The Pinewood Hotel

The Pinewood Hotel

16 (15) Rockville Road,Above Telephone Exchange, Central Darjeeling, Darjeeling, India, 734101
- View on map
Deluxe The Pinewood Hotel
Deluxe
    Removed from saved list
    Interior view The Pinewood Hotel
    Interior view The Pinewood Hotel
    Bathroom The Pinewood Hotel
    Deluxe The Pinewood Hotel
    See all 14 photos
     The Pinewood Hotel

    Guest reviews

    7.3
    Very good
    /10
    (30 reviews)See what guests said
    7.6
    Very good

    "Nice room, friendly staff."

    Ray

    -

    March 19, 2018

    8.2
    Excellent service

    Property highlights

    • Airport transfer

    • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!

    • Breakfast [free]

    • Daily housekeeping

    This property is in high demand!Last booked a few minutes ago
    Good
    Location
    6.6
    See map
    Value for money7.3
    Distance to city center1 Km
    Location rating6.6
    Nearest airportBagdogra Airport (IXB)
    Distance to airport39.8 km
    Select your room
    Deluxe
    Deluxe
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Executive
    Executive
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Super Deluxe
    Super Deluxe
    ...
    • Room size: 20 m²/215 ft²
    • Shower
    • 1 double bed
    Enter dates to see prices
    Have a question for The Pinewood Hotel?
    Up to 30% off with Agoda Insider Deals!

    Prices drop the moment you sign in!

    Sign in now
    More about The Pinewood Hotel

    More about The Pinewood Hotel

    8.8
    Excellent

    "The manager is very competent, helping to make my two-week s..."

    Valdemar

    |

    December 30, 2016

    An overview

    Show less

    What they offer

    5.2
    Review score

    "Food was very nice = good cook!"

    Adelheid

    |

    May 12, 2017

    Show less

    Nearest essentials

    Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
    Show less

    Property's guest policies

    Show less

    Some helpful facts

    Show less

    Announcements

    Please note that any changes in tax structure due to government policies will result in revised taxes, which will be applicable to all reservations and will be charged additionally during check out.

