Book Now: The Herbert Hotel

Excellent
From 143 reviewsSee what guests said
8.1
/
10

Real reviews from real guests

Agoda Reviews (143)Booking.com Reviews (1367)
8.1
/
10
Excellent
From 143 reviews
Cleanliness8.2
Facilities6.8
Location9.5
Service8.2
Value for money7.7
Provided by verified guests of Agoda
All languages
All guests (143)
All room types
Showing 56 verified guest comments
9.2
Exceptional
Renoldius from Indonesia
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
1 Block Away to Union Square”
The check-in process was fast and great, the location is perfect. However, please note that you cannot ask to leave your luggage at the hotel if you are coming early or would like to leave early, the will tell you to go to other hotel to do the baggage drop and it costs you $2 per bag. Although I was checked-out and come back to check-in the day after tomorrow (as I spent 1 night in Yosemite), the hotel did not allow you to leave to baggage with them.
Reviewed December 25, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Toni from Australia
Family with teens
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in May 2018
Convenient location, clean”
The location is great, the building is historical but nicely maintain. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious.
Reviewed January 11, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
Ji from United States
Family with teens
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Satisfying stay in San Francisco!”
Stayed at this hotel for two nights. I stayed at 2-queen beds with a private bathroom. And it was actually two separate rooms connected with a bathroom which is cool. The rooms and the bathroom were tidy and clean. The staffs were nice and helpful. Location was really nice with trams and subway nearbyand you can find probably all the shops you need near the hotel. Satisfying cozy hotel and I want to visit again.
Reviewed October 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Rafael from United States
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in January 2019
Perfect hotel”
Amazing hotel, everything was perfect, location, cleanliness, style
Reviewed January 21, 2019
6.8
Good
Ning from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018
Overall is good but if you need to stored your luggage is not that convenience”
There is a lot of noice during the whole night, need some effort to get some sleep. If you need to store your luggage you need to walk for 5 mins to nearby hotel and pay.
Reviewed December 31, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Nicole from New Zealand
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018
Excellent”
Great location. Very central and easy to get to all parts of the city. Is loud, due to being downtown by trams so bring ear plugs.
Reviewed December 04, 2018
8.4
Excellent
Claire from Macau
Solo traveler
Twin Bed with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in December 2017
Good hotel on Powell and 3 mins from Bart Station”
I booked a room with public bath but felt surprised and happy to be upgraded to a private bath room. The room was good! With a view of the street Powell with cable car, but no worries, the room equipped with double windows so that the room was quiet, at least, the noise was not from outside, but it was an old, traditional SF building so I knew what to expect... overall I loved my stay there.
Reviewed December 27, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Tuaiva from French Polynesia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in January 2019
Rapport qualité/prix imbattable avec la promo agoda.”
Good location, good room even if it's small there is all you need . I will definitely come back there.
Reviewed January 07, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Vanessa from Brazil
Family with young children
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 4 nights in October 2018
Good choice”
Very good location, big room. Only this, no services.
Reviewed January 04, 2019
8.8
Excellent
Mike from Singapore
Family with young children
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 1 night in December 2018
Great location and value for money”
Very nice location for family and great shopping location, right in the middle of shopping area.
Reviewed January 03, 2019
4.0
Carson from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018
Find a better place”
Pros: clean sheets. Firm mattress. Hot shower. Cons: bugs crawling on the bathroom floor. Loud city noises audible with poor insulation. Sketchy neighborhood. Poor service/staff. For example, our flight was delayed, so I called to notify. They told me there is 24/7 concierge. But we got there at 4am, and had to wait for 30 mins to be let inside (we thought we were gonna get mugged), despite calling (no answer). The concierge eventually came out, clearly didn’t care, and was totally unapologetic.
Reviewed November 19, 2018
5.2
Belinda from Australia
Solo traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018
Basic and disappointed”
Location, value for money, clean and comfortable bed. Main light stopped working and then came on during the night, shower did not work and the windows open fully, not safe for children. Paid for private bathroom but was located next to shared shower facility, noisy. No luggage storage facility on site and staff did not care when I shared my disappointment
Reviewed November 12, 2018
6.0
bambang from Indonesia
Family with young children
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
need renovation”
the room is quite big but shower at private bathroom didn't work so i have to take a shower at shared bathroom, luckily just beside my room. the bed only 100cm. old building and need a lot of refurbishment.
