Book Now: Shangri-la Hotel

Excellent
From 1853 reviewsSee what guests said
8.7
/
10
Recommended by 92% of guests

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (1853)Booking.com Reviews (5611)
8.7
/
10
Excellent
From 1853 reviews
Cleanliness9.1
Facilities8.8
Location9.0
Room comfort and quality9.0
Service8.8
Value for money8.1
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
한국어
日本語
more
Room type
Deluxe Opera House City View King
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
King Deluxe Grand Harbor View
Premier Grand Harbor View
more
Search reviews
Now you can search for any keyword within the reviews
Showing 1501 verified guest comments
8.4
Excellent
Theresa from Hong Kong
Family with teens
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in August 2017
heart of Sydney”
great view of the harbor especially the sunrise, very convenient, excellent staff
Reviewed July 23, 2018
8.0
Excellent
King from Hong Kong
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Very good”
Difficult to adjust the water temperature of the shower
Reviewed July 23, 2018
4.4
Shvez from Thailand
Family with young children
Executive Grand Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
ripe off ”
I booked this hotel for my wife's bday to see vivid my booking was online for $370 but got hit for $500 on checkout as they gave me my invoice, asked for early check in got to the hotel at 1pm had to ask again at 3pm is my room ready yet but no, they gave me a so called upgrade but not, as the best room was $500 online and it was not a upgrade as the best room they had was on the top floor, my room was not for shore........ check your conformation for rate as it was a quick booking on my phone I didn't check my email or I would have cancelled ...... and as we all know wattling in a foyer with a 3 year old girl for hours is not fun for all.......and the valet parking is not good if you need something from you car you have to be escorted to the underground parking station where I witnessed the race driving of the valet Parker screeching the tires I commented to the escort I hope that is not a guests car....over all a bad experience and costly, and it was extra $35 for parking on top.
Reviewed July 17, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Julie from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Excellent”
A very nice hotel however but because it is so busy a few services are overlooked. It took 40 minutes for us to get a bottle opener, the toilet didn't flush properly, there was no hotel information in the room e.g. compendium etc. and the shower was diabolical. It ran very hot or stone cold, alternating. We had a magnificent view from our room and the Cafe Mix was a great restaurant, but for the above reasons I don't think it was a five star hotel. Also the toilet paper was only one ply, very cheap. The beds were terrific as were the towels etc. Very big, nice room.
Reviewed July 16, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Estella from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Room is more spacious than 4 Seasons but location wise is not easy to find!”
Was in Sydney for work trip. Stayed at 4 Seasons before i shifted to Shangri-la hotel. Room is more spacious as compared to 4 Seasons but location wise is not as convenient because it's located high up the deep steep slope and not many drivers know the place. Need to walk down the steep slope to The Rocks area if you need to find food late at night. Afterall, not a bad experience for short stay. The in-room slippers provided are way too big for ladies to wear with my toes all out of the slippers. Maybe they could do something about it.
Reviewed July 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Amanda from United States
Couple
Horizon Opera House City View Room
Stayed 6 nights in June 2018
The Best of the Best”
This truly is 5 Star +, when you daydream about the perfect holiday, this is it! Sweeping views of the beautiful Sydney Harbour, magnificent surrounds within walking distance of everything, sumptuous bedding, staff ready to cater for every whim and the pièce de résistance The Club Room with stunning views, attentive staff, delectable canapes from the finest chefs and quality wines. A life long memorable holiday.
Reviewed July 04, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
MARK from Philippines
Solo traveler
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
shangrila sydney”
everything is perfect!
Reviewed July 04, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Daniel from Australia
Family with young children
Premier Grand Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
All of the views”
Best view in sydney; harbour bridge and opera house all in one shot!
Reviewed July 02, 2018
7.2
Very good
wai from Malaysia
Business traveler
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
nice view with good location ”
We had a nice room with decent size and good view but the service is not up to standard as a 5-star rated hotel. We called the service centre from our room to request for mineral water up to 4 times and waited close to 2 hours but to our disappointment, there isn't anyone sending us our requested items and at the end, the 5th time we called, there's no answer at all. We did convey our disappointment and we got no feedback and apology from respected party. Other than that, everything is up to expectation.
