Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
See all 26 photos

"There is a great massage place a few doors down (Lynns beaut..."

Bethany

|

February 25, 2018

Double Room - Air Conditioning - Bed Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Double Room - Air Conditioning - Bed
See all 26 photos
Lobby Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Lobby
See all 26 photos
Balcony/terrace Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Balcony/terrace
See all 26 photos
Balcony/terrace Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Balcony/terrace
See all 26 photos
See map Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
See map
Exceptional
Location
9.4
See all 26 photos Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
See all 26 photos
Removed from saved list
Exceptional
From 63 reviewsSee what guests said
9.2
/
10
Exceptional service
9.5
Recommended by 100% of guests
Value for money9.1
Location rating9.4
Nearest airportSandakan Airport (SDK)
Distance to airport9.5 km
  • 120 meters to public transportation

  • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

  • Air conditioning

  • Ticket services

Room choices
This property is in high demand!Last booked 4 hours ago
Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Street view
  • 6 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Double Room - Air Conditioning
...
  • Room size: 12 m²/129 ft²
  • Street view
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
...
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • 1 bunk bed
Enter dates to see prices
Double Room with Sea View
Double Room with Sea View
...
  • 1 double bed
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
Bed in 6-Bed Female Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
Enter dates to see prices
Twin Room with Sea View
Twin Room with Sea View
...
  • 2 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Twin Room with Sea View
Twin Room with Sea View
...
  • Room size: 23 m²/248 ft²
  • Shower
  • 2 bunk beds
Enter dates to see prices
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin Room
...
  • Room size: 27 m²/291 ft²
  • Shared bathroom
Enter dates to see prices
Have a question for Sandakan Backpackers Hostel?

What people love about the property

  • "Great location that is perfect for exploring Sandakan."

    Casey

    |

    October 9, 2017

  • "Amazing stay here."

    Adam

    |

    August 31, 2017

  • "Great place to stay!"

    Jessica

    |

    March 29, 2017

Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

Prices drop the moment you sign in!

Sign in now
More about Sandakan Backpackers Hostel

More about Sandakan Backpackers Hostel

"The staff was amazing, really helpful and nice to talk to."

Martin

|

October 17, 2017

An overview

Show more

Nearest essentials

Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
Show less

What they offer

"Beautiful view and good facilities."

Sylvia

|

February 10, 2018

Show less

Property's guest policies

Show less

Some helpful facts

Show more

Announcements

From September 1st, 2017, as per Government of Malaysia requirements, hotel guests who are not Malaysian citizens or long-term/permanent residents of Malaysia will be levied a tourism tax of RM 10.00 per room per night stay. Please note these changes in tax structure will result in revised taxes being charged and will be payable additionally during check out.

