Book Now: Shangri-la Hotel

Excellent
From 1644 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
Recommended by 89% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1644)Booking.com Reviews (5488)
8.7
Excellent
From 1644 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness9.1
Facilities8.8
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality9.0
Service8.8
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
한국어
日本語
more
Room type
Deluxe Opera House City View King
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
King Deluxe Grand Harbor View
Premier Grand Harbor View
more
Sort guest comments by:
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1420 verified guest comments
6.8
David from United Kingdom
Couple
Premier Grand Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in January 2018
Dated property - not your typical Shangri-La hotel”
Very dated decor - not luxury and neither an up to date feel at all. Very obvious interiors - we have previously stayed at Shangri-La hotels in London (Shard) and in Tokyo which were both fantastic. The best thing about the rooms are the views if you choose the Harbour room
Reviewed January 06, 2018
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.8
DEMING from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in January 2018
Not worth to stay again”
I checked in just before 4pm. Stuff tried to find hard to find a room which has no view, spend about 10 to 15 mins to check in. I thought she is looking for my booking. LOL. Any requests can get answer is UNFORTUNATELY, SORRY ABOUT IT. ROOM facility is great but missed rubbish bins. I wonder is this still FIVE STAR hotel.
Reviewed January 06, 2018
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.2
Trisha from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Exceptional”
Stayed at the hotel for our wedding anniversary would have been nice for them to upgrade us without having to pay more money for a better view...
Reviewed January 03, 2018
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
DAHOON from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Grand Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
so good”
so good
Reviewed December 25, 2017
2 travelers found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
John from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Spectacular views, friendly staff, quiet room.”
The hotel is very modern and clean. Staff were very helpful. I've stayed in hundreds of hotels and was very happy with this one. Overnight parking as more than I was prepared to pay (around $60 for a Sunday night.)
Reviewed December 16, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
David from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Relaxing luxury ”
Location and views are amazing
Reviewed December 11, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.2
Leanne from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Grand Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Exceptional”
Staff very polite and friendly.
Reviewed November 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
kathleen from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Amazing place to stay”
Staff were amazing facilities are beautiful with a great location will definitely be back
Reviewed November 21, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Julie from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 4 nights in November 2017
Exceptional”
My family contributed to pay for a 4 night stay at the Shangri-La for my parents for my father's 70th birthday and were not disappointed. When I asked Dad - he said he rated it 10 out of 10! They haven't really ever experienced a luxury stay before and the Shangri-La didn't disappoint. They loved it. The staff really took care of them - the room had fabulous views, the massage I booked for him was fabulous and the lovely happy birthday cake was such a nice touch. It was worth the investment. Thank you so much Shangri-La.
Reviewed November 16, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
8.0
Ebnu from Indonesia
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Perfect hotel with some flaws”
We stayed 2 nights in this hotel and we were very happy with the room with the sydney opera house view, it was fantastic and we enjoyed our stays so much. However, couple of things that prevent us to give perfect review for this hotel are: 1. When we arrived first time and got out from a car, none of Shangrila staffs were there to help us carrying our luggages. My wife, who was still using her wedding dress, unfortunately had to help me carrying some stuffs until we sat down in the lobby. Even after checking in, none of your staffs offered us some assistance to carry the stuffs..I am not sure why, because the next guests that arrive after us, they were being look after so nicely (maybe because they have that 'look' to give lots of tips afterwards? ) we were totally confused and dissapointed. 2. The room, as i said, was perfect. BUT, throughout day and night, we can keep hearing the sound of water flowing from inside the wall. Its rather annoying but not a major thing.
Reviewed November 16, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
Jovy from United States
Solo traveler
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Exceptional”
They found my camera. Means a lot to me. We are working on getting it send my address in the USA. They are very cordial. I am very happy I want to become an elite member.
Reviewed November 15, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.0
Ramachandra from United States
Couple
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Awful Staff”
For a service industry like a 5 star hotel, the least you expect is a warm welcome. The staff and managers at front desk appear to be biased and racial. Their tone is commanding, dictatorial and unrelenting. They would not accommodate us for 3 additional hours and made us check out and sit in the lounge. I for one will not step into Shangri-la Hotels ever again.
