only us, so happy days. Nice little restaurant next to reception. Food was aroy! We had a late flight and was able to get late check-out for 100bht per hour:) didn't have to pay for extra night.. Location is perfect, close to everything but still quiet at night. Well done Patong Hemingway, I'll be returning.
Reviewed August 23, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Kristian from Finland
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018
Very good location!”
This hotel is located very close to Bangla and all the action but yet we had a very quite room! Nice roof top pool and decent breakfast. Highly recommended!
Reviewed January 04, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Christian from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Pleasant relief from the chaos”
I'm not a big fan of the chaos and noise of the Patong/Bangla area, but was there to catch up with a good, long-time friend. Thankfully I found this little hotel that was far enough from the nightlife for a getway. Amenities were decent and the room was perfectly comfortable.
Reviewed May 02, 2018
5.6
Julia from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
Room was tidy but the pool facilities and restaurant is dated and the buffet is extremely limited”
The staff were very friendly and helpful, however the hotel was very aged, especially the rooftop pool area, and the buffet breakfast was limited with choice with hot food always cold even when going to breakfast early. The hotel is a stones throw from Bangla Road which would be convenient for those wanting simply a bed to crash and and east walking distance to all the action. Would definitely not recommend though for couples or families looking to relax and unwind.
Reviewed September 30, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Nicholas from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 5 nights in August 2018
Lovely stay”
Lovely most enjoyable stay. Room great , pool area lovely too. All staff very nice and helpful. Did not eat dinner in restaurant but restaurant looks very nice and breakfast was good. Will more than likely stay here again next time.....⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Reviewed September 05, 2018
7.2
Very good
danny from Malaysia
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2018
GREAT LOCATION & TIDY ROOM BUT BAD BREAKFAST”
Is it great location which just beside of Juncelyon shopping mall. Tidy room and nice swimming pool with welcome drink. But breakfast provided is not good enought not worth of the price we paid. With the same price we pay can get more great hotel and breakfast nearby. So is great for stay without breakfast.
Reviewed August 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
jeffrey from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in December 2018
As long if the price is right i will be there. ”
Simple effortable hotel with many options around and all within walking distance.
Reviewed December 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
RUVI from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in November 2018
Great short stay at Patong Hemingway's”
Everything is good..i will stay here again if i come to Phuket again..just the pool bit small..
Reviewed November 21, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Paul from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2018
comfortable hotel stay in Patong”
Clean room but could use some maintenance. Good small balcony. Very good rooftop pool and bar.
Reviewed November 12, 2018
8.4
Excellent
martin from Ireland
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in December 2017
Good quiet location ”
The location was good and quiet , walk around the corner and there was shops and restaurants , then a few mins walk away is bangla road The room was in good condition the only issue i had was i was on the 2nd floor facing the street and i could hear everything going on down on the road , thanfully it wasnt a busy street The bed was very comfortable
Reviewed December 29, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
dean from United Kingdom
Group
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in November 2017
Brilliant Staff”
While in Phuket my friend had an heart attack and sadly passed away, the owner of this hotel Steve and his staff helped us so much I can never thank them enough, Toni who worked at the pool bar and Linda who worked at Hemingway’s silk hotel, you guys are a credit to Hemingway’s, thank you so much!
Reviewed November 25, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Steve from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Great stay, nice room - older style close to Bangla”
It was really worth getting this place. I was offered a mini bus on the ferry from PhiPhi and it took me straight here. It's in a soi just off of. Bangla and pretty quiet despite the proximity,great for amenities. The staff are super polite and helpful, really good English. Room was lovely with really good bathroom. Although window was direct onto another window. Pool is nice but was closed for a private event for one night.
Reviewed November 23, 2017
8.8
Excellent
Adam from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in May 2017
not bad”
not a bad hotel, staff friendly and good location. Room was clean. Pool and bar closed very early. Ask for a room with balcony, didn't get one was told there was none available even though seem to be only 3 people staying there. Oh yeah the bed was comfortable for Thai standards..
Reviewed June 27, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
barry from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in March 2017
Perfect stay”
Everything about this hotel is great, nice rooftop pool, great restaurant which serves beautiful Thai cuisine and also full English breakfast. The staff are very helpful, I had a problem with my baggage being delayed and they assisted me and made phone calls to ensure my baggage arrived safely. Many thanks for a great stay.