    Real reviews from real guests

    Agoda Reviews (30)
    7.3
    /
    10
    Cleanliness7.7
    Facilities6.8
    Location6.6
    Room comfort and quality6.8
    Service8.2
    Value for money7.3
    Provided by verified guests of Agoda
    All languages
    All guests (30)
    All room types
    Showing 21 verified guest comments
    12
    7.6
    Very good
    Mokammal
    Family with young children
    Deluxe
    Stayed 5 nights in August 2018
    Satisfied”
    Nice place to stay but weak internet connection. We have found one person to supervise all the quarries. Its almost 70-80 feet higher than normal gandhi road altitude level.
    Reviewed August 29, 2018
    8.0
    Excellent
    rajiv from India
    Family with young children
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2018
    Nice stay”
    Very good location near to mall road but at some height and there no no arrangement from hotel side to carry the luggage from main road.Other wise stay was very good.staff was very cordial and supportive.
    Reviewed May 21, 2018
    7.6
    Very good
    Ray from Canada
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 3 nights in March 2018
    Good, small inn located in back lane above Clock Tower and Mall.”
    Nice room, friendly staff. Well maintained. Just be aware that Darjeeling is very cold, especially from 4 pm onward and a room heater has substantial surcharge (Rs300). Very steep uphill or by stairs to reach the lane where this (and several other) hotels are located.
    Reviewed March 19, 2018
    8.8
    Excellent
    KH from Malaysia
    Family with teens
    Deluxe
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2017
    Room charge is above reasonable”
    We have been there for 4 days, the room #206 for first 2 days was good, but room #204 for the last 2 days which cost higher as it is window view, I am not happy only that the room is actually smaller than the previous one, hair dryer is not working, the power point near the dressing table is not working too ! however, staffs, cleanliness and location are good, breakfast is monotonous, they should have more choice to chose. Room charge is higher than Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur, which is not reasonable, although it is peak season on June. Indeed, all hotels rate in Darjeeling are too expensive ! It should be Rs 1000 less from current rate.
    Reviewed June 10, 2017
    5.2
    Adelheid from Switzerland
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
    narrow space”
    food was very nice = good cook! no hot water; except the shower tube, all other tubes were leaking; 20 square m must be for the room and bathroom together - so it's really narrow; ok for one night.
    Reviewed May 12, 2017
    Dear Mam, We apologise for the inconvenience caused by one of the leaking knobs below the wash basin. We were not aware of it and had you brought it to our attention we would have got it changed. As for the size of the room, it is a room for single occupancy and is about 120 sqft. excluding the bathroom. we have asked agoda to rectify the built in area of the room. Owing to its size, we let it out only to single travellers only and is priced much lower than our regular rooms. We are a budget property and we do not have huge, expansive rooms. However our rooms are clean, cosy and fitted with all modern amenities and we strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We thank you for staying with us and enjoying our food.
    Responded May 13, 2017
    The Pinewood Hotel
    8.8
    Excellent
    Valdemar from United States
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 6 nights in December 2016
    V. Schultz, USA”
    It's a small boutique hotel with just eleven rooms, but does everything necessary to make the traveller comfortable. The manager is very competent, helping to make my two-week stay enjoyable.
    Reviewed December 30, 2016
    8.4
    Excellent
    mohd from Malaysia
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 3 nights in November 2016
    nice hotel”
    10minit walking from darjeeling town.not east to find this hotel,but u can ask local people around there..
    Reviewed November 19, 2016
    8.3
    Excellent
    Coline from France
    Group
    Deluxe
    Stayed 3 nights in December 2015
    Great hotel in a nice location”
    Location, setting and cleanliness
    Very good stay in this nice and cosy hotel. Only minus is the heater which is not included in the price.
    Reviewed January 06, 2016
    3.3
    PARTHA from India
    Family with young children
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
    Total waste of Money”
    I made the mistake to book this hotel as it was completely waste of money. In my Life I have never been this kind of uncomfortable hotel in spite of spending too much money as room tariff. Rooms are too small and too much cozy type,Beds are too small to sleep with your family with one young child even though it was double bed room. They don't clean the room regularly if you don't put request to clean the room.In a place like Darjeeling where people goes to spend a comfortable and relaxing holiday, it might be worst hotel even though room tariffs are too high for a double bed rooms. Rooms are very uncomfortable. Total waste of money...
    Reviewed June 07, 2015
    8.7
    Excellent
    kiwoon from South Korea
    Family with teens
    Executive