Reviewed November 14, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Renee from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Exceptional”
Was not happy with the bar service on the top level
Reviewed November 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Paula from United Kingdom
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
Great place to stay.”
The whole experience of staying in the hotel is superb. It's has everything you need. Having now stayed in two of the Shangri la hotels (Sydney and Bangkok) I wouldn't hesitate to book there again.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.4
Hui from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Executive Grand Harbor View
Stayed 3 nights in November 2017
The service at Check-in account does not even reach a 3-star hotel. ”
The Harbour view from room is great. The lifts are fast enough. However, the facilities of the swimming pool (and GYM) changing room are not well equipped and maintained. The overall standard of CHI, the spa, is way overrated by itself.
Reviewed November 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Tommy from Hong Kong
Business traveler
Executive Darling Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Another nice stay and helpful staff”
Had another nice stay. I had an early flight and accidentally left a few items in the room. Didn’t realise till I got to my hotel in Melbourne. I called the hotel and the staff immediately located my items and shipped them to my hotel in Melbourne. Very efficient and helpful!
Reviewed November 11, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Rob from Australia
Business traveler
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in November 2017
The Hotel was excellent”
The staff were very helpful and courteous
Reviewed November 10, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.4
Ramachandra from United States
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
Reception staff not welcoming. No service with a smile even at checkin. ”
Conscious service was going very helpful in providing directions. Knowledgeable. However this alone is not enough at a 5 star hotel. Receipt staff really need to be receptive of guests and the guests need to feel welcomed. Now it is like they are doing their job, stay or get lost who cares is the attitude.
Reviewed November 02, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
10.0
Richard from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Possibly the best hotel in Sydney ”
Easy and short. Great service, the rooms is spacious, and the view is amazing. Can not ask for more.
Reviewed November 02, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Barbara from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
The room was great and the staff fantastic ”
Enjoyed the lovely Altitude Bar also
Reviewed October 24, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Mari-Anne from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Room allocation ”
We were recently there to celebrate an anniversary. I booked a Opera House / City Views room. We were allocated one which was extremely disappointing. Our room had little privacy from the imposing buildings looking into our room (a fish bowl effect) being The Regent Hotel (currently under renovation with scaffolding surrounding it) and the Quay West Apartments so we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy which seriously detracted from the experience!! Was disappointed too that the bed was facing toward the apartment buildings next door and not toward the beautiful view of the opera house and harbour , yet another disappointment. Expected alot more ..........
Reviewed October 19, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.6
Shireesh from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Great View and close to shopping district restaurant”
Great View and close to shopping district restaurant
Reviewed October 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Tara from Australia
Group
Executive Twin Opera House City View
Stayed 3 nights in September 2017
FANTASTIC”
Stay here once every year and it is just brilliant. Staff are wonderful, views are ridiculously great and very clean rooms. Highly recommend!!!
Reviewed October 06, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Jarrod from Australia
Family with young children
Horizon Club Floor Darling Harbour View Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Room changed without explanation ”
Had to call 3 times about cot not being in the room despite saying it on the booking. Length of time waiting at check in was unreasonable. Guys parking the cars weren't able to keep any real order. Just too many little things created a bad experience. Nice place but too many headaches over my last couple of stays.
Reviewed October 04, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Liza from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
good ”
It was beautiful but the location wasn't the best
Reviewed October 02, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Albertus from Indonesia
Couple
Executive Opera City View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Exceptional”
I really enjoyed my stay in Shangri-la Circular Quay Sydney. The View to the Harbour Bridge and Opera House is above all. The value for money is good, they also offered me Horizon lounge offer. The staffs are friendly and assisted me when I had lost item, they sent it to my next hotel without additional cost. 5 stars ratings for every aspects.
Reviewed September 26, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Julia from Australia
Family with young children
Executive Twin Opera House City View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Brilliant views!”