Reviewed June 25, 2018
7.6
Very good
Jeffrey from United Kingdom
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in May 2018
Very adequate, great location”
10 minutes from BART /Muni subways, cable car and F line trolley. 5 minutes Burger King. $7 breakfast in associated cafe/bar, Bartlett Hall, 3 mins walk. Price for locality very good. Has an elevator which other similar properties do not. Good security.
Reviewed June 03, 2018
8.8
Excellent
Boris from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2017
Excellent”
Excellent Value for the money -- I took the room with the bathroom in the room -- a deluxe -- this is important. It is spartan, as many others describe -- there is a funny smell in the hallway -- but inside the room is fine. Bathroom was older, but ok. If you want a great location for almost under 100, you can't beat this.
Reviewed February 09, 2018
5.6
HUNG-WEI from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018
Above average”
Great location. Room is below average.
Reviewed January 05, 2019
7.6
Very good
Tracy from United States
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 4 nights in August 2018
Great location.”
The location was great! Walking distance to MoMA, Chinatown, shopping, restaurants, and the BART station. Staff was helpful and stored our luggage after our early morning arrival. The room and bathroom were clean. Cons: There was no furniture for unpacking clothes for a 4 night stay. The bed had serious "hole" in it - I slept OK but anyone with back issues might not be so lucky. The bathroom needs hooks for wet towels. All told I would stay there again.
Reviewed August 07, 2018
7.6
Very good
Daniel from Switzerland
Family with young children
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 4 nights in July 2018
Great location, descent hotel but a bit minimalist”
We had a delux room with 2 queen beds and private bathroom. Despite the spacious room, when we arrived there was not a single piece of furniture to store or hang clothing. After complaining they brought a very small chest of drawers and a portable hanger rack. And despite the big bathroom, there was not a single towel rack.
Reviewed August 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
alicia from United States
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in November 2018
Perfect area ”
Great location. Easy to get to everything San Francisco has to offer! Stayed on the 7th floor and loved it! Our stay was perfect
Reviewed November 19, 2018
8.0
Excellent
Poh from Singapore
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2017
Great location”
Great location within downtown, able to see the San Francisco cable car thru the window. Love the room size. Will be much better if there is room slipper provided as the vinyl floor is pretty cold at this time of the year.
Reviewed December 17, 2017
9.2
Exceptional
Karen from Australia
Solo traveler
Shared Bathroom Queen
Stayed 3 nights in March 2017
Great Location”
For San Francisco on a budget this was a great, convenient hotel to stay at - just down the road from Union Square & very handy to the cable cars (one of the stops is straight across the road). I do recommend to book in advance so that you get a cheaper deal & make sure you book a room with an ensuite. I had a Queen shared bathroom & while the amenities were clean, there were no mirrors in the room or in the bathroom (which was only a shower with a towel rack & wooden bathmat). In saying that the Staff were very friendly & helpful & I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Fran.
Reviewed March 29, 2017
4.8
Diego from United States
Solo traveler
Shared Bathroom Queen
Stayed 1 night in July 2018
Bad experience, not recommended.”
Pros: Well located Cons: Noisy area. Slept very badly. « Standard room » has no private shower neither restroom, I felt worse than being in a hostel and paid an excessive price. The receptionist was useless and not « commercial » as we explained the pictures online do not match the room...therefore our disappointment was big and the receptionist refused to give away minor benefits to comprnsate the bad night. It is the first time in my life I write a negative review...worth it to avoid similar future disappointment.
Reviewed July 13, 2018
4.4
Maricon from Philippines
Family with young children
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Not good place for family with young children”
The area where the hotel is situated is not good for kids - lots of homeless people in the surrounding area, even just in front of the hotel. We were just outside the hotel taking pic of the cable car and almost got attacked by a drunk homeless man trying to grab my phone. The kids are frightened just going out on the streets. Wrong decision to stay in this area. The hotel was ok as I got 2 queen beds so it was comfortable for us 4. But there were no kids channel on the tv so really not kid friendly place to stay.