Reviewed April 01, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Karl from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in October 2016
Location Location”
Always good to stay here. Location is close to Bangla Road and Jungceylon Shopping Centre. Easy to walk everywhere and many good places to eat close buy also. Quiet location as its just off Soi Sansabai Road.WiFi was great also.
Reviewed November 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
Marilyn from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2016
Great Location”
Great location, clean and spacious room. The bed is big and comfortable. Value for money. Buffet breakfast is good. Room for improvement: the pool should be open early and even late night. I closes like around 9pm or 10pm... sad
Reviewed November 05, 2016
9.6
Exceptional
Gary from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in October 2016
so close to everything”
hot little thai girls just down the street, music thrumming not far away but far enough to not disturb a pleasant interlude in well appointed room... nice place for short time or long, romance is everywhere.
Reviewed October 19, 2016
9.2
Exceptional
Kahlil from Philippines
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Freezing air conditioning system, excellent location and accommodating staff ”
The 3 days and 2 nights came swiftly for I didn't notice that my stay on this hotel is coming to an end. It was in between, what I call Bachelor's haven and family haven in Patong beach. It was a few meters away from one of the main attractions of Patong, the Bangla walking street and also a few meters away from experiencing a wholesome family get away. What I really like about the hotel was its closeness to the affordable food choices and affordable gift shops. True, the alcohol and liquor is expensive in the bars but there are alternatives to it that are near to this hotel. A word of advice, better have the pest exterminators visit the hotel, I saw a cockroach or two during my stay, but still this hotel has may recommended gesture.
Reviewed September 01, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
barry from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 9 nights in June 2016
Great hotel”
The standard of this hotel is unbelievable for the price, very clean, friendly and helpful staff, nice room, the hotel restaurant and bar very good, food is of a high standard, there is also a rooftop pool and bar which is great. The location is very close to junccelyon shopping centre, and banzaan night market is only few minute walk, it is very close to the action of bangla but situated in a quiet road so it's still quiet at night. Perfect. See you again.
Reviewed July 03, 2016
8.4
Excellent
David from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Value for money.”
The hotel is centrally located (5 minutes from Bangla road and 10 minutes from the beach). For what you pay, the rooms are very well equipped - air con, TV, safe, clean bed. The swimming pool is small but nice for a sundowner. Would and will stay again.
Reviewed April 11, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
Peter from United Kingdom
Business traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in January 2016
Friendliest staff in Phuket”
I recently stayed for a week at the hotel and was extremely happy with the booking. The location was great, only a short walk to the beach. It was on the edge of the nightlife area, so no bother with revellers. The room was very spacious and not the generic hotel room feel at all. The staff were excellent, so friendly and always having conversations with me, not just the usual greeting. I will definitely be back here in April
Reviewed January 29, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Mark from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in December 2015
A very pleasant stay. Thank you.”
Roof top pool. Staff, Room.
I enjoyed my stay at the hotel very much. Well worth it in my opinion. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. The roof top pool is really nice, with a bar serving drinks and food. The breakfast is very good also with a good variety and selection of meals and snacks. It is in a nice walking distance from Bangla road and the beach but not too close.
Reviewed January 17, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Gabriel from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 11 nights in December 2015
Good choice for the price”
Price, location, cleanliness
The hotel was great for the price. Was there at peak Christmas season so even better if it is cheaper at other times. Overall impressed with the quality of the amenities and cleanliness of the hotel. Some areas of improvement would be the king bed which was two singles zipped together, older, threadbare towels that stood in contrast to some newer, fluffy towels sometimes available. My biggest complaint was the nearly unusable Internet connection. I was never able to connect my laptop to it and the phone kept dropping out constantly. It seemed the Internet connection itself was fine, but there was some issue with the setup of the hotel. Bought a local SIM for Internet in the end.
Reviewed January 04, 2016
9.0
Exceptional
Jarl from Norway
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 15 nights in September 2015
Value for money”
1.Staff, the were very friendly. 2. Location, close to ev'rything, but quit in the night. 3. Big room.
