Book Now: Phi Phi Sunset Bay Resort

Very good
From 177 reviewsSee what guests said
7.4
/
10
Recommended by 90% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (177)Booking.com Reviews (1107)
7.4
/
10
Very good
From 177 reviews
Cleanliness7.5
Facilities8.3
Location7.7
Room comfort and quality7.4
Service8.1
Value for money7.5
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (177)
Showing 166 verified guest comments
8.0
Excellent
Mark from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 5 nights in September 2018
Good quiet location, staff very friendly”
Loved the stay. All the staff were helpful and although it is a 20 minute walk to town they have a free taxi boat which adds to the experience. Also were given a full free dinner which was a good gesture. Breakfast and restaurant is a little limited (no green/red Thai curry but we didn't ask) although the prices are similar to that in the town but you do seem to get a bit more. Overall we would love to stay here again. The view from our room (11) was very pleasant watching the sunset every night.
Reviewed September 30, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
GANESH from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
Awsm place to stay ”
Pros: 1. Place , simply awesome 2. Nice staff 3. Hotel itself have very good view point 4. In jungle , have to walk 10 min out of town . Calm place to stay . If anyone difficult for walk , then this is not the place . Cons: 1. Food items , very limited items and costlier than town 2. Trips cost also high
Reviewed September 15, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Alys from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
Brilliant location & price to fully enjoy Phi Phi without the noise(!) ”
When we arrived at the pier, having done little research but aware we weren't on the doorstep, it was a god send to find a member of staff stood with a Phi Phi Sunset Bay sign ready to take us to their longtail boat & over to the resort. They run hourly boats into Phi Phi town in the morning & back in afternoon which, aside from arrival, departure & to get us to an around the island snorkel trip, we didn't use as the walk was less than 20 mins to town & with a good bar (the Sunflower) to stop off at on route (happy hours particularly good as includes cheap beer rather than just cocktails). Staff were brilliant, couldn't do enough to help. Hut was basic, as described & expected, but perfectly clean and no critter issues (we did take a can of roach spray & mozzy coils, as to be expected in huts, but were pleasantly surprised by the lack of roaches). We found it a really good base for Phi Phi, allowing us to get away from the town noise, but be close enough to enjoy. Highly recommend
Reviewed November 17, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Paulina
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
Exceptional”
Amazingly nice and helpful stuff, clean rooms, breathtaking viwe from the balcony, tasty breakfast, unpopulated small beach close to the resort. Only one minus at the night you can hear the music from the clubs form the center, ear plugd worked for us :). Def would come back there :)
Reviewed November 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
jeremy from Australia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Exceptional”
Heaven on earth. We loved this place. You need to walk out of town to get there but they also have a free boat to pick you up and take you into town. The wooden bungalows are charming and about as comfortable as any 3 or 3 star hotel and still manage to keep the Robinson Crusoe feeling. You see sunset over the bay. Free breakfast and they serve decent dinners. Also kayaks for rent. It’s glorious . I would return to PhiPhi just to stay here again
Reviewed May 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Kirk from Canada
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Romantic and Gorgeous”
I can’t say enough good things about Sunset. The team is amazing and the views are spectacular. Phi Phi is a bustling place but things slow down here and the action is a short stroll or free long boat ride away. Close to the 5 star food and massages, tours or charters to beach and aquatics. There’s so much to do but the rooms are so nice and sunsets so spectacular. I suggest heading back to the resort to chill on your balcony or go for an afternoon sunset on the hotel patio. Very Zen. And you’re also well rested for the late night party
Reviewed March 28, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Dorota from Slovakia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2017
Very nice people and beautiful view from balcony”
Room is very nice, tidy and view is stunnig. No wifi in rooms and just cold water in shower. Free shuttle boat from town is going several times per days or you can easily walk. All staff is very friendy and willcoming. They provide also free breakfast (everyday same however very tasty) , rent kayak and also you can order few meals for lunch/dinner. Recommended mainly for couples :)
Reviewed January 08, 2017
8.0
Excellent
CHAWALIT from Thailand
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2013
Lovely hotel and service with a smile”
best features of the hotel
we saw the most gorgeous sunsets ever from this bungalow. you can see the bay from the balcony. getting to and from this hotel is somewhat difficult, but it is still fairly close to all the beach bars and restaurants while feeling more remote. we did not hear much noise.