Staff were fabulous, organised and our stay was very comfortable. The pool could be bigger as it's often busy, though. Our bathroom floor was dirty and the hotel could do with an upgrade however, overall it's a wonderful hotel with great food and drinks 👍
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Karina from Australia
Family with young children
Executive Twin Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Over promising staff, under delivery”
Very underwhelming for a 5 star establishment. I was disappointed on many accounts: 1. Only 1 room was ready at check-in 2. Was told our rooms would be on the same level, but was not when we came back for the second key 3. Ask for cot on 3 occasions, and it was delivered 3 hours later 4. Toilet not flushing right 5. second day, keys did not work 6. Complained of the above, and we were offered wine & chocolates as an apology gift - never delivered 7. On checkout we asked to speak to manager - not available but will call. Never called 8. Emailed complaint, they told us they would rectify this, and make it up to us WHEN we book our NEXT stay at their hotel???? Which will not happen.
Reviewed September 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.4
Karina from Australia
Family with young children
Executive Twin Opera House City View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Terrible service for a 5 star hotel”
We were constantly disappointed on several fronts: 1. Only 1 room was ready on check-in. 2. We were told that they would arrange the second room to be on the same level - but then when we came back to get the keys - it was not. 3. Cot was asked 3 times, response was "it will be delivered shortly" it arrived 3 hours later. 5. toilets weren;;t flushing properly 6. When we told them the issues they said - Please let us send you wine and chocolates to make up for these errors - never received. 4. On check out - we asked to speak to management. They were unavailable, but we will call you - NO CALL 5. I emailed the complaints, they said they want to rectify this situation, by asking us to book more nights with their hotel????
Reviewed September 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Karina from Australia
Family with young children
Executive Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Terrible service for a 5 star establishment ”
by far my worst experience at a 5 star hotel. On arrival, only 1 from the 2 of our rooms were ready at check-in. The gentleman was very helpful and asked us if it would be better if the 2 rooms were on the same Level for convenience as it was possible. 1 hr later we came back got the second room, only to find out it was on a different level. Our request for a cot was delivered 3 hours later even though we requested at the 1st check in, key cut and when in our room. 2nd day our keys didn't work and we had to get it redone. Travelling with young kids makes this harder. Then in our room the toilet isn't flushing. I tell reception these issues, her apologise and ask to send to our room wine and chocolates - these never arrived. Next day on check out we ask to speak to management, but they are in meetings but will call me back - nothing. This hotel was a disappointment. All promises and no execution or delivery. For a 5 star establishment - this is appalling service
Reviewed September 22, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
shane from Australia
Couple
Executive Opera City View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2017
Great Location”
Perfect location and the views out to the opera house were awesome.yYou stay in a Shangri -la and you expect quality and cleanliness and it didn"t dissappoint. Will come back.
Reviewed September 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.8
Lisa from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Fantastic hotel, staff were attentive. View could have been better ”
We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and I specifically booked a room with a viewof Harbour Bridge and Opera House. It had a view of the Opera House if you stood in the far right corner of the room. Went to check out and realised they had charged us with parking even though we never had a car. One small gripe was the toilets are far too small, bordering on primary school size. Small issues that shouldn't I take away the fact that it is an awesome hotel. Level 36 bar was exceptional and the view to die for. Excellent location within walking distance to Circular Quay and the hustle and bustle of The Rocks. Would stay again
Reviewed September 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Simone from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in September 2017
Perfect night stay”
I had only one night stay in the hotel but everything was perfect. When first booked I picked the wrong dates and they were very helpful adjusting the system while I was on the phone. The reception staff was great and did the best for my stay. They upgraded me to a room on level 33 for a very small fee and it was very big and comfortable. The view is spectacular! Could not ask for anything better but I guess we get what we paid for and Shangri-la Hotel does not disappoint when it comes to accommodation. I was only left down by the Blue Bar on level 36, very dull and old dated environment but was not there for the bar anyway.
Reviewed September 18, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.6
Sylvain from France
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
For the view only”
Not the best Shangri-la for sure, but it worth it for the view.