I loved the way the staff was, very kindhearted and helpful. Always a smile and good chat. I didn't eat at hotel, but they have 24h roomservice, witch you can order food. The room was cleaned every day, new towels and amenenties. Would go back again.
Reviewed September 22, 2015
8.3
Excellent
TERENCE from Singapore
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Getaway in Phuket”
Polite Hotel Staff, Well Located, Cleaniness
My stay in Hotel Hemingways was fantastic. The hotel staff was very friendly and made friends with us. Being it located near shopping mall and Bangla Road, ideal place to stay. Only issue is the safe lock is not working is some rooms.
Reviewed August 14, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Norman from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Construction across the street”
Staff, cleanliness and location
Same high standards as past stays, however there is a condo being built across the street making their sister hotel Hemingway Silk a better location until the construction is completed. It is only a few blocks away.
Reviewed July 13, 2015
9.3
Exceptional
Sacha from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 12 nights in June 2015
Perfect stay...cannot wait to return!”
The staff, location & hotel amenities
I was absolutely delighted to finally stay at this property during late June & early July. The photos published on agoda.com are as exactly how the hotel is presented. A firm, but most comfortable king-size bed with 4 cosy pillows was awaiting in my Superior room. It was accompanied by an adequate air conditioning system, clean bathroom & shower of suitable water pressure & temperature.An ample selection of cable channels offered on the flatscreen TV, with in room electronic safe & access to a quaint balcony also. Efficient wifi offered throughout the hotel. The location is perfectly placed no doubt, within couple of minutes walk next to the Jungceylon shopping centre. A few minutes further down to Bangla Rd. & onto Patong Beach is within easy reach as well. Yes, there is ongoing construction occurring during the daytime, across the soi from the premises. But it is of no real great disturbance whilst in room, or up on the 8th floor rooftop pool area (of which is a delightful & relaxing retreat) sun loungers are aplentiful there, so to dining settings & also barstools (to catch your favourite sports on the poolbar TV). However, what really makes the hotel a 'must (repeat) stay' choice is the amazing staff employed by the Hemingway's group. Very quiet & respectful, but also most friendly & welcoming at the same time also. Forever a 'smile on their dial' & always an accompanying & most genuine greeting offered. What a wealth of local information & assistance with any requirements that one may have (hotel or travel related). being of delightful service & an expert cocktail mixmaster at the poolbar. Foor supervisor & her lovely housekeeping staff also, for always attending to any in room needs & leaving my sleeping quarters both spotless & fresh each day. A big thank you once again.
Reviewed July 10, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Glenn from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in May 2015
Good location and comfortable hotel.”
Location, Bedding, Clean.
Hotel is clean by Western standards. Close to major shopping. Close to Banglar Road (drinking area). This is the fourth time I have stayed at Patong Hemingway. Keep in mind there are other hotels with similar names so make sure you book the right one. You can walk to all services you might need in about 3 minutes. Super clean hotel. My partner is Thai and she was given a bit of suspect treatment when she tried to enter the hotel without me, but you kind of expect that in this area of Thailand. Breakfast was great for 4 star. Plenty of construction across the road (May 2015) but they start and stop at reasonable hours. This is my first choice if I can get the room for about 1000 - 1500THB a night.
Reviewed June 09, 2015
10.0
Exceptional
Paul from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in April 2015
Brilliant apart from noisy construction”
Location staff food
The room I had was good . Every thing about the hotel was wonderfull .staff were brilliant could not do enough for you. The only thing that let it down was the noisy construction of a hotel opposite & getting bitten. By flys at breakfast .
Reviewed May 01, 2015
9.0
Exceptional
Rita from Hungary
Family with young children
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Perfect location”
good location, value for money, nice stuff
the location is really good, quite close to the beach, close to night life, but not so much so it would be disturbing. We were there in February 2015. and there is construction site just in front of the hotel, where they are working from 8.00 to 16.00. So if you spend the day on the beach its not that bed, but forget the afternoon nap, or sleeping late in the morning. However our 4 years old son extremly enjoyed watching the construction from the rooftop pool side :) At 16.00 they stop working so in the evening its very quiet. If we go back to Patong, we will stay there again.