Reviewed January 13, 2013
2.0
Rhiannon from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Nightmare ”
The most horrific place I have ever stayed and I have even travelling for 6 months now. Dirty, full of insects with half built dirt steps up to the shacks. To add to to the inconvenience you have to catch a boat to the main part of the island and back - which in our case didn't turn up and left us stranded, devoureved by mosquitoes and sunburnt. The staff were rude about this incident and shouted at us. If you think you might stay here because it's 'a little away from the party' thinking it will be quieter, think again, you can hear the music at 2am through ear plugs. We cut our losses and checked out 2 days early taking bedbugs with us. This place ruined our stay on phi phi - do yourself a favour and do not stay here.
Reviewed May 29, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Silvia from Estonia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Amazing stay”
I really recommend this place. It is a bit of a climb to the rooms but it is definately worth it as you will have a stunning view from the room. It is approximately 10-15 minute walk to the main area but at least it is quiet. Bunglows are clean and comfortable.
Reviewed April 16, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Polina from Russia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in February 2018
Quiet and soulful place”
stayed for 3 days. We had a new bungalow: a large comfortable bed, hot water, a balcony, a beautiful view, a shower without a ceiling and with a window, it's very cool, you feel like you are in the jungle. but the house is uncomfortable to climb, there is no stairs, climbing the path, it's good that we had light backpacks. the attitude of the staff is very emotional, they help in everything, they meet you with a sign in the port, the boat runs on schedule for free. you can go for a small fee to any nearby beach. we took a kayak. You can also take a boat with a driver for Maya Bay and Bamboo for 2, 4 or 6 hours. wifi only at the reception, there you can eat with a view of the sunset, prices are acceptable, the food is delicious. walk can be reached from the village, but the road for us is not very easy, at night we need to take a lantern. in the evening there are mosquitoes, because next to the jungle, and better use repellent. here we had a great time and slept very good, Music from the disco is not audible. I hope we will return here again. Thanks for the hospitality.
Reviewed March 09, 2018
7.6
Very good
Silvia from Spain
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in July 2018
really romantic spot and friendly staff”
we really like the hotel and the staff. you have to walk around 20 min to the city but it's worthit as the views are amazing.
Reviewed August 01, 2018
8.0
Excellent
colleen from Australia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Very good”
A fridge and kettle in the room would have been useful. Expensive for a basic room but all of Phi Phi was expensive
Reviewed April 03, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Intan from Malaysia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in March 2018
Highly recommended ”
Worth for every single penny... Beautiful view, polite staff, close to nature... 20 min walk to beach party but we ok with that...
Reviewed March 30, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Artur from Poland
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Excellent”
Beautiful place to stay. Transfer from/to ferry included Clean and nice rooms. fresh water and breakfast every day. Very helpfull staff. You can order private trip or rent kayak. Beach with rocks. Watch out for loundry service.. quick,but with some damages on clothes 😔
Reviewed November 20, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Judit from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in July 2017
No words can describe this hidden beauty”
I booked this hotel for 2 nights , when I arrived my mouth stayed open . I never saw an untouchable hidden gem before , my first question was how long I can stay ? I booked an extra 2 days because the room was booked after that . The owner and the whole staff is super kind , great , lovely people . They helped me with all of my wishes . The room is speak by itself , if you want to relax this is a perfect place for you . The town is super close , I walked every day there however I don't wanted leave this breathtaking little gem . I'm already planning to bring my family here next year ! Thank you so much for everything!! Judit From USA
Reviewed July 19, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Lorena from Argentina
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in February 2017
Best place ever! Paradise!”
I have not words that can describe the place and the people there! Super friendly, they do the best to accommodate your needs, excellent view, the cabins where awesome and the natural sounds around are just magic! We are defenelly coming back and recommend this place! If you are lay back even better. Is not hot water there, but we didn't care since is too hot weather!!
Reviewed February 18, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Marta from Poland
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 9 nights in November 2016
Best place to stay!”