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (63)Booking.com Reviews (576)
9.2
/
10
Exceptional
Cleanliness8.9
Facilities8.9
Location9.4
Service9.5
Value for money9.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (63)
All room types
Showing 32 verified guest comments
12
9.6
Exceptional
Jeremy from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
Cool place”
Nice staff and very helpful. Clean, decent room but the rooftop is what makes this place!
Reviewed November 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ilaria from Italy
Solo traveler
Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
Great staff! ”
Facilities were good, everything was clean! Nice breakfast and free water refill!.... More important the staff was great! Always available to give all the information needed. And the vibes at this hostel are great!!
Reviewed October 22, 2018
8.0
Excellent
alex from New Zealand
Couple
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in October 2018
Good hostel”
Good location, good breakfast (toast, fruit, eggs, tea, coffee), beds are comfortable. Wifi wasn't great and bathrooms could be a little cleaner/updated.
Reviewed October 15, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
milly from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Exceptional”
such a nice hostel one of my favez wish I could have stayed more than one night !! and right next to river, and staff were really helpful and there is lots of space a rooftop terrace and big space on reception floor to chill out n breakfast was good. wld deffo reccomend
Reviewed July 05, 2018
Thank you for your review, we will continue to improve our service.
Responded July 18, 2018
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
9.2
Exceptional
SARAH from Thailand
Solo traveler
Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Great place for stopovers”
This place was great. Rooftop is nice to hang out on and the staff is friendly and easy going. Sandakan has little to offer but if stopping through, I would stay here again.
Reviewed June 16, 2018
Hi Sarah, Thank you for spending your time to review us. We really appreciate your feedback and also for the amazing score that you gave to us, look forward for your next stay with us. Regards !
Responded July 18, 2018
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
10.0
Exceptional
Katie from New Zealand
Couple
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Great spot!”
Comfy beds, hot showers, yummy breakfast, lovely staff... Nothing to complain about at Sandakan Backpackers Hostel!
Reviewed May 29, 2018
Hi Katie Thank you for your review and for the perfect score that you gave us. We really appreciate it and we're really glad that you had a great stay with us.
Responded August 08, 2018
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
8.8
Excellent
Paul from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Good for a few nights”
We stayed here for a few nights and had a good time. room clean and big enough but bed not the comfiest. But I think they may be replacing mattresses. Breakfast is hostel standard, toast, boiled eggs, fruit. maybe need a kettle as water out of machine just luke warm.
Reviewed May 20, 2018
6.8
Good
Bethany from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
OK but the staff seemed rude ”
We booked an en suite room but the en suite was unusable. There was no toilet and the shower was cold and weak. We had to use the other bathrooms. The WiFi was very hit and miss. The staff seemed quite rude, they made me feel like we were an inconvenience. We told them when we checked in that we would be checking out very early (around 4am) for an early flight to check that this would be OK. When we checked out we asked them to phone us a taxi but they said they wouldn’t be awake so we had to walk to the bus station and try to find one which we didn’t want to do because Sandakan doesn’t feel particularly safe (the night before I was attacked with bottles by a group of young children who were smoking and verbally abusing me). We had to ask her again to phone a taxi which answered straight away and came immediately. The best things about the hostel are the rooftop terrace (which has fans) and the front door is always locked so it feels quite safe. Also there is a great massage place a few doors down (Lynns beauty). We definitely wouldn’t stay in Sandakan again, theres nothing to do and it feels very unsafe. We have travelled a lot in Malaysia and really love it, apart from Sandakan! (Armed military policing the waterfront is pretty intimidating).
Reviewed February 25, 2018
Hello Bethany, thank you for writing us a review. You are definitely not an inconvenience to us. To be a home to travelers like you is the reason of the whole existence of our hostel. We are sorry that you did not feel welcomed when you were here and for the miscommunications that happened during your stay. We have been reflecting the matter among our staff to avoid such incidents in the future. The room you have booked is indeed the sea view double room attached with cold shower. We do understand hot showers are more favorable, thus we do not promise hot showers and will brief our guests about it from the beginning. However, we do have plans to upgrade all the showers in our hostel throughout, which has already been mostly done. Being full of wildlife and historical marks, it is a regret to us that Sandakan does not appeal to you as much as we have loved it. Anyhow, if you will end up here again, please do feel free to pay us a visit to see if we have improved from where you saw us.
Show more
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
8.8
Excellent
Stefanie from Germany
Solo traveler
Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Really nice place to stay with great view to the sea! ”
Central location Staff super helpful! The place is overall clean(esp. the rooms), but the bathrooms need to be maintained... Its ok, but old and drain doesnt work everywhere... Rooftop Terrace is amazing! Breakfast is the greatest I have ever got in a hostel 😊
