Book Now: The Dhara Dhevi Hotel Chiang Mai

Excellent
From 267 reviewsSee what guests said
9.0
91% would recommend to a friend

Verified guest reviews

Agoda Reviews (267)Booking.com Reviews (32)
9.0
Excellent
From 267 reviews
Filter by guest type:
Cleanliness9.3
Facilities9.5
Location8.6
Room comfort and quality9.4
Service9.4
Value for money8.4
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
Filter guest comments by:
Language
English
简体中文
ภาษาไทย
日本語
more
Room type
Colonial Suite
Villa
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Villa
more
Sort guest comments by:
Showing 243 verified guest comments
9.2
Cheng from Singapore
Family with young children
Colonial Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
Good facilities and friendly staff.
Good service and clean hotel
Reviewed December 21, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Prapasara from Thailand
Group
Colonial Suite
Stayed 2 nights in December 2016
this is absolutely perfect ka!!!
well train staff, many activities
Reviewed December 20, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.4
Nixian from China
Solo traveler
Villa
Stayed 1 night in May 2016
Excellent
great hotel,
Reviewed October 18, 2016
1 traveler found this review helpful. Did you?|
8.0
Li from Singapore
Family with young children
Colonial Suite
Stayed 2 nights in August 2016
Good for family with kids
eventful kids club; friendly staff and great view of the palace; Breakfast buffet is great also
Reviewed August 12, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Sonali from India
Family with young children
Colonial Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2016
Fantastic Resort for kids
My daughter and I had an awesome vacation at Dhara Devi. The resort is rich in architecture and leaves you with a lasting impression. Buggy services are fast and convenient. The Thai restaurant was a disappointment. They serve Thai iced milk tea as one would serve english style tea and the food was very westernized catering to the international guests. But the restaurant staff had requested us to come for dinner as they have a nice Thai dance performance. We couldn't attend that one as my daughter goes to bed at 8 pm ( the dance timing). In room dining was fantastic as well. Loved the special flavored macaroons and eclairs at Dhara Devi Cake shop. The staff are kind and very helpful. Kids will love the little passport challenge where they explore for the little challenges and earn themselves a free ice-cream treat on completion. The breakfast buffet was lavish almost a feast with a wide range - american, chinese, dimsum, japanese, Mediterranean, lovely cheese and hams. Yum! They had one of the most wonderful corner with fresh fruit juice, smoothies and fresh fruit. In short, Dhara Devi was my right choice. Go for it. I would definitely go there again.
Reviewed July 04, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
supakit from Thailand
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 1 night in June 2016
Good hotel good service
Good hotel good service
Reviewed July 01, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Damian from United States
Solo traveler
Colonial Suite
Stayed 4 nights in March 2016
superb
beyond expectations, great location, staff excellent
This resort is superb. After the Phulay Bay anything would be difficult to compete but this Hotel is amazing. Top notch. No deferred maintenance. Everything works perfectly. Beautiful location. Great food. Breakfast is fantastic. Smaller pool is gorgeous. Colonial suite has 2 bathrooms, 2 TVs, giant closet, big shower, 7' x 4' bathtub. Great value for my money.
Reviewed March 24, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.6
Debra from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Colonial Suite
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
What an experience, fantastic hotel
This is my first visit to the Dhara Dhevi, although I visit Chiang Mai often. I will certainly stay again. Everything about the hotel is first class, the staff were so helpful to me travelling in my own this time. The only comment I could make is that although I was very careful to keep the doors closed all the time the mosquitoes still managed to 'attack' me while sleeping at night. Maybe for this very difficult time of year the facility of a mosquito net over the bed would make life more comfortable. All in all, a fantastic retreat which I can highly recommend. I will certainly book again in the future.
Reviewed March 23, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.2
Qinghe from Japan
Solo traveler
Colonial Suite
Stayed 1 night in March 2016
Nice
Wish they could offer us the shuttle bus to airport
Reviewed March 22, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Peng from China
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe Villa with Plunge Pool
Stayed 4 nights in February 2016
Nice place to stay together with family
One of the best hotels deserves a recommendation to family trip to Chiangmai.