We stayed there 9 days and it started to feel like home. Place is runned by wonerful, kind and sweet people. The food is delicious, best we found on the island. Rooms are very nice, cosy, clean and the terrace is just ideal to sit, rest and watch the view. The place is located a bit further than the rest of the hotels but it's really an advantage, You don't have to hear all the people all the time but the waves and birds instead and if You want to go to the city You just walk about 10minutes or take the boat. If You want to feel Phi Phi's atmosphere and not just get drunk (You of course can too ;)) it's the Best place to chose.
Reviewed November 16, 2016
10.0
Exceptional
PEDRO from Australia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in April 2016
Amazing view”
Beautiful place, very different than boring hotels. Restaurant with delicious fish nearby and proximity to paradise monkey beach (possible to go there by kayak). The only disadvantage is loud music coming from beach bars but as someone already wrote, nothing can be done about it.
Reviewed April 07, 2016
8.4
Excellent
sonia from Spain
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Fantastic little place but hidden”
Lovely bungalows with open shower and amazing view over the bay. Staff very friendly. Location is good and bad, good because it is quieter as you hardly heard the noisy phi phi parties but bad because it is one of the last resorts on the right hand side of the beach. Good thing is that you have free boat transfer to the beach everytime you want. I wish I've had know this on our arrival trying to find the place with all the backpacks!! read the description and check in at the hotel inn, they will send a boat to take you for free to the hotel. Cleaninless could be better, I mean, it was clean but they don't do the room everyday, but hey this is Thailand!! I would come back Un sitio muy chulo, con casitas estilo Thai y ducha al aire libre. El ventilador daba fresquito y como hay mucha vegetacion no nos ahogamos de calor. Esta un poco apartado pero tienes transporte gratis a la playa a todas horas hasta las 10 pm
Reviewed March 31, 2016
8.3
Excellent
Phil from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
Nice spot”
Location Location location
Nice spot ,but yes noisy of a night ,take ear plugs because can be noisey,doof doof music till the early hours . Food ok ,great spot great views ,beer could be colder !!!!!! Didn't find the longboat travel an issue,so pretty good all round ,pleasant staff !!!!
Reviewed February 04, 2015
8.0
Excellent
Triin from Estonia
Family with teens
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in March 2014
Basic, natural”
close to nature, peaceful, breathtaking view
Peaceful and pleasant. Staff is friendly and nice. Everything in the room is old and worn, but decently clean. It's not luxury hotel - no hot water, no air conditioning, occasional electricity disruptions. But if you are looking for naturalistic experience, it's perfect place.
Reviewed March 25, 2014
9.0
Exceptional
Jessica from Australia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Great staff and beautiful view”
The friendly staff and adjacent bar. The view from the room. The quiet location.
We had a great time. The staff were wonderful and very friendly. There is a great bar next to the rooms with food and drinks/cocktails and lots of entertainment. We were far enough from the main area not to feel surrounded by tourists and loud noise but a very quick and easy boat ride to the main area to access restaurants, parties, shops and activities when we wanted. We would definitely stay here again!
Reviewed February 23, 2014
8.0
Excellent
Robert from Slovakia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Phi Phi Sunset Bay resort stay”
view, the room/bungallow itself, stuff
We stayed in the Bay Resort for 3 days. It was lovely. The bungalows are nice and confortable, you have everything what you need. You have to use boat to get there, but it worked perfectly, without problems and the trip was nice as well. The staff was nice and helpfull always. Just one exception, the noice from one bar on the beach during the night. we would choose it again.
Reviewed December 27, 2013
8.3
Excellent
katrina from Australia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Totally relaxing,isolated and beautiful”
The view,the tree houses mode of transport is a boat
If you want basic thisis it.Room doesnt get cleaned but the view,the mossie net over your bed and the sweet staff make up for it.Very basic breaakie as there is no dining area or reception but getting away from the loud music and bright lights to refresh.You do have to catch a free boat in and out but take 10 mins.You can walk thru bush takes about 15min.Fun if youre up for the escape-staff lovely too.