Reviewed February 23, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Sylvia from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in February 2018
Exceptional”
Me and my husband stayed at this hostel and even came back to stay for an extra few nights. We had a sea view room and everything was great. Clean rooms, basic but that also what you pay for. Beautiful view and good facilities. Nice rooftop terrace where you can chill and do some work or just relax. Staff is great, they help you with everything you need. Also the breakfast is exactly what you would want, toast with all sorts of choices, hard boiled eggs and some fruit. Great stay and we would reccomend it!
Reviewed February 10, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Martin from Norway
Couple
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Exceptional”
The staff was amazing, really helpful and nice to talk to. Clean toilets and rooms. Good breakfast for a hostel.
Reviewed October 17, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Casey from Australia
Couple
Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Perfect stay at Sandakan Backpackers Hostel”
Lovely, friendly staff. Great location that is perfect for exploring Sandakan. lovely free breakfast and comfy facilities all round!
Reviewed October 09, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Alexander from United States
Couple
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Exceptional”
Amazing stay here. Staff so nice. Beer really cheap. They organise a great tour and have a smashing roof terrace. Perfectly placed for everything. Tip: if you're driving here, park in the Harbour Mall car park - it's about 2 mins away. It cost 10MYR overnight. Mad cheap!
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Hi Alexander, Thank you for your review and for the perfect score that you gave us. We really appreciate it and we're really glad that you had a great stay with us, we will continue to improve our service.
Responded August 08, 2018
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
10.0
Exceptional
Jenny from Germany
Couple
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Exceptional”
Great staff, comfortable bed, clean room, free breakfast, cheap beer. Great backpacker place.
Reviewed August 12, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Natasha from Canada
Couple
Double Room with Sea View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Great Hostel”
We don't usually stay at hostels but decided to try this one out based off the location and the price. We weren't disappointed. We enjoyed our stay here and are thankful to the great staff for their suggestions and help.
Reviewed June 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Ludivine from France
Solo traveler
Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Great place amazing staff”
Not the cheapest but affordable. This place has everything you need they go extra miles for their guests and treat you like a friend!!! I highly recommend!
Reviewed June 26, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
connor from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Absolutely Brilliant!”
The place is located centrally but still with a water view, lovely roof garden and clean and neat rooms but what makes the place is how lovely and helpful the staff are! Arranged our Kinabatagan trip and it was incredible from start to finish. Would definitely return
Reviewed June 01, 2017
9.6
Exceptional
Sam from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Nice hostel with good view”
The hostel is located next to the sea. Nice environment and view. The staffs are so nice and helpful. And they have wall paintings in the lobby which were drawn by the travellers, love that kind of interaction! Will stay again
Reviewed May 16, 2017
Hi Sam, Thank you for spending your time to review us here and also for the amazing score that you gave us and so with your painting for us. It was glad to hear from you and hope you also liked your entire stay in Sandakan. Regards!
Responded May 17, 2017
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
10.0
Exceptional
Koen from Netherlands
Solo traveler
Dormitory 6-Bed Air Conditioning
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Really good hostel with amazing staff!”
This hostel is really nice! The staff is amazing. When you arrive they will remember your name immediately and help you with everything you ask for! For breakfast you get toast and some fruits. Beds and bathroom is clean. Would definitely recommend!
Reviewed May 01, 2017
Hi Koen, Thank you for your review and for the perfect score that you gave us. We really appreciate it and we're really glad that you had a great stay with us. I was really a pleasure to have you. Hoe you liked Sandakan as well. Thanks again and keep traveling!
Responded May 19, 2017
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
8.8
Excellent
Alysha from United Kingdom
Couple
Double Room - Air Conditioning
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Staff make the hostel. ”
Amazing and friendly staff who can't do enough to help. Showed us how to get to places cheaply instead of selling us expensive tours and took the time to learn all of our names and sit down to have a chat. Only slight downfall would be the wifi as it wasn't always possible to use. And would be nice for the rooms to be cleaned very small points to an amazing stay
Reviewed April 26, 2017
Hi Alysha, Thank you for reviewing us and also for the amazing score that you gave us. It was a pleasure having you guys stay with us and also glad to hear that you appreciate those little things around here while you're staying with us. You're feedback is highly appreciated. Travel safe!
Responded May 17, 2017
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
12
This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

Back to search results

Back to room choices

|

Dismiss