    Stayed 1 night in May 2015
    so nice”
    clean, kindness, cheap
    So clean.....nice
    Reviewed May 14, 2015
    7.3
    Very good
    MICHAEL from United Kingdom
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
    Cold”
    Staff,Staff,staff
    It's a good way up the hill so for an old guy like me it wasn't easy,that being said it was the beginning of February and it was cold although the owners did offer me a heater with no charge.the two guys that worked there did everything they could to make my stay a pleasant one.the breakfast was more than adequate.
    Reviewed February 10, 2015
    5.3
    Nagabhushan from India
    Family with young children
    Deluxe
    Stayed 2 nights in December 2014
    Bad choice”
    One is food was good. Nothing else
    Not great:-( the hotel is located in a place where car is not allowed because of VIP road. So every time you need to go out and catch a car, you need to make a steep walk. Also the room does not provide heater, you need to pay extra if you need it. Over all did not enjoy at all. Except for food.
    Reviewed January 03, 2015
    5.0
    ARUNA from India
    Family with young children
    Stayed 2 nights in October 2014
    Pinewood review”
    very supportive staff, location, view
    It was ok as the pictures on their fb page & reality are very contrasting
    Reviewed October 06, 2014
    8.3
    Excellent
    Harold from France
    Couple
    Deluxe
    Stayed 2 nights in June 2014
    A nice, new place to stay in Darjeeling”
    Central location, good restaurant, friendly service
    The Pinewood Hotel only recently opened in the Spring of 2014 so everything looks clean and new, and the staff tries very hard to please. The hotel is centrally located but Darjeeling is built on a hillside so most streets are a steep uphill or downhill climb. A taxi can take you up a steep road to about 50 meters from the hotel. But the most direct way to get to the hotel is to walk up some stone steps – 133 of them -- straight up to the front door of the hotel. We had reserved a Deluxe room and we had a large window with a nice view (when there was no fog). The least expensive rooms seemed to have windows facing walls. Whenever we needed hot water, we had to ask reception to turn on the water heater. There are not many good restaurants in Darjeeling but the Pinewood Hotel restaurant has a short menu of tasty dishes. Meals must be ordered in advance – by 19:h00 at the latest. Internet connection in the lobby worked well. We recommend the Pinewood and would gladly stay here again.
    Reviewed July 05, 2014
    9.0
    Exceptional
    Mohsin from India
    Family with young children
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
    Pleasant”
    Service, Clean and Comfort
    Good service, 3 star standard, very clean, comfortable beds, clean toilets, very nice breakfast, decent food with average price, very good staff, reception and manager. Free wifi in the lobby. Will definitely recommend this hotel. Only negative: it is 5 mins from chowrastha but that 5 minutes will be bit painful so 1 star less for the location and cheapest room is very small and TV is at wrong wall.
    Reviewed June 04, 2014
    9.3
    Exceptional
    blake from Australia
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
    Comfortable, easy, friendly, clean, inexpensive”
    The staff, overall cleanliness, central location of the hotel
    My stay at the pinewood hotel was very comfortable
    Reviewed May 26, 2014
    6.0
    Raju from India
    Family with young children
    Super Deluxe
    Stayed 2 nights in May 2014
    Budget facilities in a premium price”
    Cleanliness, Bed and Staff behavior
    Its a budget hotel priced as premium, I paid 3500/- per night for a small room which claimed to be the b" Super Deluxe View" room. The reason of selecting the room is to have a clear view of the hills but the moment you open the windows you will see the asbestos roof of other buildings. Major shock is, it is inside a bye lane, vehicle will not go upto the hotel, adding to the misery the main road which lead to this by lane also been blocked by administration. So you are in soup with luggage and kid. Rooms are very small but well build with good linen and fixtures. Staffs are well behaved and owner’s personal attention kept it very clean. Breakfast was great.
    Reviewed May 26, 2014
    6.4
    Good
    YUKIO from Japan
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 1 night in May 2017
    便利のいいホテル”
    時計台から数分後上がったところで、便利。建物が古いが、ダージリンはみんなそうなので、普通レベル。バスルームの上に電気温水器があり、弱いけど困らない。朝食はウエスタンとインドの混合で、こんなものかというところかな。
    Reviewed May 25, 2017
    8.8
    Excellent
    Haruo from India
    Solo traveler
    Executive
    Stayed 3 nights in October 2016
    階段を使えば近道”
    朝食あり
    Reviewed October 11, 2016
    7.3
    Very good
    Steve from Norway
    Couple
    Deluxe
    Stayed 3 nights in May 2015
    Helt grei”
    Maten er bra, beliggenheten er bra og hotellet har en fin utsikt
    Det var bra mat, men rommene var litt slitne. Ikke gi fra deg skittentøy da jeg fikk det tilbake etter 2 dager og dem var ikke engang tørre.
    Reviewed May 11, 2015
    12
    This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

    Back to search results

    Back to room choices

    |

    Dismiss

    The Pinewood Hotel
    |Very good 7.3
    ×
    Check in. Step out.
    Experiences on Agoda. Because your room is just the beginning.