Reviewed August 19, 2013
8.0
Excellent
leiying from China
Family with teens
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
hidden gem, romantic outdoor, beautiful sunset”
sunset, chalet, traditional thai,boat servise, romantic outdoor area on the bay
pleasant stay, staffs are nice, room was cute, beautiful viewpoint for sunset, romantic outdoor area with relax chairs and swings, good view from the room, cool wood interior,boat service make every trip from or to the resort interesting
Reviewed February 25, 2013
8.3
Excellent
Stacey from United States
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
Treehouse with a view”
view of sunset
we saw the most gorgeous sunsets ever from this bungalow. you can see the bay from the balcony. getting to and from this hotel is somewhat difficult, but it is still fairly close to all the beach bars and restaurants while feeling more remote. we did not hear much noise.
Reviewed December 14, 2012
9.3
Exceptional
Alixe from France
Solo traveler
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 4 nights in February 2012
Lovely hotel and away/hidden in the forest”
Location, private beach, great sunset, breakfast included
i really like this hotel. the room are very well done and big. but as it is in the forest and really hidden into the forest, you should not stay there if you are scared of frogs, slugs, snakes. room has mosquitoes net so i didn't get one bite. great breakfast. as it is so far to walk to, they have a long tail taxi boat free of charge from breakfast time until 10.30pm at night. after that you have to pay 100bath i think. so if you plan to party on the main beach don't pick this hotel.
Reviewed March 01, 2012
8.0
Excellent
TAO from China
Group
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
beautiful hotel”
the best advantage is quite and nice location to see sunset
this is tree house which was my dream about it, everything made for wooden, balcony is big and beautiful, you can enjoy the outside's sincery or relax there. they have the own beach, it's quite and beautiful, the breakfast is also good. you can take a hotel's boat to come and go. the only defect is no hot water.
Reviewed February 02, 2012
8.3
Excellent
Lori from United States
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
Beautiful bunglalows WAY off the beaten path”
adorable bungalows with amazing views of the Ko Phi Phi cove
these bungalows are perfect for couples looking for a romantic spot with a view- on the teeming island of phi phip don, it's difficult to ever feel away from the crowds, but this spot does it! semi rustic, these bungalows offer thai style with some european sensibilities. the down side is, it's very difficult to find on foot, and requires a guide and a little hike down a goat path. more easily accessed by boat, this gets costly to come and go. the only other bad thing is that the cove which it overlooks is shared by the nightclubs and bars well away from the resort. unfortunately, the way sound carries, it sounds as if you're in the clubs with the partiers- bring earplugs, they keep the music thumping til 1 am, i think. loved the outdoor shower- would have loved hot water, too. :)
Reviewed January 16, 2012
10.0
Exceptional
Georg from Austria
Group
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in March 2015
serenity and relaxing times”
at the beach, friendly, relaxed
we had everything we had expected, perfect stay
Reviewed March 27, 2015
7.6
Very good
Shinto from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2017
Great location amazing view ”
Perfect location, just a 10 mins boat ride or 20 mins walk from the loud phi phi town, Free boat service from hotel from 7am to 10 pm(After that you have to pay 100tb). Free breakfast. good homely food.View from my room was just perfect. Good bed and spacious rooms. Problems I faced during my stay was there is no AC and no hot water shower. If you are a hot water guy !! then may be think about another place coz atleast in the nights the water was cold :)
Reviewed January 23, 2017
3.7
Jaclyn from Australia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
So much potential ”
The privacy, the view.
We booked for 3 nights but stayed only one because it was basically glamping with no supplies. We discovered that at other places you could get much more for your money. The advertised transfer boat was not in operation and after walking over 30 mins in the heat we really wanted a beer. There is no fridge, no bar, no snacks, no place to cool down except your cold shower and big mosquitoes so you can't really enjoy the lovely view from the balcony. If they filled up the ocean pool, got the bar and boat operating, cleared the jungle path and removed the piles of rubbish and debris from the beach it could be the best resort on phi phi.
Reviewed August 03, 2015
6.0
Lizahn from South Africa
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
Out of your confort zone”
The view and the nature surrounding you,
This accomodation will not suite everyone but i loved it. You cant drive there, you and your luggage have to take a tailboat accross the turqois waters and then you have to climb a few uneven steps to get to you bungalow. The bungalow is made of wood and bamboo giving it an earthy but not very homey feeling. There is no hot water and only an outside shower, but you dont need a hot shower because it is hot and humid and it is a great feeling showering under the stars. There is no aircon, only a fan which is enough due to the cool breeze at that hight against the hill. The bungallows are located between tropical trees and vegetation, therefore there are insects like centipedes and mosquitos but they are not harmful and a mosquito net ensures a peaceful sleep. The view and peacefulness you experience sitting that portch overlooking the pasific ocean is so amazing, it makes up for the less comfortable things mentioned above. This contribute to a great but "out of your comfort zone" experience - thai style.