Reviewed February 18, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.7
HUGO from United Kingdom
Couple
Villa
Stayed 3 nights in January 2016
A truly incredible Hotel Experience.
The service, the magical architecture / design and the breakfast :)
It was absolutely incredible. I love the hotel. My only worry is that since the Mandarin left, the property is focusing too much on returns and will loose the brand's integrity by increasing the amount of rooms, not taking care of the buildings and reducing the staff to guest ratio.
Reviewed January 23, 2016
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.7
Qiong from China
Solo traveler
Villa
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Should add to one's must-stay Hotel
Landscape, Food, Service
It was a perfect experience and would be my lifelong memory. We were well taken care of by the private butler. We rested & relaxed, exercised and ate, took thousands of pictures the stunning garden and architectures. It's a place that you can stay in for 3 days that never get bored.
Reviewed December 28, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
5.3
Ye from China
Family with young children
Villa
Stayed 4 nights in December 2015
Not mandarin oriental anymore
Facility is ok
Reviewed December 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Phitchaya from Thailand
Business traveler
Colonial Suite
Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
Best hotel ever
Service, food and driver
Reviewed December 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Pea from Thailand
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Everything was more than expected
Good Location, Great Services, and Gorgeous Surrounding..
Reviewed November 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Pittch from Thailand
Solo traveler
Grand Pool Villa
Stayed 3 nights in November 2015
Superb hotel
Surrounding, Dining, great pool villa
Reviewed November 21, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Myo from Myanmar
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 2 nights in September 2015
real Lanna amazing stay!
village stay, food & spa
felt very good.
Reviewed October 02, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Chuan from China
Family with teens
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 1 night in September 2015
Good hardware but lack maintenence
Beautiful scenery, Tasty food, Friendly staff
We got upgraded to a grand deluxe villa (V6) and the mini-bar items are all free. This is nice. We absolutely love the environment of the hotel, the buildings are so beautiful, there are a lot of green in the open space, there is even rice fields in the hotel with real farmers and buffalo. There are little ponies on the meadow in front of the colonial suites as well. Riding a bicycle around is very enjoyable. Most staff members are very friendly and nice, will greet you or smile to you when meet you on the road. The swimming pool will offer cold water and fruit upon guest arrival. You can call for buggies around the hotel if you don't like to walk. Butler service is helpful. etc. Regarding the in-room facility...Very nice but might lack maintenance. We love the following: 1. Room is so spacious, with drinking water everywhere and free mini-bar items 2. Big balcony offer fantastic view of the rice fields 3. Most in-room facility looks very fancy and artistical 4. Bed and pillow are very comfortable 5. There is even a piano in the room We also had the following problems: 1. Downstairs TV can be turned on but the remote is not working, so cannot change channel. 2. Upstairs TV cannot be turned on at all. I know how to turn on the downstair one so I should be able to turn this on. 3. Steam room, shower will not give out hot water. (the upstair one is okay though) 4. Water come out of Jacuzzi is not hot enough for a soak inside. 5. The plastic screws inside the Jacuzzi might not be securely installed so the screw head will easily scrub user's back skin. So the conclusion will be, it's still one of the best hotels in Chiang Mai, but the facility lacks maintenance. All in room facilities should be tested before letting a guest come inside considering the price the hotel is charging.
Reviewed September 10, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Weitung from Taiwan
Family with young children
Colonial Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2015
Great hotel to stay in Chiang Mai
Villa Room, food
Reviewed August 31, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
LIM from Malaysia
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2015
Greenery environment
Greenery , environment , services.
very good experience, calm and greenery environment make you feel relax and comfortable. The toilet do not have water tab and the seat of bicycle is too hard ... need improvement.
Reviewed July 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Kelvin from Singapore
Family with young children
Villa
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
first trip to chiangmai
Scenery,foods,feels
It was good and a enjoyable stay and most important a memorable u remember
Reviewed June 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
4.3
Kerkkraiwan from Thailand
Business traveler
Colonial Suite
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Services So Bad
I don't like this hotel,I think it not 5 star.So don't like front reception
Reviewed June 24, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.7
Iam from Macau
Business traveler
Villa
Stayed 1 night in May 2015
Good hotel
Good service
Reviewed May 16, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Suzanne from United States
Solo traveler
Villa
Stayed 3 nights in March 2015
A storybook vacation
Stunningly beautiful resort, amazing staff, everything you could wish for at your fingertips
One of the best places I have ever stayed. I wish I could live there!