Reviewed February 20, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Bill from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in July 2014
Friendly Staff, Close to everything”
Friendly Staff, Close to everything, Rooftop pool with bar
Overall, the hotel is pretty good. The rooms were clean and comfortable. My only gripe is the water pressure of the showers. It was finnicky. Sometimes it was decent and at other times it was very weak. I thought the staff here was EXCELLENT. Many hotels at this price point in Phuket tend not to have a very customer oriented staff. The staff here were very friendly and very helpful. During my stay, there was work being done across the hotel which was pretty noisy starting around 7am. I can't really fault the hotel for this. It's not their fault that there's work nearby. Not sure what kind of work they were actually doing and when it will be done. The rooftop pool is small but very nice and relaxing. Plus there's a bar up there next to the pool as well.
Reviewed July 20, 2014
8.0
Excellent
lyn from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in April 2014
good location and friendly staff”
able to walk to the beach (15mins), close to Jungceylon, friendly staff
We enjoyed our stay here. Very close to Jungceylon shopping center.Also able to walk to the Banzan market even though the road was bad due to roadworks. We could walk to the beach straight down bangla road taking about 15 minutes which is probably as far as you would want to be away from the beach if thats what you like to do. The hotel was very pleasant. A quiet soi (lane) one street back from the main road so not very much noise. We found the staff very helpful and pleasant. Location was good for us. The breakfast was good. Eggs, sausages, fruit, and also usually a Chinese style dish. We ate at the hotel restaurant several times and the food and service were very good. Overall a good family run hotel if you prefer something a bit more personal than a 15 story highrise. Good value for money..would stay here again.
Reviewed June 27, 2014
8.3
Excellent
richard from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
great value for money”
breakfast, location,friendly staff
We arrived and found the hotel in a great location; 10 minutes walk to the beach, 5 minute walk to shops, bars and restaurants. Quiet hotel with great food at a great price. Be sure to get up for the buffee breakfast with real good quality back bacon. Its amazing, i ate more moneys worth of bacon than my room cost!
Reviewed June 12, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Kong from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
Great stay! ”
Centrally located, affordable rates , friendly and attentive staff
Although close to entertainment outlets the hotel was exceptionally quiet. Bed was comfortable and allow for good rest. Wi-fi speed was good. Staff was friendly not forgetting to smile each time. Would recommend anytime.
Reviewed May 14, 2014
8.3
Excellent
Toshihiko from Japan
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 1 night in March 2014
Excellent ”
Quiet, Attentive Staff, Good Location
Staff tried to their best for me to arrange a 1 day trip to Similan island, scuba diving, Ko Phi Phi etc and airport transportation. I was very comforatbale with their hospitality. Free internet service at lobby was also very helpful for me.
Reviewed April 13, 2014
8.7
Excellent
Esequiel from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in September 2013
Nice little hotel off the main road”
Location, quiet area, attentive staff
I had a great stay here at the Patong Hemingway. It is in a great spot because it is on the main walk towards Bangla road, or a short walk to the Jungcylon Mall. Short distance to the beach, massage spas, laundry, and bars. Great restaurants and bars all around. I have been coming to Patong for years and i try to stay away from the larger name brand hotels and stay at the nicer smaller hotels. This hotel falls into one I would use again.
Reviewed February 19, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Liew from Malaysia
Family with teens
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Great location and comfortable room”
Great location, clean room and free high speed internet
The hotel's location is superb. It is located very close to Jungceylon shopping mall, Bangla road and Phuket beach, yet tucked away from the main road so it was really quiet during the night. The room is clean with a big and comfortable bed, and was decorated nicely, just like in the pictures. There is also free wifi throughout the hotel which was great. The breakfast buffet does not have a lot choices but is adequate. Staff is attentive and friendly. Overall, we had a great stay.
Reviewed December 27, 2013
10.0
Exceptional
James from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in November 2013
The best vacation I've had.”
Food, location, and fast internet
Simply wonderful. Best restaurant of any hotel I've been to. HOT water with lots of pressure for a great shower. Super friendly staff. Great location for Patong beach. I just rented a motorbike and had a wonderful week of vacation.