Reviewed December 08, 2014
6.7
Good
Nick from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in April 2014
Good choice”
Location, surrounding wildlife, bar
Great location, can't understand comments about noise from the resort as noise from the cicadas was the only real noise! Only down side was the extra bed it said I needed when I booked (3 of us) but this wasn't available when I arrived where they tried to palm me off with a couple of fitness mats as replacement -eventually sorted a mattress for the floor after some discussion which I considered an absolute minimum given the extra I'd paid for a 3rd person. Great bar on sight which also does food. Good water taxi service where they'll go and pick up when you want.
Reviewed April 27, 2014
3.3
Michel from Netherlands
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2014
Never again, sorry”
Extremely noisy, re-used sheets only a great view to compensate
Con's They dont wash sheets when guest Change, we saw it happening in all bungalows. They just hang the sheets on the balcony. Breakfast is An old egg Extremely noisy at night because there is only water between the beach clubs en the hotel No internet Staff very poor English No desk with information in hotel You can't swimm near te hotel. You need to get back into town first. Neutral Hotel is far from town and you need to take a boat to get there or get back. Boat is free but it is a hustle and sometimes need to wait over an hour for the boat. Positive Bungalows are ok Good musquito net Great view
Reviewed February 01, 2014
7.0
Very good
JOSE from Brazil
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 5 nights in December 2013
Very nice and chilling”
by the ocean, quite, and nice staff
The hotel is amazing, it is on the mountain, close to the jungle, right in front phi phi beach. peaceful, quite and chilling. Perfect for couples who like to spend some time with nature.One BAD thing is the fact that I found 2 spiders and 5 scorpions on my room. The staff said it's "normal" due the hotel being on the jungle. But besides that, the hotel is quite nice!
Reviewed January 16, 2014
6.0
Claudie from Canada
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in December 2013
Good quieter location for Ko Phi Phi”
Location, friendly staff, boat service
The location was nice outside of the main city, the setting was also great, you felt like lost in the jungle in a charming hut. The boat service to the main town was very convenient and free. The bad points are no wifi , no restaurant, loud music in the night from town. The rest was okay, overall we recommand this place if visiting Ko Phi Phi.
Reviewed January 13, 2014
5.3
Anthony from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 4 nights in December 2013
Nice bungalows but LOUD”
Room nice, shuttle service, views
DO NOT stay here unless you want to be kept awake all night by thumping dance music. Rooms nice, staff friendly but location AWFUL. Other people said you could hear the music across the bay but I didn't possibly think it would be as loud as it was. Even with ear plugs you could audibly hear the music and base line which travels across the water. It goes on till 3/4am too. Unless you plan to join the party (which was awful/tacky in itself on phi phi) don't stay here. The island is also pretty trashy. Drunken chavs and tattoo parlours.
Reviewed January 05, 2014
7.7
Very good
Lia from Germany
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in November 2013
unique experience, stunning views”
views, romance and the bungalows
Check in at the Phi Phi Inn. Staff is friendly, we waited for a few minutes, then we were brought to a long tail boat and shipped to the resort. I's an extraordinary place and not for everyone. We loved it. The ride took about 5 minutes, the staff helped us carrying the backpacks to our bungalow. It was a bit slippy but ok, it was about 2 minutes walking and we were high up on the hill. When we entered the bungalow we were amazed,one of the most beautiful views ever, although it was raining. You look right at a lovely bay and out to the ocean and fishing boats. The interior was also amazing, a lovely style, everything is made of wood and looks romantic, cosy and inviting. The bathroom is nice and shower, toilet are separate because the shower is outside, open and full of plants. We actually didn't want to leave the bungalow to look at Phi Phi because it was so beautiful. The staff is very friendly and cool, but doesn't really speak english. Breakfast was ok, typical toast, jam, egg, nescafe. But at the ocean. Now a few negative things, the shower is cold, which wouldn't be a problem, but we were in the middle of a few stormy and rainy days on Phi Phi and it was a bit uncomfortable to shower cold then. We also had a few animals falling into the shower, caterpillar, leeches, worms - we just carried them out through the main door. It is a bit of a walk to the main area on Phi Phi, you can go by boat (which is a free, great service and fun but you may get a bit wet) or you walk (which takes a while is not recommended in rain because the jungle trek is really slippy and dark at night), which takes a bit longer. We didn't mind all that actually - the only bad thing is the music that comes from the same bay at night. It's far away but the water carries it across and it's really annoying bouncy techno crap and goes on till very late at night. We slept good anyway. So, all together we'd highly recommend this place to get something special. It is really beautiful and unique.