Reviewed June 25, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Daisy from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 8 nights in June 2018
Exceptional”
It was a very relaxing vacation. Thanks to Shangri-la Hotel Sydney. Checking in and checking out were hassle free. Very accommodating staff. Since we were staying for 8 nights, they made sure that we would have a high floor location with the good view. They even gave us a complimentary champagne with a platter of cheese and nuts on our last night. Platter of fruits in our room everyday. It was a very pleasant experience .
Reviewed June 21, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Steven from Singapore
Business traveler
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018
Fabulous iconic view of Sydney from Shanri-la Suite!”
Overall facilities & bathroom amenities needs update, nevertheless the view is breathtaking!
Reviewed June 19, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Janet from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
Fantastic location!”
This hotel is perfectly positioned, close to the harbour and the Opera House. We couldn't fault the hotel and we enjoyed the spectacular view from the Blu Bar on the 36th floor.
Reviewed June 16, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Yun from South Africa
Solo traveler
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Excellent”
Nice view in the Opera Habour view room
Reviewed June 13, 2018
6.8
Good
Analie from United Kingdom
Family with teens
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 10 nights in June 2018
Position isn’t everything”
This hotel is based in The Rocks, convenient to public transport ( Cirular Quay) However to reach the hotel it is on an incline - and you are best alighting at Wynyard Station. We stayed at the hotel for 10 nights. Attempted to eat at Altitude Restaurant but private event on. Food in lobby area is reasonable, pastries, sandwiches drinks. The staff are courteous but no one actually knows you - so after 10 days you feel still a little unsure. The first evening we were looking around the facilities - Spa, florists, and whilst trying to view the Grand Ballroom I was asked if I was snooping! The delux room over looked Darling Harbour but in fact you couldn’t really see the Harbour - more Balmain. The room was infrequently stocked with items ie bathroom accessories, but if requested they were prompt to replenish. I stay in Sydney 4-5 times per year, and usually stay at Sheraton on the Park. They didn’t have availability for the length I required and this hotel was recommended.
Reviewed June 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Graeme from Australia
Couple
Premier Grand Harbor View
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018
Graeme - South Australia”
Great staff, fantastic view. A wonderful experience!
Reviewed June 13, 2018
7.6
Very good
GARETH from Singapore
Solo traveler
Horizon Opera House City View King Horizon Club Access
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
Horizon lounge cutbacks apparent”
Breakfast and afternoon tea offerings not what they used to be at Horizon Club
Reviewed June 04, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Chatchaya from Thailand
Family with young children
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 7 nights in May 2018
very lovely stay”
we were there for many nights and love everything. Got an early check in and the last night,the hotel sent us a bottle of bubbles and a cheese plate for our long stay.
Reviewed June 01, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
Di from Australia
Family with young children
Executive Opera City View
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Room with amazing view of the bridge and opera house”
We had a room with a view of circular quay and the harbour bridge. Spectacular view of the vivid festival. Staff were friendly and very accommodating of our young children. Check-in was seamless and fast. Highly recommend staying here.
Reviewed May 31, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Gordon from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Exceptional”
Great rooms, lovely staff, amazing views and good location. Only problems we found were the lifts. There was regularly a wait, made worse when there was a tour busload staying. That aside, we would definitely stay here again when next in Sydney.
Reviewed May 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Antony from United Kingdom
Couple
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Exceptional”
Great location right in the Rocks and short walk to the French cafe for coffee and delicious cake . The views from the Shangrila are amazing and I would recommend a visit or two ,to the bar on the 36 th floor just wonderful . The staff are effeciant and friendly . Loved our stay here.