Reviewed December 06, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Wee from Singapore
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
enjoyable”
location, location and location
room was clean and centrally located. Reception was helpful and despite it been near to bars and pubs, it was far away enough to get a good nights rest. The nearest convenience store was a minute walk away.
Reviewed October 23, 2013
8.0
Excellent
Johnny from Indonesia
Group
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
easy access to main atttraction”
location, value for money, wifi in room
the location of the hotel was hard to find for the first time, since it was located in an alley and got no sign or anything to show its location. you got to ask the local people to find its location. but you will love the location once you found it. most main attraction in the area are within walking distance. and most of all is the price you paid, i found it was the best deal compare to others in this area.
Reviewed September 26, 2013
9.3
Exceptional
Max from Switzerland
Group
Superior
Stayed 13 nights in February 2013
nice hotel, super service”
nice staff, hotel very cleaned and a beautifull pool
it was very quied, a pleasant place. near shopping center and near nightlife. every day cleaned room very good. the staff was friendly and smiled every time. nice location and a beautifull pool and bar. i was very very happy. i come again thanks a lot and see you.
Reviewed March 05, 2013
8.7
Excellent
Christopher from United States
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in October 2012
Great bang for the buck”
Conveniently located, nice clean and spacious rooms, friendly service
Hemingway's hotel is great value. You won't get a great view from the window, but you do get a large clean room with a comfortable bed, and it's right up close and personal to the wild Patong nightlife. If you want affordable luxury, this is the place.
Reviewed November 20, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Simon from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in October 2012
Great hotel in the heart of Patong”
right near bangla rd
A great basic but clean hotel. Staff are all friendly and rooms are good. However, ask for a street view room, as the other side of the hotel is very close to another building. Will be staying again.
Reviewed November 14, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Roger from New Zealand
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in October 2012
Quiet hotel yet so close to Bangla Road.”
Convenient. Good breakfast.
The hotel is within a 5 minute stroll to both Bangla Road and The Junceylon Shopping Mall. The rooms are compact but have good amenities and are clean and functional. The restaurant where breakfast is taken is charming and the food of good quality with several choices. Check in and out was efficient and the staff helpful. A good choice if you want to be near the action but in a quiet boutique hotel.
Reviewed November 08, 2012
8.3
Excellent
stephen from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2012
excellent location,with friendly staff.”
Good location,great breakfast.
The hotel is located in a quiet back street, about 2 minutes walk to the night life areas and Jungceylon shopping mail.The only negative is that it is 7 minutes to the beach. The receptionist was friendly with a good command of English,and all the room cleaning staff and waitresses were always helpful. Breakfast was buffet style and the closest thing I've come accross to a "full english breakfast" in Thailand-excellent! The rooms were clean and modern,the only bad point I encountered was difficulty connecting to the internet and slow speeds. Overall a very good hotel.
Reviewed October 28, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Toby from United Kingdom
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in August 2012
Great hotel with great staff”
Good Location, Nice staff, Rooftop bar and pool and nice breakfast
Myself my girlfriend and another friend had three nights at Patong Hemmingways and I was very happy with my stay. It's walking distance to Bangla. About 5 mins. The room is clean, a nice big flatscreen TV and had a small balcony. The rooftop pool with bar is a great place to chill out in the afternoon. We had 3 days of rain so just went up to the roof had a few beers and watched the rain go bye. The breakfast is good with real back bacon and sausages. It's also served until 1030 which is good if you've had a late night. The staff at check in, bars and at breakfast are happy and helpful. Honestly I could not fault it for 24 gbp a great price.
Reviewed September 29, 2012
9.7
Exceptional
NEIL from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in September 2012
very good hotel nice rooms”
very central ,newish hotel and nice roof pool
i had a great stay but I must say it was not long enough , I took a 3 day break from Bali but the early flight from Phuket made it hard to enjoy the last night ...in general it was great but not long enough.
Reviewed September 13, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Gregory from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in August 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile”
Location
Nice clean room but the shower take's a couple of hours for the water to go down the drain and the bar staff are not the best in the afternoon as you tell them the meal you want, a solo meal so they have 50/50 to get it right but they still get it wrong.