Reviewed December 04, 2013
7.3
Very good
Waldemar from Germany
Group
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 4 nights in August 2013
Jungle experiance”
Great staff and amazing few
Very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing few from the balcony aver the bay. A bit far from the action, but music can be heard all over the island and also in sunset bay. We had some insect and animal encounters, which would be normal for a jungle accommodation.
Reviewed August 17, 2013
3.7
Henrik from Sweden
Family with young children
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Far out from everything. ”
Balkony, sea view and price
Horrible with kids. Place is far from everything. You have to walk on a small dirt track with no light. Very difficult at night. Very difficult during rain. Don't live here if you are going to part late at night because you will newer get home before sunlight.
Reviewed August 13, 2013
6.0
Hannah from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 4 nights in May 2013
Interesting stay”
Amazing view
The rooms are basic, but it is a bit of an adventure. Despite having to get a boat or do the walk into town we still would have rather stayed here than in some of the horrible hotel rooms available in town. The view from the balcony is amazing. The biggest problem for me was the lack of air con. I found it very hard to get to sleep in that heat! But I could handle everything else. Staying here was definitely an experience!
Reviewed May 10, 2013
6.3
Good
Saisamorn from Thailand
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Very great experience.”
Good view, quiet and beautiful scenery.
Even though it was far from downtown Phi Phi and we almost got lost walking back through forest, we had a very good time staying there. Good meals were available at the resort next door. Service was great and very friendly.
Reviewed April 05, 2013
5.7
Rami from Israel
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Beautiful place, few amenties”
A beautiful place, paradise-like
This place is located across from the central beach (free shuttle until 10 pm). The bungalow is quite minimal in amenities but overlooks a beautiful scenery. Staff is nice, but does not know English and breakfast is less than minimal
Reviewed February 26, 2013
6.0
Andrew from Australia
Group
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
Really relaxing place”
Boat shuttle to and from the busy part of town
The really great thing about this place was that the free transfer by boat to the beach huts near the end of the bay. You can walk if you want. At night the bars, well particularly one bar, is SO noisy it's good to be away from it but still get there easily if you want. After three nights in Patong we found this place such a chill-out we extended our stay from two nights to six! We had a great view of the sea. And although there is no hot water, an outdoor shower and a fan instead of aircon, it's still quite comfortable - and definitely romantic!
Reviewed February 23, 2013
6.7
Good
Orsolya from Hungary
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2013
beautiful place, noisy nights, nice staff”
gentle staff, beautiful place, very nice room with terrace, nice view, delicious breakfast
Unfortunately, because of the lurry (of party)after spending 1 night we left the island. The party place is 20 minutes away from here, even so noisy this bungalow also. On foot the bungalow in the dark is very difficult to approach. Anyway 20 minutes uphill...
Reviewed February 09, 2013
4.7
Jingjing from United States
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in December 2012
Remote location but a little too rustic”
Breakfast included, amazing ocean view from balcony, fairly remote, had electricity 24/7, and mosquito net
The best part of the room by far was the amazing ocean view from the balcony. The hotel host was kind and even woke us up for eggs and toast for breakfast (a nice surprise). Because this place is so close to nature, expect many ants crawling everywhere in the room. If you want a luxury experience, this is not for you. But if you want somewhere rustic, simple, with a beautiful view and friendly host, and don't mind a feeling a little sticky or seeing a few ants on the floor, you've found your place. Before you book, know what you are getting. The "beach" is all rocks, so it's not really good for swimming. The rooms are a little aways from town--about a 20min walk. At night you will need a flashlight to find your way back. Despite the somewhat remote location, you can still hear music blasting until 3am in the morning from the cove (granted, this place is much quieter than staying in town). There is only cold water, but the toilet and outdoor shower are very clean. However, the towels smelled like mildew and the sheets had visible stains. We slept on our bamboo mat we use for going to the beach. If you want to stay here, bring your own towel and probably your own linens. On the good side, we had 24/7 electricity (most of the island runs on generators and only offers electricity from 6pm to 6am. The fan definitely helped with the humidity, but if you hate the heat (and especially humidity), we recommend staying somewhere else with AC. The mugginess is constant--even at night.