Reviewed May 30, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Pamela from Australia
Couple
Executive Opera City View
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Anon”
This hotel was spectacularly situated for viewing Vivid
Reviewed May 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Jennifer from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Excellent ”
Everything was fantastic
Reviewed May 27, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ian from United Kingdom
Family with young children
Premier Grand Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Luxury view a world class view”
Great hotel in a fantastic location with block buster views. We had a premier grand harbour view room and it was absolutely worth the extra money, just stunning views, waking up to the sunrise over the Opera House is a magical memory. The staff were all lovely as well and very good facilities.
Reviewed May 26, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
kerry from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
lulu”
Amazing hotel. got an upgrade to room with view it was so worth it. Sydney Harbour sparkled day and night. The Staff were just so helpful. the rooms were large and very very comfortable. close to harbour and wandering around the rocks. facilities very very good The experience was awesome. Recomend the hotel SHANGRI-LA HIGHLY
Reviewed May 19, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
SHARON from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Grand Harbor View
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Oppulence without arrogance”
Great stay over four nights. Dined at Altitude which was a food sensation, cocktails exquisite.
Reviewed May 18, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Conan from New Zealand
Couple
Deluxe King Darling Harbour View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Amazing views”
Good Hotel, amazing views. Great bar on the top floor. Only negative seem to be the long waits for the lifts.
Reviewed May 14, 2018
8.8
Excellent
john from Australia
Solo traveler
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Nice hotel”
Housekeeping needs to pay attention to the wiping down of furniture, fridge. A little dirty. Breakfast not up to the same shang standards around the world but I will be staying there again .
Reviewed May 14, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Carol from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Beautiful Hotel”
Fabulous Hotel in excellent location. close to The Rocks, Circular Quay and many fabulous restaurants. large rooms with fantastic comfortable king size bed with nice linen ,large bathroom with lovely towels. Would Highly reccomend
Reviewed May 13, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
glenn from Australia
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Nice hotel great view”
Everything was great except for Breakfast... $42 per peeson it was mnt vwry good, ive had much better meals at a local club or our corner cafe. For that sort of price it shoukd of blown me away but it left me a little disappointed.
Reviewed May 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Graeme from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Grand Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Outstanding!”
First time at this hotel well exceeded all expectations. We were offered an upgrade which was superb and just really enjoyed the whole experience. We won't stay anywhere else after this!
Reviewed May 11, 2018
7.6
Very good
Cassandra from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
LOVELY”
Our trip was great and the hotel was lovely but when you are told you would get a gift or surprise for your anniversary, and it is not followed through, its a little disappointing.
Reviewed May 10, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
NOBUO from Japan
Couple
Executive Twin Darling Harbor View
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
GW, holiday”
We had taken nice time and relax. It's really great , location, luxury room, dishes, amenity, night view. repeat again! Thank you.
Reviewed May 10, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Mercedes from Philippines
Family with teens
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Exceptional”
Great service with helpful staff.
Reviewed May 07, 2018
4.8
Duane from Canada
Solo traveler
Executive Darling Harbor View
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Overpriced”
Staff try to nickel and dime you. Food is overpriced, especially breakfast. I ordered a king bed and they gave me two twins pushed together. Had to pay extra to get the view that I wanted.
Reviewed May 07, 2018
6.0
Marlene from Australia
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Above average”
we experienced an issue with the Valet parking, we were advised that we hadn't given the attendant our car keys therefore they didn't bring our car when we were leaving. However no body came and said "your keys are missing" instead they allowed us to stand around in the lobby waiting until we finally said where is our car. The keys were in the office hanging where all the keys were so they had them all the time. Very Poor!
Reviewed May 05, 2018
7.6
Very good
Kevin from Thailand
Solo traveler
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Water temperature was a problem and sink drained very slowly. Location tough to walk for handicapped”
Getting to and from the hotel by foot is very difficult for handicapped, even with a power chair. It is located on a steep hill
Reviewed May 02, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Nawarat from Thailand
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 1 night in April 2018
Footsteps from the Sydney Harbour Bridge, The Sydney Opera House”
Footsteps from the Sydney Harbour Bridge, The Sydney Opera House but we also got the view to our room as we got a harbour view room. Everything is at the doorstep since Ferries, trains and buses leave regularly from Circular Quay and will take you... anywhere.