Reviewed May 26, 2018
4.0
I-Jen from Taiwan
Group
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Room is tidy and clean”
old facilities but overall is clean and comfy
Reviewed February 13, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
C from Singapore
Group
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2017
Best location!”
Located near Union Square, in Powell Street, just across H&M. Very good location and worth it for the price. Walkable to the recommended Blue Bottle Coffeehouse as well.
Reviewed January 21, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
Desmond from Singapore
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 6 nights in December 2017
Boutique Hotel in the heart of the city”
Will highly recommend this hotel for the location and cleanliness. We enjoyed our stay here and the staffs were very friendly too.
Reviewed January 03, 2018
5.2
kumasha from United States
Business traveler
Shared Bathroom Queen
Stayed 1 night in September 2018
Good location but the shock was that the room has no bathroom & it’s very small . very expensive ”
They should give us a room with bathroom
Reviewed September 08, 2018
8.8
Excellent
SHERLY from Indonesia
Family with young children
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in June 2018
Excellent”
Really good location and clean!!!
Reviewed June 16, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
CLAUDIA from Mexico
Family with teens
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
Great location, clean and very good price”
Conveniente location near a grocery store in Powell street where the cable car stops
Reviewed April 02, 2018
3.2
Anastasia from Indonesia
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Acceptable”
The room is very small and there is no AC so you have to deal with the fan. Unfortunately, for us the wind from the fan was sickening so we had to turn it off and suffered in the heat for the two nights we stayed in. We tried opening the only one window in the room, but as the hotel is in the very downtown of SF, it got really noisy during the night so we closed it. Not a hotel for a couple who want to enjoy a peaceful and restful time at night.
Reviewed November 05, 2017
7.6
Very good
PO from Taiwan
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in October 2017
great location”
great location
Reviewed November 09, 2017
7.6
Very good
PO from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Great great location”
very good location!!
Reviewed November 09, 2017
6.0
karina from Australia
Business traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in May 2018
Budget hotel on Powell”
If all you need is a clean bed and convenient location. This is the one. But it is not cheap and please bring everything you need.
Reviewed May 29, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Ricky from United States
Business traveler
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2017
Exceptional”
Very cool place, great room design, affordable and great location.
Reviewed November 07, 2017
10.0
Exceptional
Yen from Singapore
Solo traveler
Twin Bed with Shared Bathroom
Stayed 2 nights in October 2017
Excellent location, helpful and friendly staff”
the only downside is the room does not have air conditioner, might be a bit warm during summer. The room does come with a ceiling fan, but it's a very tiny one, hardly any wind come out of it.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
8.4
Excellent
Audrey from French Polynesia
Family with young children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2018
Chambre familiale”
On avait réservé une chambre familiale, c'est à dire 2 chambres, l'une avec un lit double et l'autre avec 2 lits simples, qui communiquent par la SDB. La chambre avait la vue sur O'farell street. La petite cloche du cable car ne nous a pas dérangé du tout. Au contraire, on était tout de suite dans l'ambiance de SFO. Chambres propres, SDB petite mais suffisante. Les lavabos sont dans les chambres. Rien à voir avec les standards des grandes chaînes hôtelières. Si vous aimez le coté atypique et humain, cet hôtel est pour vous car le personnel est super. Trés trés bien situé, tout est accessible à pied. un walgreen(épicerie) au pied de l’hôtel ouvert H24. Alors oui c'est vrai il y a des SDF sur Powell street au pied de l’hôtel,dont un chien husky blanc aux yeux bleu très doux et très gentil. Les SDF ne sont pas agressifs, ils nous ignorent la plupart du temps...alors on fait de même.
Reviewed January 08, 2019
7.6
Very good
agnes from France
Family with teens
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
adresse a conseiller”
excellente situation centrale dans SAN FRANCISCO, proche des magasins, restaurants et des moyens de transport tels que BART ou encore des bus HOP and HOFF Hotel calme, clarteux, bonne literie et belle déco, tout pour plaire!