Reviewed January 02, 2013
6.7
Good
Maria from Denmark
Family with young children
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in March 2012
Nice and quiet, but a bit far away from town”
peace and quiet, feels very authentic
we liked staying at the hotel, since the room was nice, clean and very spectacular - a bungalow in the forest with a big balcony and great view over the bay. we really got the feeling of having the whole area for ourselves, despite being close to town. so if you like staying close to nature, it is a really good place to stay... breakfast was inclusive and very good, we didnt expected it so it was a nice surprise! but the hotel doesnt serve lunch or dinner, which is very problematic since it is so difficult going to town: the hotel has a free shuffle-boat, which is good, but it can only go a few times a day because of the waterlevel/tide, and the boat is really small and "unstabil", so going in wind or at night demands good nerves. it is also possible to walk into town, it takes about 20 minutes and is a quite fun thing to try, but the "road" is very poor and it is very difficult to carry more than some small bags - we couldnt bring our stroller. so even though the hotel was nice/spectacular and the staff nice and helpful, we probably wont book the place again. it was simple too difficult to manage with two small children, especially since we had to go into town to eat twice a day and it didnt feel safe going by boat in the dark and litterally impossible to walk alone after sunset. hopefully the road will be finished/built soon, so it becomes easier arriving at this else nice hotel.
Reviewed March 13, 2012
6.7
Good
Trevor from South Africa
Solo traveler
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2012
Could be wonderful but is quite run down”
Quiet location, idyllic outlook over the bay
I was looking for a quieter local on Koh PhiPhi than the frantic activity in the main "town area". This is it.... nice bungalows set up in trees overlooking the bay. Everyone there was very friendly and quite laid back. A little too laid back really, as with a little tender loving care, this place should be a gem. But someone might have to move a few metres and pick up the trash that is lying around, and do some basic maintenance.
Reviewed January 28, 2012
7.7
Very good
Joseph from Canada
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Great staff/expensive for accommodations”
Quiet, friendly staff, beautiful location
Really hard to find on your own, very remote location and for the price you do not receive many amenities. More ideal for people who like roughing it and want to pay a little extra for remote but beautiful location.
Reviewed January 23, 2012
7.0
Very good
Sian from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
In rural setting - definitely an experience !”
Huts in the jungle, outside shower
these huts are quite far out of the main resort area and you need to travel in a little boat to and from each time you wish to go out as there is nothing else near. this wasn't explained clearly enough in the description and we ended up walking fir over an hour to try and find it when we arrived. however the staff were really helpful and friendly and we loved staying somewhere different with outside showers and lots of wildlife.
Reviewed January 08, 2012
6.0
LANTIAN from China
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in June 2011
Phi Phi Inn”
the location is in the centre of PHI phi island
we changed the reserved Phi Phi Sunset Bay Resort into Phi phi Inn, because a little dizzy with the boat(10 mins by boat from Phi phi Inn to sunset resort), the environment of Phi Phi Inn is not good, not clean, but the location is very well,the waitor is very nice
Reviewed June 13, 2011
2.0
Mark from Australia
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in April 2011
Don't stay here”
none
Rats in the room, ants in the bed and a 20min.walk on narrow dirt track to get there which mean't dinner at 5pm as track unlit so need to get back before dark. Also noisy at night as loud music travels across the water. Needless to say but we moved.