Reviewed March 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Jacqueline from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Suite
Stayed 4 nights in February 2015
Enchanting
Polite Staff, Excellent Food, Great Ambiance
Reviewed February 26, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
Panpicha from Thailand
Family with teens
Grand Deluxe Villa with Plunge Pool
Stayed 2 nights in January 2015
great for foriegn to absorb real Thai ancient styl
the villa was great , the food was great, and the hotel provided good service
It was a great experience for me because this hotel provided a Thai Northern style which allowed me and mom experienced the real Thsi tradition, which is hard to find at the present quite interesting for us
Reviewed January 30, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.7
Yulee from Hong Kong
Family with young children
Colonial Suite
Stayed 4 nights in January 2015
Impressive surroundings - a charming setting
lots of open space and grounds, breakfast, spacious room
We had a wonderful stay; kids club was great and the daily schedule of activities offers sufficient options. We enjoyed the serenity of the place as the hotel was not fully occupied.
Reviewed January 29, 2015
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
THEERASAN from Thailand
Group
Grand Pool Villa
Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
scary
scary hotel ever
Reviewed December 20, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
Hoi from Hong Kong
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Good good good
Good good good
Reviewed December 01, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
chungsing from Singapore
Couple
Villa
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Resort stay
Character
Superlatives
Reviewed November 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.0
Jinghui from Singapore
Business traveler
Villa
Stayed 2 nights in March 2014
Left Window Open and Lots of Mosquitoes at Night
None
Poor
Reviewed November 03, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Theerat from Thailand
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Best Hotel Ever
Staffs, Rice Planting, Facilities
Fabulous accommodation with an excellent staffs.
Reviewed October 26, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Graham from United Kingdom
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 9 nights in October 2014
An Outstanding Hotel of the Highest Order
The beauty of the resort - the warmth of the hospitality - the quality of the service
The best hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay in by far bar none!
Reviewed October 15, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.7
Chonnikan from Thailand
Family with teens
Deluxe Suite
Stayed 3 nights in September 2014
Magical getaway
Spacious room, nice architecture, friendly staff
The hotel ground is really really beautiful or even magical. There are a lot of details put in this little man-made kingdom and you will not be bored taking photos even after a thousand of them. As for the room, I stayed in a deluxe colonial suite and it's very spacious, the bed room has extra space for a set of sofa which i totally think worth an upgrade from the standard colonial suite. But if you prefer a direct access to the pool, get a standard one which is on the ground floor. The hotel staff are helpful and friendly though the service and overall attitude is still far from 5 stars standard, or something I would call "beyond expectation". The rainshower in my room didn't work so I asked for a plumber and it took him an hour to arrive and probably another 2-3 hours to get it properly fixed. I had one dinner at Le Grande Lanna. The food does look really pretty. The taste, however, varies. Some dishes are really excellent but some I will not consider them nice authentic northern Thai food. The cocktail is pretty good and the price is reasonable especially when you compare it with room rate. :) The spa is definitely worth a visit. We had a really nice, relaxing Ayurvedic massage, a head massage and also a facial though we think our skin get irritated from the oil. We had a bit of rashes the day after that and we had no explanation for it so we think it might be because of the old. If you're into cocktails, don't forget to drop by Horn bar. The bartender is very creative and you won't need a menu to order your drink! Overall it's a great stay considered we booked it on a promotional rate. But if we have to spend 20k a night for the room we stay, we would choose other beach resorts for a holiday.
Reviewed October 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.0
U from Macau
Couple
Villa
Stayed 1 night in September 2014
♡good view
place
good
Reviewed September 30, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Ira from India
Couple
Villa
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Awesome.