Reviewed March 14, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
SILVIA from Italy
Couple
Shared Bathroom Queen
Stayed 2 nights in July 2018
Pieno centro a San Francisco ”
In un palazzo in pieno centro, vicino a Union square. Camera piccola ma funzionale, bagno in comune molto pulito.
Reviewed July 09, 2018
4.4
yoshikazu from Japan
Family with young children
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in December 2018
良いのは場所だけ”
2部屋借りました、1つの部屋に冷蔵庫がついてなかった オイルヒーターが壊れた水ダラダラ、ヒーターの音うるさくて寝れなかった! しかも直さず!!! 良いのはほんと場所だけって感じですね。
Reviewed January 25, 2019
10.0
Exceptional
CHATPHETCH from Thailand
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in September 2017
Exceptional”
lovely location, fabulous staffs
Reviewed September 03, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
kao from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in November 2018
下次會再考慮”
地點好,房間超大,能展開四個29 吋行李箱(特定房型),櫃檯親切,推。
Reviewed December 02, 2018
5.2
Szu-ying from Taiwan
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in October 2018
超貴的房間設備很差”
地板整潔度不夠 電視超不清, 照片看起來設計感十足可是實際入住整潔跟洗髮沐浴用品都很不好用
Reviewed December 07, 2018
8.8
Excellent
HANYEN from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
位置佳”
地點就在downtown最熱鬧的地方
Reviewed June 22, 2018
9.6
Exceptional
PIN from Taiwan
Group
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
Exceptional”
地點無懈可擊。房內也很新且乾淨。唯一的缺點是入住的房間地板是斜的,剛進房間會有點頭暈不適應。
Reviewed May 15, 2018
5.2
MINCHI from Taiwan
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in June 2018
地點很好,房務不佳”
地點非常好,距離地鐵、公車站牌很近,樓下就是噹噹車搭車站,隔壁就有超市,有一位櫃台人員(女生)服務良好,協助我聯繫漁人碼頭的店家,找回我遺失的水壺,但是,房間不大,設備簡單,雖然有提供大罐的洗髮乳、沐浴乳、潤髮乳,但是潤髮乳的壓頭壞了,無法按壓,我每天通知櫃台故障,到我退房時都沒有維修更換,另外,因為睡覺時覺得床有點癢,每天離開房間時通知櫃台要整理房間,並且要『換床單』,但中途回飯店拿東西,房務正在整理我的房間,卻沒有換床單,並且把枕頭放在我的行李箱上,(我的行李箱很髒),詢問櫃檯,櫃台卻表示不會換床單,那我每天特別通知櫃台要『換床單』,櫃台怎麼不告訴我?我不是訂不換床單的環保房型,當我堅持要換床單後,當天晚上回到飯店,確實有換床單了,但是,我留在房間中的化妝品卻有一項遺失,化妝水被倒掉剩一點,因為是小東西,我沒有花時間追究,只能說很可疑。
Reviewed June 26, 2018
7.2
Very good
YICHIN from Taiwan
Family with teens
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 4 nights in June 2018
五顆星的地理位置”
飯店位置很好離地鐵cable car很近,飯店旁邊就有超市,逛街吃飯都很方便。飯店櫃檯服務也很親切,不過房間比較簡易、清潔有待加強,對住要求高的不是很推薦!房價還是略高了一些....
Reviewed July 07, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
JUYOUNG from South Korea
Solo traveler
Stayed 2 nights in December 2018
위치가 정말 좋아요!!”
방이 깨끗하고 무엇보다 숙소 옆에 큰 마트가 있어서 정말 좋았어요. 짐을 맡기려면 돈을 지불해야 하는 것 빼고는 만족합니다.