Reviewed September 11, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Andrew from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 20 nights in July 2012
Comfortable hotel and all the staff were friendly”
Great value for being in centre of town
had a wonderful 3 weeks at hemingways. steve, nuch and all the staff took great care. the hotel is minutes from bangla and the major shopping centre..junceylon. for being so close to all the action, it was surprisingly quite. recommend the hotel highly and will be definately staying next time i am in town.
Reviewed August 12, 2012
8.7
Excellent
kah from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Great location and service with a smile”
best features of the hote
great location and a great hotel! rooms are clean and surprisingly well appointed. the ambience creates a very relaxed atmosphere which is enhanced with the friendly staffs “can do” and professional attitude. the hotel is situated very close to the local attractions and the beach, while also avoiding the main street,if i were to choose the best feature of this hotel it would have to be the roof top pool and bar, a fantastic place to relax and unwind if the short walk to the beach is a little too much for you. can’t wait to go back.
Reviewed July 08, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Odracir from Philippines
Couple
Superior
Stayed 1 night in May 2012
Great location but some features needed change”
Great location! 3 minutes to shopping center; 6 mins to the beach
great location! 3 mins to jung ceylon and about 6 mins to the beach. pros i also like that this is a family-owned hotel so the service is is warm and friendly and they will assist in every way they can. cons being a family-owned hotel, the owner takes the keys when he leaves. our in-room safe wasn't working and wouldn't open. the reception said the owner has the key to the safe and he has left. we couldn't access our personal belongings until the next day.
Reviewed May 18, 2012
8.0
Excellent
Ulrich from Germany
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
New hotel”
Location
Small new hotel in a side street of Soi Sensabai, so near to JungCeylon and nightlife on Bangla, but quiet. Small rooms, but with effective, nice furniture – far beyond the typical guesthouses in this street. Housekeeping nice, but a little bit basic. My room had a balcony, but just 1m way from the next wall. Same relaxed guest policy as its sister hotel Hemingway Hotel near Bazaan market.
Reviewed April 16, 2012
9.0
Exceptional
Carl from Sweden
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile”
location
the location of the hotel is great. it´s only short walk from jungceylon shoppingcenter where you can find very good stores and restaurants. it is in the middle of everything, you walk down soi bangla to get to the beach, just a short walk. on that street you can find the nightlife as well. you got the shopping, the nightlife and the beach very close. i liked the hotel.
Reviewed March 03, 2012
8.7
Excellent
Glenn from Australia
Group
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in November 2011
Great location, quiet enough, comfy rooms.”
walking distance to banglar.
this hotel is about a 5 minute walk to banglar road so it is a great place to stay. the rooftop pool is great if that is your thing. staff are ok, they stay out of your way most of the time, and from banglar to the hotel there are plenty of places to eat and drink. downstairs in the hotel restaurant the food is really good and i think 24 hours. i've stayed in 6 different places after my 11 trips in 3 years. i'll be going back to the patong hemingway for sure. it just ticks all the boxes by way of locality, privacy, price and comfort level.
Reviewed February 08, 2012
7.2
Very good
Brian from New Zealand
Couple
Superior
Stayed 9 nights in November 2018
Great Value but...”
Great breakfasts, not a wide selection (1 Thai dish + bacon + sausages + eggs + cereal/toast), but what’s there is really good for the cost of the hotel. Likewise the location is excellent, as it’s right next to the shopping mall and soi bangla, but down a side soi so isn’t noisy at all. We had a problem with our aircon on one night, advised the staff and they were able to provide us with a fan then fixed it the next day (they offered to fix it that night but we told them we were tired so a fan would do). Great service. However, the hotel across the road (gig) fumigated on the 2nd day we were there and ever the room would be literally crawling with roaches when we arrived back each day. We’d see 10+ in the first 10 minutes after arriving each day, although most would hide once we were in the room for a while. We know it’s likely due to the fumigation from gig, & there are always roaches in Asia, it’s the climate, but this was a major downside of an otherwise awesome hotel.
Reviewed December 11, 2018
6.0
Ivan from Singapore
Solo traveler
Suite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Hotel good for value”
My overall stay at the hotel is quite good except for the shower. The water pressure is small and the water is either cold or too hot, no matter how I adjust, the water is too hot to bath in and the water coming out of it is too small. Hopefully the shower will improve. Overall the stay is still quite good.