Reviewed September 14, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Luke from Australia
Couple
Executive Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Very nice albeit pricey”
Very nice, although IMO, for a 'middle-income' couple, the price is only worth it for a special ocassion and when on sale.
Reviewed September 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Aditya from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in August 2017
Great views, great service”
High quality, clean, good service and breathtaking views from the Opera House City view rooms and Blu Bar on level 36.
Reviewed September 04, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Chin-Hsiang from Taiwan
Family with teens
Deluxe Grand Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in August 2017
A very nice hotel in Sydney”
Warm and nice staff,good location,and facilities
Reviewed August 06, 2017
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
9.2
Kai from Malaysia
Family with young children
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Spacious room with nice view”
Very spacious room with nice view of Sydney opera house. Great service.
Reviewed July 21, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Ridwaan from South Africa
Couple
King Deluxe Grand Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Great Hotel Medioce Staff Services”
Great Hotel. Scenery was beautiful from room of harbor , opera house. Just spectacular. Rooms were clean and spacious. Breakfast was great. Only complain was check in staff was a bit rude. Never smiled. Ask me a lot of unnecessary questions. Besides the check in experience all was well
Reviewed July 13, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
2.0
Adi from Indonesia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Very Bad”
The housekeeping maid/anyone that have access to your room can enter freely. Even if the light sign "do not disturb". I mean even if the light not turn on. I supposed noone can enter the room without guest know it. Please be careful. I lost some things because the day i arrived. I didn't lock the suitcase and went to opera house. Suddenly at night i came back the room was cleaned. Be careful and i don't recommend this hotel. I suggest hyatt at darling harbour or four seasons. Because i had a great experience with Hyatt in Perth or SkyCity Group Hotels in NZ or Novotel.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Ramona from Romania
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in July 2017
Great view”
We got a beautiful room 712 with a sensational view over the bridge and the Opera house. Merry from reception was friendly and helpful, also Nicholas from concierge helped us to book shuttle bus.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Meng from Malaysia
Couple
Executive Grand Harbor View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2017
Fantastic location to take in the sights and sounds of Sydney”
The view, room size, staff and location were fantastic. Price was worth it but the room had a slight mildewy odor about it.
Reviewed July 04, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Loretta from Philippines
Family with teens
King Deluxe Grand Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Exceptional”
Most Fantastic view of Sydney ever, esp. at night!
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Brett from Australia
Business traveler
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Very comfortable”
I stayed here with my wife while reviewing hotels for our clients to stay at. the king size bed was very comfortable a little bit hard, but that's the way I like it. The room was very spacious extremely clean comma and there was a lovely view to the Northwest. Altitude bar on the top floor is a must. Definitely make sure you order the breakfast with your stay. Eggs made to order, and a great selection of food for breakfast from all cultures.
Reviewed June 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Chenyu from China
Solo traveler
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Exceptional”
nice experience!
Reviewed June 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Swee-Tin from Australia
Family with young children
Executive Twin Opera House City View
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Memorable weekend - great service”
Brought wife to celebrate 10 year anniversary. Had a beautiful view of the opera house and city and Vivid light show. So impressed with service throughout the hotel. Silvio at breakfast service is a gem - incredibly attentive. Will be back and will try Grand Harbour view next time.
Reviewed June 12, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.2
Gean-Yu from New Zealand
Family with teens
Executive Grand Harbor View Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
Very good”
Horizon club's food is quite disappointing.
Reviewed June 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Minhee from South Korea
Family with young children
Horizon Opera House City View Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2017
best stay ever”
booked horizon club room with operahouse view. and the staff upgraded our room to horizon club suit room. the room had amazing view of operahouse and harbour bridge. horizon club lounge was great too. They also allowed us to check out at 4pm, so could stay comfortable with baby until late afternoon. overall great service great view great stay!
Reviewed June 09, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Wu from Singapore
Group
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in April 2017
Personal Trip”
Booked a Harbourview room but was too low a level that all i see was the expressway.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Manuel from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in May 2017
Excellent”
GOOd 😊 :)
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Did you find this review helpful?|