Reviewed April 19, 2011
7.7
Very good
jennifer from United Kingdom
Group
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2011
like being in the jungle, loved it”
grat views
well first up u have to get in tiny boat to get to the rooms, which are up in the hills little cabins, really nice with balconys, staff are really friendly and have a cute dog, a lovely place to relax
Reviewed April 10, 2011
7.0
Very good
sze from Singapore
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in February 2011
good location. good view”
view
i think this is much better despite the 20 mins hike to the city. it has a gorgeous view of the bay. at night, the music from the beach is insanely loud, and although we were a good 20 mins hike away, it was still very loud at night and we had to close the doors and window to get some sleep.
Reviewed February 12, 2011
4.0
Matteo from Canada
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2011
Looks better in pictures”
Not sure
The shared bungalow wasn't bad, however it was nothing fancy, No towels, bed sheets were not fresh and the breakfast is not really breakfast... The worst part is walking 15-20 minutes through the jungle to get to the beach, especially at night with flashlights. There are much better Hotels for the same, if not cheaper prices right on the island. They advertise a private beach, however that's a joke, as the beach is all rocks.
Reviewed January 28, 2011
5.0
Kara from United States
Solo traveler
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in December 2010
Great Place”
A quiet spot on Phi Phi within walking distance to tonsai
Not safe to walk home at night
I enjoyed my stay here and it was very relaxing. However, it was very stressful because there is no wifi and I'd try to go into town at night to use the wifi and then I felt very very unsafe walking through the jungle 20 minutes alone. Great place for couples though!
Reviewed January 06, 2011
6.0
YEUNG from China
Solo traveler
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2014
the price is ok”
the price just nice, room is big, nice feel
the price just nice, room is big, nice feel
Reviewed September 19, 2014
10.0
Exceptional
Sneha from India
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in January 2017
Very unique resort”
Awesome food we got for lunch. Nice staff and absolutely stunning location..
Reviewed December 03, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Patrick from Germany
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
Excellent”
Very nice and welcoming staff, the bungalows have a great view through big windows and from the balcony. The walk to the city is a little adventure but not far.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Julie from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in April 2017
Perfect place”
It was perfect! The staff is very friendly and helful. The food was delicious. The bungalow was beautiful, with an amazing seaview. I highly recommend.
Reviewed May 01, 2017
9.3
Exceptional
Yvonne from Australia
Solo traveler
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in February 2016
lovely stay”
4 lovely cats to play with; easy reach to monkey beach (rented kayak from hotel); perfect seaview from the raised bungalows and breakfast area; helpful staff; free longtail boat transfers were great
Reviewed March 11, 2016
8.7
Excellent
Nadine from New Zealand
Group
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in December 2011
Beautiful bungalow”
Away from most of the noise, tasty breakfast and million dollar views
great place, friendly staff. it is further away from the main town than other places, but the path from town to the bungalow is fine...just remember to take a torch at night. loved it
Reviewed February 04, 2012
5.3
amit from Israel
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
Good resort for koh phi phi”
Lovely view, mister bao, nice room
location wasn't that good but they provide transfer services to the main area (the boat guy is the wonderful mister bao!). The room was lovely even though the bed was hard as a rock.
Reviewed March 06, 2016
5.7
Bernard from Belgium
Solo traveler
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
Great view, but a little far from the center”
View, quite and staff
Reviewed January 12, 2016
6.3
Good
Athanasios from Greece
Solo traveler
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Friedly staff, great view, overpriced , noisy”
The staff, the view
Unfortunately the music stops at 3 sometimes at 4 am, no good place if you need real relaxation
Reviewed February 18, 2015
7.7
Very good
adrian from United Kingdom
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Holl of a life time”
view.. boat trip across bay private and free there and back.. Free use of canoe and snorkling equipment.
Bang tidy..
Reviewed November 18, 2014
7.3
Very good
Mats from Norway
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 2 nights in January 2014
fantastisk backpacker plass/ night noice”
view/ lonelyness close to town/ cleanliness
the only disadvantage is the noice of the night party that travels over water. otherwise we were very happy with the location, the free boat shuttle and the kayaking / snorkling there was wonderful.
Reviewed January 22, 2014
6.7
Good
Supattra from Thailand
Couple
Standard Villa Fan
Stayed 1 night in November 2013
Back to simplicity life”
Beautiful resort
This is a nice resort at the privacy beach ,friendly staff ,I will come back in the future.
Reviewed December 16, 2013