Reviewed April 28, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
PAUL from United Kingdom
Group
Deluxe Grand Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Exceptional”
Great hotel in fabulous location with stunning views of the Bridge and Opera House
Reviewed April 24, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Marilou from Philippines
Family with young children
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 5 nights in August 2017
Excellent”
Amazing staff, rooms were spacious, location quite convenient
Reviewed April 22, 2018
6.0
Eva from Australia
Couple
Premier Grand Harbor View
Stayed 5 nights in April 2018
Above average”
There is one very big man (Fat) - maybe a security man. Treated us in the worst possible way. I will always think of him when I think of the Sydney Shangri-la Hotel. I will always stay at your Singapore hotel, just not your Sydney hotel nor will I recommend it to anyone else. Sorry it hurts to say this.
Reviewed April 19, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
mitosheila from Philippines
Group
Twin Deluxe Opera House City View
Stayed 4 nights in April 2018
Exceptional”
Very good
Reviewed April 19, 2018
6.4
Good
Lianne from Philippines
Family with teens
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 5 nights in April 2018
Generally Okay”
Location - Really good. Walking distance from Circular Quay (big ferry hub) where the Sydney Opera House is located. Would have loved a little warning though that the hotel stands on top of a steep hill. While going down is not a problem, going back up became very difficult for my senior citizen parents. Cleanliness/Staff/Facilities - Generally ok. Had room trouble on our 2nd night when our ceiling started leaking (supposedly due to the AC). Karen (staff) was very attentive, but frankly, I felt we still lost out. They gave us a new room with a good view, but the new beds weren't as big as in our old room. I preferred the bigger beds. Alternative was to wait another night and endure a leaking ceiling and a wet carpet. We had trouble with housekeeping. In our room, we got complimentary water and fruits everyday. But in our parents' room, they got nothing. And that's considering we paid more for that room! Would still recommend despite all these. Just wish they did more for us.
Reviewed April 16, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ricardo from United States
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 4 nights in March 2018
Fantastic service wonderful nicely appointed rooms great location for catching a cruise ”
You must get a room with a view on the upper floor (33) and get to go to the Horizon club wonderful experience
Reviewed April 14, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Audrey from Indonesia
Family with teens
Executive Grand Harbor View Suite
Stayed 2 nights in April 2018
Satisfactory”
For a suite you'd expected better, the view rom the suite is excellent but since it isnt a new hotel, you might find several things out of place. The hanger is falling off the wall, and the wallpaper peeling. The staff in front of the hotel is not helpful at all. We were asked to bring in our suitcases inside ourselves. This is a world class hotel not a motel.
Reviewed April 11, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Juan from Argentina
Family with teens
Deluxe Darling Harbour View Room with Twin Bed
Stayed 3 nights in April 2018
Excelent facilities, and location. ”
The hotel is within walking distance to the main attractions of Sydney. The views from the rooms are superb. Most of all, the personnel is very attentive and professional.
Reviewed April 11, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Jakub from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Decent room”
We got an Opera House view but very limited. Most other rooms had much better view. Everything was as promised but on a borderline level. Overall we were satisfied.
Reviewed April 07, 2018
6.0
dianne from Philippines
Couple
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018
Overall experience was okay but not worth going back to”
Rooms need to be refurbished. Location was okay but not a lot of nice cafes nearby, just Mcdonald’s. Staff were courteous but not very warm.
Reviewed April 07, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Adri from Indonesia
Family with young children
King Deluxe Darling Harbor View
Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
Excellent front office service”
Got here in the morning and check in allowed, immediately able to use the room without extra charge
Reviewed April 07, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Awan from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Opera House City View King
Stayed 5 nights in March 2018
Superb”
Great hotel, very good location, nice view...
Reviewed April 05, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Aleksandra from Singapore
Family with young children
Executive Opera City View
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
Perfect stay”
Big room. Big bathroom. Comfortable bed. Excellent view.
Reviewed April 03, 2018