Reviewed July 12, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Cynthia from United States
Family with teens
Stayed 7 nights in April 2018
First time in Thailand”
The Patong Hemingway is right in the heart of Patong Beach entertainment area steps away from the Bangla Walk. It is probably more appropriate for the younger crowd than this sixty something couple and mid forties daughter but we had the nicest experience ever. Would still see as a base while visiting other islands on day trips. The hotel meets all basic requirements. It is small and located on a tiny off street. Though not a luxury facility, the staff is top shelf. We have never felt so honored to be guests here. Everyone from desk staff, to roof pool bartender to the great waitstaff in the adjoining restaurant and bar were so sweet, accommodating and respectful. Be prepared for some minor inconveniences (wonky phone, poor tv reception, staff has to get you ice) but don’t let it deter you from staying here. It is the best value with excellent, hard working, gracious staff who we will miss !
Reviewed April 15, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ron from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Can't be beat in Patpong Area!”
Right off the main drag in Patpong, but just around quiet enough of a corner, it's in a perfect location. The staff is incredible, especially Fel (pronounced 'Phil'), the primary front-desk clerk. There's a rooftop pool with bar, the rooms are spacious and clean, the elevator is efficient, and the money is very well spent. So much is within walking distance, you can fill an entire week exploring by foot. However, the area around Patpong is SUPER CRAZY and congested, so be warned if you're a first-time visitor looking to relax. Other areas in Phuket will offer more relaxation. None will offer more to discover though, and the Hemingway is a great base of operations for sightseeing.
Reviewed March 21, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Daniella from Australia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 5 nights in February 2018
Walking distance to main places ”
- plenty of foods stalls and walking distance to Bangla road and Juncelyon - tucked away in a side street from the hustle and bustle of noise - very small pool, however patong beach is a small walk or catch tuk tuk to other beaches
Reviewed February 17, 2018
6.4
Good
Mohd from Malaysia
Couple
Suite
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Good”
Pros. Good location quiet but close to the action Convenient, everything is downstairs. Cons. Overbooked hotel, paid for a suite got the supperior. When confronted the front desk was very unprofessional and told me to call agoda regarding the matter, which i did and agoda sorted it at once. The hotel compensated with a dinner set and my room was ready the following day. But still. (thank you agoda) The supperior room 604 was good just had bad water pressure and heater wasn’t functioning. The suite 405 had baby cockroaches. I Kid you not. Everything else was okay. Breakfast very basic.
Reviewed February 10, 2018
4.4
Adila from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
Just ok”
Not value for money. The bed just like rock. Not provide halal breakfast. Can rent motobike nearby. Very busy area at night.
Reviewed December 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
James from Australia
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 7 nights in October 2018
Excellent location and Staff”
Budget accommodation very close to the nightlife. Yet in a quiet lane so little noise. Staff were excellent. Staying on your own and on a budget this is ideal.
Reviewed October 20, 2018
8.8
Excellent
rubirosa from Malaysia
Group
Superior
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018
straregic, clean and cheap”
highly recommed... cheap... near to jongceylon mall, bangzaan market, bangla road... clean
Reviewed October 10, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Ethan from United States
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 6 nights in July 2018
The bed is all that matters”
Check all my reviews and you'll see this is most important to me. The beds were very comfy and not too hard as many in Asia are.
Reviewed July 30, 2018
6.4
Good
Han from Malaysia
Couple
Superior
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
Good location but service so so!”
The hotel is wothout car park that not match in agoda show! Event rent the motorcycle also not available for parking! The hotel communication also poor!
Reviewed January 03, 2019
6.8
Good
Daniel from Canada
Solo traveler
Superior
Stayed 10 nights in September 2018
Convenient location to Bangla Road and surprisingly quiet for being so close”
The pros are that is close to Bangla road and the price is good. Cons are that the shower water temperature fluctuates a lot (annoying), the ac unit was very loud. If you pay for the continental breakfast be ready to be disappointed, no variety and things that should be keep warm were always cold unless you got there at 7am when it first opened.
Reviewed September 28, 2018