Reviewed January 20, 2019
6.8
Good
EUNJUNG from South Korea
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in December 2018
장단점”
장점 - 위치좋음. 룸 깨끗하며 따뜻함. 단점 - 체크인 체크아웃때 짐보관을 다른 호스텔에 해야하고 두번다 돈을 내야함. 이런 경험은 처음이라서 만족도는 보통
Reviewed January 22, 2019
9.6
Exceptional
Youna from South Korea
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 8 nights in November 2018
기대 이상이었어요”
8박 9일 보내는동안 느꼈던 것들 * 좋음 1. 위치 및 접근성 - 도보로 10분 내외의 거리에 파웰역&유니언 스퀘어 있음/ 호텔 바로 맞은편에 케이블카 정거장이 있음/ 바로 옆에는 24시 마트(Walgreens), 맞은편에는 스테이크 맛집(Ted’s) 있음 2. 직원들의 응대 - 꽤 친절한 편. 적어도 5~6명의 직원이 있는 것 같고, 한 명씩 매일 교대 근무를 하는 것 같음 3. 안전성 - 호텔 근처에 홈리스가 꽤 있지만 사람들이 워낙 많이 지나다니는 곳이라 밤 10시,11시쯤 지나다녀도 위험하다는 생각은 안 들었음 4. 편리성 - 룸에 있는 냉장고는 무료로 사용 가능하며 성능이 좋음/ 2층에 4인용 테이블, 싱크대, 전자레인지, 전기포트가 있는 세탁실 겸용 공용 공간이 있음 5. 위생 상태 - 호텔 전체적인 느낌도 그렇고 룸도 그렇고 깨끗한 편. (룸에 있던 전기 포트의 상태만 별로였음) * 나쁨 1. 짐 보관 서비스가 없음 2. 세면대 수압은 센편인데, 욕조 샤워기 수압은 약한데다가 고정형이라 씻는데 시간이 꽤 많이 소비되었음 3. 룸 위아래로 방음이 잘 안 되었음
Reviewed November 26, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
Junga from South Korea
Solo traveler
Deluxe Room with 2 Queen Beds
Stayed 3 nights in September 2018
최고의위치”
위치최고 자유여행에 최적합한 숙소
Reviewed October 05, 2018
8.0
Excellent
jeyon
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
샌프란시스코 다른호텔은 안가봤지만”
오래된느낌의 호텔인건 확실합니다.. 라스베가스 갓다가 샌프란시스코 호텔오니 많이 부족하네요
Reviewed December 02, 2018
9.2
Exceptional
junseong from South Korea
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
위치면에서 만족”
호텔은 좀 노후되어 보였으나 방이 일단 넓었고, 위치가 시내 한가운데라 매우만족했음
Reviewed April 09, 2018
7.2
Very good
Jiyeon from South Korea
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in November 2018
위치좋아요!”
위치좋고 직원들도 친절하지만, 룸컨디션은 딱 가격만큼이네요ㅜㅜ
Reviewed November 16, 2018
7.2
Very good
Se from South Korea
Couple
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in March 2018
위치쩔고 침대쿠션 쥑이고”
극악의 샌프에서 이가격에 이정도 룸컨디션이면 다시재방문한다
Reviewed June 30, 2018
10.0
Exceptional
TING from China
Couple
Deluxe Queen Room
Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
可以点赞的旧金山落脚地”
交通非常方便,距离地铁5分钟,周围有很多购物地方,有大的shopping mall,也有丝芙兰等,距离不远的地方还有个lush,价格略低于香港,可以步行至唐人街(虽然没什么逛的),还可以步行至渔人码头(距离有些远了,google一下吧)。房间很大,设施看上去也比较新,总之如果来旧金山,又不是不差钱的话,选择这里还是很可以的。
Reviewed March 22, 2018
8.8
Excellent
YU from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 1 night in June 2018
The floor needs to be fixed ! Overall is good !”
The floor needs to be fixed ! Overall is good !
Reviewed June 13, 2018
6.0
SHU from Taiwan
Solo traveler
Standard Queen Room
Stayed 2 nights in February 2018
Above average”
地點很棒,就在鬧區,也有地方寄放行李。但是房間設施很一般,一個小冰箱、熱水壺跟書桌,衣櫃裡有迷你保險箱、晾衣架、熨斗和燙衣板,可能比較適合商務人士(吧)。 除了兩個強力的床頭燈外,覺得房間光線很不足。
Reviewed February 06, 2018