Great expanse - 60 acres, palace like experience, excellent service , good activities
Great. One of the best... Its like living in a palace. Service is exceptional
Reviewed August 13, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
6.7
Narumon from Thailand
Group
Colonial Suite
Stayed 1 night in August 2014
Best in Chiang mai but not best in Thailand
nice hotel, wonderful scenery but so so service
I check in hotel on Thailand mother's day so hotel is quite busy. Hotel can't provide facilities for all quests,, I need to ask for bicycle two times until I check out I still didn't use it. According to hotel size, its really difficult for me to walk without bicycle. Other services are so so for me because I expect more than I got. The highlight of hotel is size and scenery,, this is so wonderful,, I love it. Anyway, Its good hotel but not the best for me.
Reviewed August 13, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
8.3
Suthat from Thailand
Family with young children
Colonial Suite
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Wow...
Designs, Architecture, Beautiful hotel
It must be one of the most beautiful hotel and luxurious hotel I have ever been to. The hotel grounds, buildings, trees, interior and all are just amazing. The room is just superb. The bathroom is as big if not bigger than most hotel rooms. Breakfast was just plentiful with everything available. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. However, it is pricey and not your every day hotel, as you will be broke. But try it and experience the luxurious living.
Reviewed July 15, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Kongphan from Thailand
Group
Colonial Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
Superb Service with Nice Northern Thai Decoration
Huge Accommodation, Great Service & Hospitality, Many Activities for Guests
Excellence in all details which all guests can get the feelings of touches by hotel staffs
Reviewed July 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
DARUN from Thailand
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 2 nights in July 2014
relax ..enjoy..and best service
Design Service Food
Great!! best experience ever.. Its my first time in ChiangMai but here make me worm with their service. Everything here was nice from the hotel itself to service and food. U will never see any annoying faces here. The location also not bad but u need a car lah to make ur life more easy in traveling.
Reviewed July 09, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Stephen from Canada
Couple
Villa
Stayed 3 nights in July 2014
a lovely experience that exceeded our expections
Service, food and appearance
Reviewed July 07, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.0
Wing from Hong Kong
Solo traveler
Villa
Stayed 1 night in July 2014
Wonderful experiece in living at palace-like resot
Fantastic views, delicious breakfast, interesting activities
Hotel can upload the shuttle bus schedule and location map at website. Dance and music show at Le Lanna restaurant is excellent and food is not as good as expected.
Reviewed July 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Cholthicha from Thailand
Group
Colonial Suite
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
Exellence. Flawless. Fantastics vacation.
Service, decoration, foods.
Flawless. Will go back there real soon. Staffs were exellent. The hotel decoration is beyond expectation.
Reviewed June 23, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.7
Ben from United States
Couple
Villa
Stayed 3 nights in June 2014
comfortable relaxing hotel
size of room pool and staff
overall it was very nice. it may be better to book the hotel through the hotel site rather than agoda in terms of treatment from the hotel.
Reviewed June 14, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Pimol from Thailand
Family with teens
Colonial Suite
Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
amazing every corner, fantastic food cake and cafe
achitecture,environment, restuarant service
we like it, and will come back again
Reviewed June 02, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
7.3
Chonghan from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Villa
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Living in a palace
1. Centrally located 2. Great service 3. Horses
We had a wonderful stay at Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai. Whilst the prices were on the slightly steep side. The accommodation was first class and the hotel grounds were designed to look like a traditional paalace. Certainly one of the places that I would recommend my friends and family to stay if they visit Chiang Mai.
Reviewed May 21, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Nantawan from Thailand
Couple
Colonial Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
One of the most beautiful hotel I've seen
Beautiful Place with excellent service and hospitality
Reviewed May 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
10.0
Vitoon from Thailand
Family with young children
Colonial Suite
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
Family Retreat Trip
Services, Facilities, Room
Truely 6 Stars Services Excellence Services and Staffs Will be back for sure
Reviewed May 06, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
Lijun from China
Solo traveler
Villa
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Stunning.
First class design.Great restaurant.Facility.
Definitely best hotel ever stayed. Such a beautiful place with fresh air, friendly staff, amazing food, first class facility, and special Thai religious culture.
Reviewed May 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|
9.3
adisai from Thailand
Couple
Grand Deluxe Villa with Plunge Pool
Stayed 1 night in May 2014
Great and wonderful services
Beautiful place ! Excellent Services! Super nice view
Reviewed May 04, 2014
Did you find this review helpful?|